How many Galant VR4 are there in S'pore ?

Enzo

VR4 got the manual box version too. think 6speed. [nod] 0-100 4.8sec with minor mods. I rather have the vr4. Evo common ahbeng car leh [sweatdrop] . Galant got a bit more "class" and more space in the back seat and trunk haha. Good for some "backseat" action or transporting bodies in the trunk [sly]

Its a 2.5L turbo with AWD. Should be pretty fast. What car do you wanna smoke?

Why smoke other cars even if your car is fast?

how many cylinders is this VR4? 4 pot or V6?

VR4 has 3 generations

The 1st Generation is what EVO now is based off ... or should I say replaced them for WRC.

2nd Generation never made it to our shores (Only 5800 manufactured btw 1993-1994) but was very very popular in New Zealand!

It was a 2.0L V6 twin turbo....it was there that I was "smoked" by a '94 VR4 and I was driving a rental 4.0L Ford Falcon!!!

Had chance to own the VR4 back in Singapore between 2000-2004 which is the model you mentioned above. Only 38 of them made it to our shores (19000+ manufactured between 1996-2000) and this time they included the Wagon version!

1996-1998 models are V6 24valve Quad-cams Twin turbo 2.5L blocks with 330cc injectors (believe turbo was also smaller) hence only develops 260ps.

1999-200 models are V6 24valve Quad-cams Twin T03 turbos 2.5L blocks with 390cc injectors developing 280ps (restricted).

Models brought in by C&C are Type V versions (Automatic 5spd InvecsII boxes), PI brought in a Type S (also auto-version). Difference is Type S is with AYC (same as EVO).

So far the manual ones in Singapore from what I know are "changed" locally...

* The car is very very heavy! I weighed mine before at Tuas Incinerator plant including driver and some barang-barang in the boot (no spare tyre) = 1870+ kg!

With reasonable mod...car sprints 0-100km in 5.56sec and 0-400m sprint was 12.76secs! (*my own record)....my wife and I both LOVE the car but due to other commitments...no longer economical to keep the car....

EA

Another shot of the Galant Ralliart concept

It has a piggy nose... not very nice.. just hoping the E9 look will replace the hideous front bumper.. the 05 lancer's front bumper took a very very long time for me to get used to to call it 'nice looking' but it wasn't that ugly looking still.. the new galant though is [shakehead]

Actually the Engine is very light for its size...same for the Autobox.

Engine is complete lightweight Alloy (unlike the cast iron block of the Evo) hence recommended boost no more than 1.6bar (also the turbos too small)..

Instead the TD04Ls from the GTO actually suits the car more (wif the 450cc injectors from ATRs).

Anyway, its the body tats heavy. The chassis is really very tough....I had an accident on the VR4 once in Malaysia, cut the story short, I bulldozzz 2 trees (ala rambutan trees) after making a 360deg, flew over a feet high kerb + 3feet wide drain.

Damage was only front bumper+rear bumber+driver side rear door+fender+ of cos' replaced all the wheels+driveshalfs including centre shaft. Of oso FMIC.

But is was hell-of expensive cos' initially tot could use the normal VRG parts but NO! Even the door dun fit! It looks eactly same but DON't fit!

Everything had to be shipped from Japan too the workshop 2.5mths to get the car back on the road...(wif some additional upgrades of cos').

But wat really amaze me was...

During the accident I wasn;t even belted!!! Frankly did not "feel" tat bad...I walked away as if jus had a rollercoaster ride! Hence, my frens called it "the expensive rollercoaster ride".

EA

Yeah...if I do my sums....it will burn over 800 bucks of petrol per month considering today's prices!

EA

its not abt the weight of the turbo.

turbo are the cause for heavy comsumption... thats why TC-ed are heavy on petrol.

Edited by Ahhan7

Not really necesary unless you comparing apple to orange...

For TCed car you should not compare via engine cap but performace.

eg. currently I have a Odyssey and a LGT.

Both reasonably modded.

Odyssey is a 3.0L V6 which consumes abt 7km/l while the LGT consumes abt 7.5km/l.

Ok if you compare L by L then of cos' the LGT is a drinker...but if you consider the power! (Both cars I drive heavy footed). The LGT is tuned almost lag-free hence it drives more like a 4L then a TCed car. In tat sense, it does consume less than a 4L car/even a 3L.

EA

Think it's kerb is thereabout 1550kg ... if it's not engine, then must be body as u said. nod.gif But u must have quite abit of barang too. laugh.gif

Agreed with u ... TC doesnt necessarily mean bad FC, lots of factors at play. Like gear ratio, weight of car, no of engine cylinders, fuel saving technology (direct injection etc) etc.

10kg ok lah, considering it gives so much more hp for only 10kg inc in weight, excellent power to weight ratio! laugh.gif

Considering things like sunroof already weighs 20-30kg more already.