Evo2216 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 Any brothers out there knows the penalty of speeding and drunk driving? Cos I was stopped at a TP road block on Sunday Morning at about 2plus - morning outside Ngee Ann Polytechnic . Damn unlucky man, think this time round, surely lose my driving license one...... . Somemore me doing sales........ , now can't do a thing, do to wait for the verdict........ sianz man Guys, just some advise, never use clementi road on Fri and sat nights, surely got road block one. It was supposedly to be a happy day, cos my good friend wedding, but ................... Morale of the story, dun speed and drive, more importantly, never use small raods, use the expressway......... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 (edited) FYI: ref to this url! http://www.ramdwong.com.sg/news/may99/driving.htm#drunk Edited December 4, 2002 by E46RadX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo2216 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2002 Author Share December 4, 2002 thanks mate, I have visited teh link, but however, the punishment given seems outdated. Heard from friends that the punishment for drunk driving is 1yr mandatory. Worried to death, and thee TP website doesn't give any information......... lousy website.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 Sorry to hear about that, bro. My friend was banned from driving for 1.5 years for a similar offence. Worse of all, he had to re-take the driving test. Take a cab the next time............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 You were drunk and speeding? pls take public transport next time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 "penalty of speeding and drunk driving?" Hi! there, Evo2216, When you were stopped, did they do a breath-analyzer test on you? If no, then there's no drink-driving. If yes, was it positive? Did you ride with them to the hospital for a blood test? If no, then there's no drink-driving. Were you informed that you were speeding, and the speed that you are travelling? If it's no to all the above, there's no speeding & drink-driving. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 sorry to be rude first......why drink in the first place if u know u are driving? singapore is especially strict on these rules and regulations.....and all drivers know abt it, yet u still commit the offence.....pls, think of others when u are on the road drunk driving......it is very dangerous to the pedestrians .....espcially some others love one..... sorry for the harsh note......as for the punishment, i guess it's best u accept whatever it comes willingly.....even though u are a salesman..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 Any brothers out there knows the penalty of speeding and drunk driving? .....Morale of the story, dun speed and drive, more importantly, never use small raods, use the expressway......... Shouldn't your moral of the story be: dun drink n drive, rather than what roads not to use if u r drunk??? U should count yourself lucky for not getting into an accident and hurting someone if u suspect you've had a sip too much. Whether or not u were breath tested is irrelevant, u did pose a danger to yourself n others. Sorry if i sound unsupportive of your plight but this isn't the way to go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superduper Neutral Newbie December 9, 2002 Share December 9, 2002 My advise for you is to standby a couple of $k for the fine. Your licence kenna gantung , maybe you should start to look for new job which do not need you to drive. If you're disqualified. don't try to drive. Your car will kenna confiscate and you will have to continue paying your installments. 1 small hole will then ends up into a bigger hole. For the rest, please learn from his mistake or regret later Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 11, 2002 Share December 11, 2002 Any brothers out there knows the penalty of speeding and drunk driving? Cos I was stopped at a TP road block on Sunday Morning at about 2plus - morning outside Ngee Ann Polytechnic . Damn unlucky man, think this time round, surely lose my driving license one...... . Somemore me doing sales........ , now can't do a thing, do to wait for the verdict........ sianz man Guys, just some advise, never use clementi road on Fri and sat nights, surely got road block one. It was supposedly to be a happy day, cos my good friend wedding, but ................... Morale of the story, dun speed and drive, more importantly, never use small raods, use the expressway......... Get a good lawyer... let me know if u need one.... but not my own experience... i'll probably be able to introduce the guy to you... then the rest is up to your discretion. Whatever the outcome.... drive!! dun drink.... if must drink.... then dun drive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris_ck Neutral Newbie December 11, 2002 Share December 11, 2002 (edited) Any brothers out there knows the penalty of speeding and drunk driving? Cos I was stopped at a TP road block on Sunday Morning at about 2plus - morning outside Ngee Ann Polytechnic . Damn unlucky man, think this time round, surely lose my driving license one...... . Somemore me doing sales........ , now can't do a thing, do to wait for the verdict........ sianz man Guys, just some advise, never use clementi road on Fri and sat nights, surely got road block one. It was supposedly to be a happy day, cos my good friend wedding, but ................... Morale of the story, dun speed and drive, more importantly, never use small raods, use the expressway......... For Speeding and drink driving the penalties are different. For Speeding it depends on the speed limit of the road you're travelling on and how much you exceeded that speed limit. From what i know if it's more than 30km past the road's speed limit it'll become a court case which will then depend on the judge's verdict and how you present your case (etc emergency etc). For drink driving it depends on how much your alcohol content exceeds the allowed alcohol content in the body while driving. If you are stopped at a road block and tested red on the breathalyzer they will bring you to the nearest station now no more hospital as the station now has equipment to correct determine your body's alcohol content and this data is surmissible in court.And if you are involved in an accident and the officers suspect you are drunk and test you with the breathalyzer the result dun have to be red for you to be arrested. Amber result is sufficient Edited December 11, 2002 by Chris_ck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo2216 Neutral Newbie December 12, 2002 Author Share December 12, 2002 Guys, Really appreciate the comments and information that have been posted. I have currently still awaiting for the blood test results to be out....really torturing man.... deep down inside me, I know sure no chance one, cos 2 mugs of beer is already over the legal limit. The thing is, never intented to challenge the law, the wedding ended at 11pm, I rested in the hotel room my friend had prepared for us till 2am, felt sober then decided to head home, that's when I was caught. So never intented to drink and drive. Whatever it is, the police would not listen nor will they care, so just have to take it. But guys, do take note, dun drink and drive, though its really a hassle to leave the car and take a cab home and stuffs, but you people really dun wan to be in the situation i am in, take it from me, the experience sucks big time. ( think comfort have a service that drives you home in your car - just got to know..arrggg) Anyway, the taste of alcohol sucks big time, H20 is definitely much tastier. So take it from me, dun drink and drive, somehow TP is stepping up especially during the festive season. Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear December 12, 2002 Share December 12, 2002 From what i know if it's more than 30km past the road's speed limit it'll become a court case which will then depend on the judge's verdict and how you present your case Actually....the point is more than 40kmh above the road/vehicle speed limit i know because in 1997...a TP tried to get me to admit to travelling at more than 50kmh (130+) above the limit.....he say his radar gun caught me at 129.....and as it was a bend, I may have been going faster (the idiot was waiting under Punngol Exit flyover along the TPE). I said that it was not possible (was driving an Auto 323 back then)....and that it was probably the BMW 520 that was behind me (and who was racing with me...didn't mention this of course)..... Then I realised the consequence of admitting...and pleaded to get him to reduce the speed for me......begged him,....it was my first offence... I was going to ORD from the army then.....and that I was going to church (it was a Sunday.....and I WAS on my way to church)..... He wrote down 120,....which was not "more than 40kmh above the speed limit" (back then it was 80kmh for all expressways)....... or else I would have to go to court and my mom would have freaked out......... Summons: Speeding - more than 30kmh above speed limit ( I don't drive slower.....just wiser now.... learnt to spot TP by observing traffic ahead..... "brake lights on the outer lane in light traffic is a sure indicator" Fortunately I don't drink (not much)....so drunk driving would never be an issue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie December 12, 2002 Share December 12, 2002 I empathise with your situation ..... I had a friend once who was caught drink driving in a Nissan 200SX ..... licence gone and everytime he retakes .... the TP fails him even do he does nothing wrong (8 times). Once you are marked, you get bullets flying your way, all the way ........ in the end he gave up and in now taking public transport. From then on .... the only thing I drink when I drive is Cola and plain water ..... oh forgot to say this :- If you Drink and Drive ..... Drink Newater ....... the kicks are the same, but the penalties are different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 27, 2002 Share December 27, 2002 Think u have learnt your lesson.... so are u going to hire any lawyer to help u.... it'll make the difference u know.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemason Neutral Newbie December 27, 2002 Share December 27, 2002 (edited) actually hiring a lawyer doesnt make very much diff.........esp if the penalty is mandatory....the only diff you'll see is that the fine would be lower, but when the fine has been reduced, don't ever forget that you still got lawyer fees to see to. happened to me during my biking days. . . hired a lawyer, fine got reduced, but still got suspended nevertheless, its still worth a try (oh, b.t.w results may vary from time to time ) Edited December 27, 2002 by Freemason Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 27, 2002 Share December 27, 2002 Oic... the guy that i spoke to from STC said that he got caught for speeding on his bike... then got this lawyer to fight for him... end up.... he lose all the bike licence and kept his Class 3.... so he switched to driving since then liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemason Neutral Newbie December 27, 2002 Share December 27, 2002 wah h h......this is 1 very rare case that i've come across leh.......esp in this island, once 1 of any of ur license is down, the rest of the license that you have must also go ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...