Genie47 1st Gear April 1, 2005 Author Share April 1, 2005 Hmm...... good idea. I think I will start small. Go for the Britool 5-35Nm one for spark plugs first. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 1, 2005 Share April 1, 2005 (edited) True. Oil filter wrench? Dun worry, i got a DIY one that can handle many sizes, from turn in air filter to turn in oil filter. Can take torque of above 400NM, tested and proven. My shifu those days gave me one before i left. Nah, of course i try not to over-tighten, wah, brake problem take out so many times. Last time 1 week i got to take out close to 100 times, big or small wheels. Do until now back damaged. For torque like 110NM, actually achievable very closely with my trusty T-bar(yah, got 3 sizes currently with me, the 3/8, 1/2 and 3/4, lost the 1 inch one. ). The moment i use leg expect something like 600-800NM or even above liao, which is only found on 3-tonners and above. [sweatdrop]But amazingly some cars did tighten to that torque. 160 for a torque wrench... I remember i could get a snap-on at that price, but only 3/8 inch. How big is the head of the one u bought? 3/8? 1/2 inch? Edited April 1, 2005 by Megalord Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 1, 2005 Author Share April 1, 2005 I think I'm getting a professional Britool 3/8" drive 5-35Nm version. I'll be expecting to fork out $160 for it. Will be getting this weekend. I got a Fumotovalve, so no need to tighten sump plug. Only spark plugs for now. Wheel lug nuts maybe later or can borrow from you anyone with one that goes to 120ft-lb. Hehehe....rental business. I start with kopi first. Must return on the spot. Later if borrow for one week or so, change by week. Use this money to keep it calibrated. Cannot earn too much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 1, 2005 Share April 1, 2005 Hey Genie, when u buying? When buying must jio me wor~ I intend to keep 2 or 3 sets--> 3/8, 1/2 and 3/4. Think those are enough liao. Nowadays still got some lorry need me to do up, so bo bian need to use 3/4 size one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 1, 2005 Share April 1, 2005 (edited) Errr.... not too nice to rent or lend precision tools round though... Normal tools can, but this type of tool very sensitive to treatment... U sure u wanna lend it around? I don't mind helping them to tighten instead. Hmmm... 5-35.... Abit low for my liking, maybe i will settle for the 1/2 inch then. WHere u getting it from? Can share shop? Edited April 1, 2005 by Megalord Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 1, 2005 Author Share April 1, 2005 (edited) If there is a way to up security. Put in deposit of $160. After which using for one week, I return $140. $20 makan by me as rental charge. Most likely going to the Tekka market 2nd level shop. Edited April 1, 2005 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 1, 2005 Share April 1, 2005 Wah, this rental rate very the good ah! Wish i could join in too! But me exams coming up... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 Genie, you got liao? If you haven't can help me enquire for the price for a 1/2 inch one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 3, 2005 Author Share April 3, 2005 I got a Britool already. 3/8" drive 5-35Nm range. Lower end is torqued a bit higher. Setting at 5 is 6Nm and higher end is torqued lower with 35Nm calibrated and inspected at 33Nm. Looks good for spark plug and other light work. Didn't ask for the 1/2" drive version. Sorry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 4, 2005 Share April 4, 2005 yah 3/8in one. quality quite decent. Jap tool. expect quality to be there. prefer those oil filter wrench that fit with a fixed size. don't have to bother adjusting with the chain type of risk scratching the filter with the adjustable loop type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 4, 2005 Share April 4, 2005 Filter? Unless they are for lorries(some lorries filter if not tightened too tight, hand also can remove), actually i use hand with sand paper(400 rgid will do). Faster and easier, also can follow instructions, hand tight and 3/4 additional, very much achievable using hands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 12, 2005 Author Share April 12, 2005 I use rubber gloved hands. Also good enough to tighten. BTW, as you know I got the Britool to do jobs for 5-35Nm torque range (mainly spark plugs and oil sump plug). For wheel lugs, I'm looking at this: http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Disp...?itemnumber=239 USD9.90! The guys in BITOG says that you can buy so many of these for the price of a Snap-On and it clicks in Chinese! This is not as accurate (clicker type) as the Britool for the fine jobs but for wheel lugs nuts, this can't be beaten! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 12, 2005 Share April 12, 2005 Fwah!!! So cheap?! Wanna bring in? If you wanna bring in, can i share the freight cost with ya? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 12, 2005 Author Share April 12, 2005 (edited) OK I buy two if I can get the shipping done right. Was looking around in the online store. Fwah! These Americans got access to all these wonderful tools! Got winches, log splitter and even 3X NV binocs! Edited April 12, 2005 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 12, 2005 Share April 12, 2005 Thx! Where you stay? I go collect from ya if everything goes right. Or you wan a MO? Yah, americans get alot alot alot alot and alot of good stuffs... Why can't the same stuff come to sg... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 12, 2005 Author Share April 12, 2005 DIY force not strong. If know how to DIY, you will not see so many people come into this forum kaopeh about BM, TCM or KM foreign import labor screwing up their cars. Some things don't need to go workshop one lah! Change PS fluid actually can do cheap cheap also. Just use the turkey baster method over 6mths. The way I see, A/C system, wheel balancing and car kenna accident, better go workshop. Or car super complicated like turbocharge car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roboto Neutral Newbie April 12, 2005 Share April 12, 2005 Am actually getting some stuff from US. Ordering from summit racing. They got this torque wrench. http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.a...39&autoview=sku Is it any good? If so maybe I add some to my order. They got quite a lot of stuff. Getting my lug nuts and mag filters from them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie April 12, 2005 Share April 12, 2005 Totally agreed. Air-con, electronics like ABS, and wheel balancing, i dun have the equipments or the skill. I am more of a mechanical mechanic. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...