Caiyuebin Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 Hatch back seems more popular in europe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decibel Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 More interior and road space for the money? Unless its a mpv-hatch thingy like the Matrix which has a roomy interior IMO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avenso Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 but if you consider the MPVs (Jazz, Colts, etc) as hatchbacks, then I think hatchbacks are becoming more popular here today. I see more Liana hatchbacks than saloon on the road here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahliew Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 (edited) there seem to be this conception among some drivers that a sedan is safer then a hatchback for its rear passengers cause of the boot if theres a rear collision but i dont think so. Edited March 27, 2005 by Ahliew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 KS. More metal for the $$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arkaneslayer Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 why u never ask "why singaporeans like SUVs?" ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avenso Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 Hi Tploh, KS for kiasu? haha, good one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnchong Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 It's probably the best balance lor. Besides, there are more models of sedans than anything else rite... Sedans handle well, can sit 5, and have good trunk space... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crv2004 Clutched March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 That is because the sedan is really ugly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crv2004 Clutched March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 Because they are big and high Sitting is confortable Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonnybravo Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 hmmmm but is it really true that sedans are safer than hatchback? cars like the mini cooper and VW beetle have such little space for compression/collapse during a collision from the rear. I have a fren who once studied in australia and she drove an EG6. She was ferrying 1 passenger by her side and 2 frens behind. A car knocked into them from behind. Damage was not big but the 2 rear passengers were hospitalised for back injuries due to the impact. I believed the impact would not have been so big if it was a sedan due to the extra boot space available, allowing the metal to collapse. what do you guys think? Jon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 i agree with u on that. h/b dun have the boot to protect the passengers behind the car gets hit from behind. i always thot sedans are safer in a way. given ur scenario here, i think its a fact that h/b are not so safe. EG6 is a 90s car so i think it's the reason why the rear passengers suffered injuries. but i believe with improving technology and stuff, h/b will be as safe as sedans in time to come, regarding rear impact collision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnchong Neutral Newbie March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 Yeah, I also think that way. That's why I hope to get a large sedan such as the Accord when I study in the US. If sway kena crash, at least got more metal to crumple. Besides, in the US, got so many big trucks around, better play safe... Hehe, of course I'd rather get a more solid continental car, but it costs too much lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 why u never ask "why singaporeans like SUVs?" ... My KS theory could work for SUV as well. KS. More bang for the $$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 i myself have a fetish for HBs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz 2nd Gear March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 Hatch back seems more popular in europe I prefer hatch back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear March 27, 2005 Share March 27, 2005 Depends on the car. For luxury cars, I'll definitely go for sedans. For smaller fun cars, e.g. Latio, I'll definitely go for the hatch version. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 I dont think u're totally right.... maybe in the older car makes. But with the recent H/B makes, they may not hv crumble zones but they definitely hv the impact strength to withstand direct impact. I have ever heard reports of H/B kena rear-ended n their back onli hv small scratches whereas the other car had the front badly damaged. All cars is designed to hv certain amount of crumble zone in the front in the event of accident, but the rear is dependant on the design. Sedan has a crumble zone (boot), H/B impact resistance. The incident u mentioned is personal injuries due to impact. In fact all rear passenger, regardless of H/B or sedan will suffer some form of impact related injuries. If u say the rear had crushed the passenger then tat's probably a different senario totally. No offence just my humble opinion. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...