Why remove the resonator?

Madman

Hi all. I'm new here and glad to have 'bumped' into this great forum. Just paid d/p for an Aveo Auto Sedan, standard, orange, 50988 w/o guaranteed coe. I read about the removal of the resonator in this forum but know nuts about it. What I do know is that it is supposed to dampen engine noise and like someone mentioned, to collect falling leaves (???)

So, the question is, if this thing functions to dampen engine noise, why would folks in this forum have theirs removed???

Thanks!

Madman,

Do a search. A lot of posts and threads on this. There's even pictures provided by lots of bros here.

Thanks Brock, didn't know can do search in this forum...great!!! I took a quick tour of the resonator postings and came to the following conclusions regarding the removal of the resonator:

1) It'll speed up the air intake thus creating more power

2) Some folks here like the sound of raw power, thus more engine noise, the better

However, as a novice car enthusiast, I would drive around with the resonator intact for the first few months before deciding if I would remove this. [scholar]

Just to let you know... in the stock configuration, the air-inlet points backwards (i.e. not even in the air-stream), causing the engine to have to "work" for its air.

Good idea to drive around a bit stock first, just to get to know the car better. Then when you swap over from 13 (or 14) to 15"s woohoo, you'll appreciate how much difference a set of rims make, same goes for air-filter, resonator, engine oil, spark plugs/cables, grounding, etc.

Good luck dude!

Thanks Maded for the advice.....but the air inlet pointing backwards!!! [jawdrop] Is it because by pointing backwards, it will draw air that are near the piston chamber since the air there is warmer than ambient, thus enabling more efficient combustion?

not as cheem as that dude... it's just to...

prevent unnecessary foreign objects from entering the air-intake tube / resonator [laugh]

If you remove your resonator, the resulting air-intake tube (from the original air box) will point downwards (not so bad IMO)... but some ppl put hoses from that to the front of the car resulting in a "Cold Air Intake" If you do that be rpepared to clean your filterbox regularly.... [thumbsup]

I thot the air filter and the grille would prevent the cows and mouse from entering the combustion chamber..... [laugh]

Anyway, I just got my COE today in the very first bid! I went for the non-guranteed COE and boy, am I glad!!! Saved myself $1K. Maybe can convice wife to spend this 1K on accessories..... [rolleyes]

May need help from bros here when I finally decided to yank off the resonator. Thanks to Brock and Maded for your help and advice. [thumbsup]

The resonator is there for a reason. if not, why put in the extra plastic? [;)] I remember reading from somewhere, it is there to provide some kind of pressure for the engine when moving from stationary. When this is removed, as in the case of CAI mods, the pick up from low rpm is not as good ...

but don't just elieve what i write hor, can check up internet to see correct or not ... [angel]

yeap, the resonator is there to muffle the intake sounds so that the engine doesn't sound too harsh and intrusive.

I was merely pointing out that the intake piping from the resonator for my Aveo is pointed backwards... [thumbsup]

The loss in low rpm is not really noticable unless you open the filter box (Open Pod concept).:)

However at higher rpms, it definately feels more powerful :)

I did the cold air intake & the other open end I located it below the bumper area, near the fog light area. Although I did cut some small holes along the pipe 2 prevent the sucking in of water, my tinkin is I'm afraid tat mists of water 'll stil b sucked into the air box via the CAI hose when driving during rainy days & if water get into the engine then tat's the end liao.

Would tis happen? Any bros here gt any experience or knowledge on it pls enlighten me. Thx a million!

You are correct but it depends on the engine's intake configuration.

The Aveo and Optra's intake system is very simple. Much like the Honda ESi with the D16Z engines. The resonator sits in the wheel/arch-fender area. Just a box with a "Y" tube.

With such a setup, it is just a noise reducer. It is not like the new Toyotas with the resonator somewhere and the intake tube running all over the engine bay.

I have noticed no appreciable noise increase when it is removed. Got cold air instead.

Edited by Genie47

For better insurance, get a bypass valve. Be prepared to pay. They are rare items and most you find selling on eBay are AEM.

[sly] go tok to the people doing capsule. they will have a total opposite theory of never never to remove the box. but tokin to them, they will convince you into buying that metal air bottle, then its $$$ [angel]

I just removed mine resonator on Monday. The increase in pickup is great. And less lag is noticed. The power just come in greatly after 2k rpm. Last time used to drag until 2.5k, noisy and restictive like unable to breath, now seems it breath better and more relax. but become a little more noisy, last time is very smooth and quiet, now can hear some noise.

So where do you guys place the cold air intake pipes? I use 3 inch aluminium pipes for cold air intake and point it to the area behind the fog lamp. But I use an attachment to cover the hole to prevent foreign object from sucking in.

xiaogarydiycai165ht.jpg

xiaogarydiycai178zz.jpg

xiaogarydiycai180zm.jpg

xiaogarydiycai194cg.jpg

xiaogarydiycai206ap.jpg