Eng40765 1st Gear April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 In the papers this morning. I have been considering this car, any comments from current owners? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheepo 3rd Gear April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 Yes - very interested to hear too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sapience Clutched April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 i have always been biased against korean makes... but the latest incarnation of the sonata, i must say they have finally gotten their design somehow right... (no, not the t*****i) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamax Neutral Newbie April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 Hyundai car in SG is Diff car from other part of the world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Casey Neutral Newbie April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 in what sense? elaborate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamax Neutral Newbie April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 All of us knows that hundai in singapore is the skeleton compare dto oversea hyundai. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Casey Neutral Newbie April 3, 2005 Share April 3, 2005 ic...same as u, always feel that we are shortchanged. However its their strategy to press the price as low as possible so that it doesnt fall in the range of the all popular jap makes. But this doesnt relate to the reliability to the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear April 3, 2005 Share April 3, 2005 Was the Sonata made in the US for US market? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osmose Neutral Newbie April 3, 2005 Share April 3, 2005 Briefly read through the article too. Think the survey was referring to the predecessor. Anyway, have also somewhat of an interest in this value for money sedan. It definitely looks more refined and has a good european feel which I found out was due to its design process having the A6 in mind. Apparently the engine is developed by Hyundai and daimler chrysler & mitsubishi have bought the rights to it. Anyway just like most of their models its indeed value for money. Hope the little info helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamax Neutral Newbie April 3, 2005 Share April 3, 2005 I believe getting a skeleton version of the hyundai does make a diff in quality and reliablility. A more feature packed version for the "higher class" ang moh will more or less get better QC and attention while the skeleton one will get lower attention and QC. It is normal human reaction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 4, 2005 Share April 4, 2005 In the papers this morning. I have been considering this car, any comments from current owners? Better looking now. But critics generally felt that this Car can't compete in equipment level with other 2.xL Jap cars. The interior is very plain but looks nice on the outside. Some car magazine commented that even at 83K it is still overpriced since it lacks refinement. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear April 4, 2005 Author Share April 4, 2005 Looks like there is some bias-ness towards korean brand. There was another article on the highest value car in Singapore yesterday. Frankly, I do not understand how could the sonata in the US be any different from those in Singapore, and how could Hyundai, the company have 2 sets of QC in the sonata production process. How time and effort consuming that would be, having double standards. Anyway, what I really like to know is the reliability of the sonata from the current owners in Singapore.The looks both internal and exterior are ok with me, I have been to Komoco for a test drive and its a quiet and refined engine. Thats what I really like. I woundnt know until i drove it. I really need comments on its longer term reliability, I will take it on for at least 5 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamax Neutral Newbie April 4, 2005 Share April 4, 2005 PLz note that i am not bias against hyundai car, they are good cars with improving quality and standard however, it is the Hyundai in Singapore that i shake head. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 4, 2005 Share April 4, 2005 All the Korean or any car in the US have amazing levels of equipment. Yes, for most cars in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamax Neutral Newbie April 4, 2005 Share April 4, 2005 (edited) even hyundai malaysia is but hyundai singapore is Edited April 4, 2005 by Gamax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flee Neutral Newbie April 4, 2005 Share April 4, 2005 dun see why higher specs of hyundai cars in other countries will mean higher reliability. Singapore hyundai cars may have lesser specs, no airbags, no sunroof etc, but this shouldnt compromise on reliability. Then how about a Honda JDM and a non JDM? Any difference in reliability? Or Altis and JDM Corolla? Got diff in reliability? I doubt so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamax Neutral Newbie April 4, 2005 Share April 4, 2005 altis and corolla cfm got diff in quality and reliability. ask the altis owner and the corolla owner. However, it is hard for me to explain now as you havent see a oversea hyundai. You got to see to believe that there is indeed different thou not really very huge different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flee Neutral Newbie April 4, 2005 Share April 4, 2005 think no need to see lah...car mags will provide specs of the cars in their own countries. I have seen the specs of some hyundai cars in other countries. Anyway, we are on the subject of reliability. So see also no use rite? Must test test then know. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...