V-KOOL joint line at rear window

Speedblade

[reply]

I remembered the installer told me 2 main factors why one or more pieces. One is the size and shape of the glass, which most brothers already said. 2nd is the type of film you choose - there are a few grades and some are thicker/stiffer and therefore so not so easy to to bend to fit the glass. They can use the hot air, but that is for minor adjustments only.

True to certain extent, I guess if your installer is good and experienced, any type of VKOOL film can be hot aired to the shaped of the windscreen even the Beetle one tongue.gif

Juz my $0.02 nod.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

I just did mine yesterday and to my horror the rear is 2 piece installation [furious] . Before that I already confirm and double confirm with the sales lady ALL must be 1 pcs installation and she said OK.

Went there KPKB and talk to the boss, telling me film too thick, glass too curve and all sort of nonsense. Anyway when I was there yesterday I also saw they installed on other car with small and flat rear windscreen also using 2 piece.

At the end they told me their installer can not do it, have to go to Sim Ming to re-do next week. What a waste of my time.

The moral of the story is :

1. Always ask before you install and better still ask them to put it down in black and white.

2. Don't take crab from them. You pay top money, you expect top quality.

Woah, service so lousy ar... Luckily I haven installed yet. Hehe, thinking of going tmr. But I might go for Cool n Lite instead of V-kool. Value for money lah, anyway, the car is 3yrs old already.

Having read this thread previously, when I got V-Kool from my SE (not free, only subsidised), I asked for it to be put down in black & white that everything must be 1 piece installation. But driving my new ride a few days ago in the bright sun, guess what I saw? A bright sliver horizontally across my rear windscreen, like in the attached photos in this thread. [mad]

Ah well, at least it really isn't that obvious, but I think I'm gonna go take a closer look again later. Meh.

To think I specifically asked for 1-piece installation though. Quite disappointed 'coz thought my SE quite good (don't want to give much, but at least friendly and nice service).

which outlet did you go ?? as consumers, we cannot accept such thumbsdown.gif service attitude. My old ride's vkool was done at the East COast road branch in Caltex( Now not there anymore). They had a hard time doing my front windscreen. After 2 tries, called me and told me the situation, offered me a solution - use two pieces, but the top part stick anti-glare sunshade ...was done nicely... well, I wasnt too pleased but then i accepted it cos they have oredi tried twice and they bothered to call me and explain to me. now, that is SERVICE !!!!

I guess by franchising out the business, its hard to ensure equal service .....

Bukit Timah, next to Tan Choong Motor.

V-Kool is good and I have used it on my previous ride. That is why I installing it on my current ride. I should have go to the Head Office instead of franchise branch.

The idea is to make it exactly clear what you want and how you wanted it, so there is no dispute. The boss actually handle the situtaion quite professionaly, just that I am 200% p*ss-off and they offer me alternative after I insist either they do it or remove everything and return my money.

If they admit their mistake immediately and stop playing tai-chi probably I will give them [thumbsup] for their service.

In fact,I feel a bit sorry for the sales girl now, who actually cried from my scolding.. [:(] . The boss said she is new and only do part time there. But somebody have to pay for the mistake and that is defenitely not me.

One more thing to add, in fact before they called the boss, there is one middle age uncle still got the gut to say (behind my back) "give him back the money, and go Sim Ming and do loh.." with the very unpleasant tone. [whip]

In fact the same guy drove my car to me yesterday, he open the door and use his feet push on the door panel. I stare at him and almost went near him to give a kick at his leg. [furious]

[thumbsdown]

furious.gif dun know whats wrong with such people in SG !?!? ANd due to lack of consumer protection laws & minimal knowledge of consumer rights, Sillypore consumers are still being held at the mercy of retailers/service providers !!!! jeesh !!!! and to think oen nation is EDUCATED !!! BAH ........... knife.gif

got my car from dealer with free v-kool. but juz realise there's a joint line for the v-kool on the rear window. is this normal? or should i complain and send back?

Thanks!

That's not normal. Fren did his with Nanolux and they informed that it will come in 2pcs and after the job done, you don't even notice the "line".

Went back to V-Kool to re-install my rear wind screen at VKool Sim Ming today.

I also tell them there is a lot of water buble on the front windscreen and they agreed to re-install both front and back windscreen for me.

It takes 5 hours and 3 person to re-install both front and back windscreen. I stay there all the time to see them installing it. All I can say is the installer at Sim Ming are really pro. They installed the rear screen once, and they tear it off again because the quality is not there. [thumbsup]

Campare with the initial installation done at Bukit Timah branch, is like heaven and hell. There are not water buble/water mark at all and very uniform. All installation are in one big piece.

I am very impressed...well done V-Kool Sim Ming [thumbsup][thumbsup]

If any one going to installed v-kool, do it at V-Kool Sim Ming....

Edited by James_tan

got my car from dealer with free v-kool. but juz realise there's a joint line for the v-kool on the rear window. is this normal? or should i complain and send back? [shocked][shocked][shocked]

I thought that it should be in 1 pic one . Never heard that they get 2 piece for the rear window. [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

Coincidentally, we used the same customised package. I drive a Picnic and they used 3 pieces for my rear wind screen. The cut is neatly done but still able to see it when the sun is strong and viewing from the rear view mirror.

I did mine at the Ubi outlet and will most likely go back to them to redo the front and rear wind screens as there are still bubbles after a month.

[reply]

I use VK-75 for front and VK-40 (Mystique) for rear. My ride in honda city.

Nice package thumbsup.gif VK 75 can pass for Honda City Front windscreen confused.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

[reply]

I did mine at the Ubi outlet and will most likely go back to them to redo the front and rear wind screens as there are still bubbles after a month.

U can ask they to press out the bubbles confused.gif

Cheers sunny.gif