Yeobh 4th Gear April 12, 2005 Share April 12, 2005 DIY will never catch up with car owners in Spore due to labour cost is still cheap,worshops within driving distant and almost 90% live in HDB. Many years ago , I have toy with the idea of having a workshop equipped with tools and equipment without mechanics is to attract DIY diehards, weekend mechanics and free-lance mechanics to rent the space, equipment and tools on ad-hoc basis.After much consultation with people inside the auto service industry, I decided not to go ahead. Apparently many DIYs, weekend mechanics etc love the idea but not willing to pay membership fee to reduce the high cost of per hour rental/ day charges. So the idea is flushed down the drain. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 13, 2005 Author Share April 13, 2005 Guess DIYers are on their own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie April 13, 2005 Share April 13, 2005 that's why it's known as DIY/.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 13, 2005 Share April 13, 2005 Wow... nice idea! I always got to work in open car-park, esp the lorry car park where the fleet operates. Everytime until 8 L of water a day not enof. Then no air-compressor, no nothing. But anywhere else to rent a place to work in? I think i dun mind paying if the rates are not high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear April 14, 2005 Share April 14, 2005 When I was a kid, many meahnics work under cherry trees, now it is hardly a sight - you must be a rare breed. For your own good and the good of the enviroment, please go and look for a decent place with roof over your head. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 14, 2005 Author Share April 14, 2005 Hehehe.....saw those big "tentage" for servicing of cars in the open selling in Harbor Freight . They can fit 18-wheeler semis! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 14, 2005 Share April 14, 2005 Hehe, last time in army worse, we work in the thunder-storm, always wet and shivering, so much so that we stayed below the vehicle with the engine started to gain warmth. Those times best if can work uncarriage, got "shelter". Don't worry about the environment, i work with that in mind, rarely does any oil if there is get onto the floor. ALot of special tools and DIYed stuff are made such that oil are directed to the containers, no slippage of any type of oil, inclusive of brake bleeding through nipples. If only got a small workshop place to rent... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 14, 2005 Share April 14, 2005 Huh? My lorries all @ most 4 wheel only lah. They selling or renting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 14, 2005 Author Share April 14, 2005 Harbor Freight is selling. They have not gotten back to me regarding SG credit cards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maded Neutral Newbie April 14, 2005 Share April 14, 2005 i think u'll just have to ask if they ship to Singapore.... US, Oz, SG credit card no matter... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 14, 2005 Author Share April 14, 2005 Some places don't accept SG credit cards. If they don't, forget about shipping. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maded Neutral Newbie April 14, 2005 Share April 14, 2005 never had that happen to me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 14, 2005 Share April 14, 2005 Praying that they accept. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear April 14, 2005 Share April 14, 2005 Harbour freight prices are dirt cheap. Once I was ask by my business associate from Arizona to study the possibility of importing goods from them. After a weekend study on the products and prices , I shoot a email declining the offer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 14, 2005 Author Share April 14, 2005 Why? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear April 14, 2005 Share April 14, 2005 I hate sub-standard products. Having experinece importing, selling and marketing auto service equipment from Uk, US, Italy ,Demark, Taiwan, & Aust & Japan , I have learn through the yrs how to shift out good quality products from sub-standards. Having work with few large Japanese makers of auto tools and equipment I learn a great deal on thier inside thinking on customer services, product quality, and market segmentation and penetration and offcourse pricing for different marketplaces. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 15, 2005 Author Share April 15, 2005 Thanks. We now know your stuff is excellent quality . Both from your post and some feedback from people who bought your wonderful tools. BTW, the Gunson Eezibleed seems to have disappeared from the eBay.sg auction lists! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear April 15, 2005 Share April 15, 2005 Sorry auction for Eezibleed expire last night. Just insert, you should be able to bid for the item now. Good luck !! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...