K&N Filter and sparks plugs

Shevchenko

Yes, they have drop-in (replacement) mean same shape and size with stock filter, anther is the cone one, they also got that 57i with including the full kit inductions.

How many power increase which depend car to car basic, normally will get another 5bhp.

For spark plugs, please refer the "performance" colume's early posts, I think it has been discussed quite some times.

Sorry pal, but i guess some info abit wrong liao....u can never get 5 ponies just by changing air filters.....it depends on the amount of AIR that got suck into the combustion chamber and temp of the air.....it will allows a more rapid and complete combustion.....however, if u did tune up your car with other stuffs....it does helps abit....but not that much......

POWER = AIr + Fuel + Heat

Cheers [:)]

it's not that they are over-optimistic.....it's just that they fail to elaborate further how do u get those ponies from, which makes car owners simply rush into the crowd and get it done assuming alot of ponies got into it......

for example, like the title of this thread....open air filter allows more suction of air....which is true....but if your air filter is just beside the engine, u will probably be sucking in hot air instead....which has a lower composition of oxygen level....u will need a heat shield to prevent it.....that's why a new production calls the iceman or something like that comes in...and latest tech is the CAI...which i'm not really sure abt it......next thing is that assuming u already have a good air intake which draws in cold air, u will also have to make sure that the air flowing into the intake chamber is turbulence free.....when there are turbulence, it will not allow a more complete combustion......unburnt gas will be thrown out from the exhaust intake.......bad bad!!! waste of power.....engine revving unnecessary higher.....next thing is abt the spark plug.....which is again related to the air filter as well......if u have a good spark plug, it will allows u having a strong current to produce a more complete combustion.....but do note that if u have a good spark plug but not having the coil solenoid to produce the required amount of current....it's equivalent to having a normal spark plugs......and all these things goes on and on to the engine management system.....ecu.....blah blah blah.....everything in the car is inter-related....there's no short cut to get horsepower....but the most important is to tune the engine so that everything is balance....that way, an optimal setting is achieved...which is not an easy task.....even the F1 team is struggling getting the optimal setting on each track...... [:)]

I know what you mean! [thumbsup] If we were to follow what the advertisement says, filter 5bhp, sparkers 5bhp, cables 5 bhp, oil 5bhp, muffler 15bhp, CAI 5bhp...........there will be a lot of bhp gained! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

that is sale strategies lah....and it's quite true that with good packaging and advertising.......car owners will literally fall into it mah......just like when K&N started off initially......i was one of the goondu owner..... [laugh][laugh][laugh] ....but after studying more abt combustion..... [furious] ....it's actually not true..... [furious] ....that's why studying is good....to prevent yourself from being cheated... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

"Sometimes I think the power increment claimed by performance stuff makers are over-optimistic............ "

You are a nice guy...... using terms like "over-optimistic", ......... they are actually out to over-sell and to a great extend.... mislead..!

Hmm..... been wanting to get rid of my resonator for months already. Need to find time to do it soon..... where did you get the replacement pipe??

Yes, they have drop-in (replacement) mean same shape and size with stock filter, anther is the cone one, they also got that 57i with including the full kit inductions.

How many power increase which depend car to car basic, normally will get another 5bhp.

For spark plugs, please refer the "performance" colume's early posts, I think it has been discussed quite some times.

Sorry pal, but i guess some info abit wrong liao....u can never get 5 ponies just by changing air filters.....it depends on the amount of AIR that got suck into the combustion chamber and temp of the air.....it will allows a more rapid and complete combustion.....however, if u did tune up your car with other stuffs....it does helps abit....but not that much......

POWER = AIr + Fuel + Heat

Pal, that what I said in early that car to car basic. And K&N did the test in UK on their 57i filter kit as shown the increase.

Edited by Mondeo

[thumbsup]

yes... i agree too. read some where that although the air intake is increased, the K&N filters allows bigger particles to enter the combustion chamber. example sand etc... this effectively damages your engine in the long run. unless of course you are changing your car every other 2-3 years, the problem will surface at the later stages of the car life.

hmm, that is interesting....glad to know that, but seriously, i have never tot that particles are able to go through the air filter, which is to filter off dirts and particulates and just left with air feeding into the combustion chamber.....good on u to spot that one [thumbsup]

My personal opinion is that if you don't do major mod on your engine, there's no need to upgrade the plugs & cableswink.gif.

The stock cables & plugs on our stock engine already working at its optimum, IMHO, so removing the resonator & add a drop-in K & N will see some improvement thumbsup.gif

it's not that they are over-optimistic.....it's just that they fail to elaborate further how do u get those ponies from, which makes car owners simply rush into the crowd and get it done assuming alot of ponies got into it............and all these things goes on and on to the engine management system.....ecu.....blah blah blah.....everything in the car is inter-related....there's no short cut to get horsepower....but the most important is to tune the engine so that everything is balance....that way, an optimal setting is achieved...which is not an easy task.....even the F1 team is struggling getting the optimal setting on each track...... [:)]

wouldn't it be more straight forward by wacking in a turbo or super charger (if the laws in that particular country allow for it...) to gain extra power/performance????

it's quite true and easy to say why not we just do a force inductions in our engine....but pls do remember that we are staying in a FINE country....and all car owners knows that it's illegal to mod their car without approval, and most of them would not dare to do that for fear losing their 'wife'.....so needless to say...too bad so sad....this place ain't AUstralia....where they always like to say no worries even if u are driving down a datsun 100a and ask for a fat turbo....... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

don't need to be sad, at least the government is kind enough to provide us a very good road as compared to aussie.....most of the road no traction liao....too lazy to repair and always says no worries mate..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

yahlor, gahmen olso provides us with REP gantries, expressways which jam, etc etc........ but overall, can't complain too much olso lah.......... [dizzy]