Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 4, 2002 Author Share December 4, 2002 what is SID??? if i happen to be in states, happy loh.....the last time i was there 2 yrs back, i was driving the mustang GT convertible.....damn shiok man....but at that time, didn't know how to drift and stuff abt FR car.......or else..... , sure try one at the LV one..... pontiac, no bad man....it's quite a powerful FR car also......plus famous in the states.....good on u ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jgoh Neutral Newbie December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 SID = Singapore Dollars, as opposed to USD = US Dollars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 4, 2002 Author Share December 4, 2002 oic, tot it should be SGD..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Herz22 1st Gear December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 Actually I cant tell the diff between RWD and MWD (Mid Wheel Drive????) I always tot MR2 is RWD until someone told me it is not.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 Most Merc models are RWD. C and E class models are RWD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jgoh Neutral Newbie December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 Heh Heh Heh... Its so apparent, huh, that I do not use SGD/SID much??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 Quote How about this for a (relatively) less expensive tuition? Fly out to join Turbobrick during this winter - SID 1,800 (?), lodge and board at his place - SID (FOC???), buy a junk RWD car - SID 800, find a open lighted car park .........I actually bought a similar 6-year old Pontiac Astre for USD 250 during student days, and learnt to do 'oversteering' in winter. Later, fixed the car up a bit, with help from other students from the auto-mechanic dept, and sold it for USD 650! hmmm....... MCF can organise such a group 'tuition tour', like what you did, for every car (ie every student), at the end can earn 650-250=US$400 from the sale of the car..... split half half between MCF and each student.... help to cover part of the 'tuition' fee.... as for MCF, the 'profit' from the 'split' goes into a sinking fund, which shall become $$ for food that will end up in tummies of MCFers...... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 Quote i really have that thought of getting these car....heart no so pain even when playing around....but quite difficult to get hold of one of them.....if can, planning to rebuilt the whole car......through the sources of australia.... there are a few well mod'd, well looked after Levins lurking in singapore.... a few others which need some tender love and care...... come back and i will go hunting with you for a good one.... or a not so good one for you to do major heart transplant..... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 Quote rite rite.....actually to do an actual drift cannot just like that say say lah....need alot of practise also lah....me did alot of time then can manage to get nice nice one, but still not perfect lah....backside like to swing like a model..... jump into a race prepared fast kart, and you can practise these things, almost similar to full size car......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jgoh Neutral Newbie December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 " hmmm....... MCF can organise such a group 'tuition tour', like what you did, for every car (ie every student), at the end can earn 650-250=US$400 from the sale of the car..... split half half between MCF and each student.... help to cover part of the 'tuition' fee.... as for MCF, the 'profit' from the 'split' goes into a sinking fund, which shall become $$ for food that will end up in tummies of MCFers...... " ________________________________________________________________________________ __ Notice that our Turbobrick very 'silent' on the suggestion? So, I guess this scheme cannot work liao... kekeke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 Bro can get the Nissan S15 if you like drifting. This car can be used to drift easily! One of the easier to drive FR in the market. Or get Honda S2000 also can. My personal favourite! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie December 4, 2002 Share December 4, 2002 Getting a car here is cheap, free lodging no problem! The insurance here is though, no driving on public streets allowed unless insurance paid for. So perhaps an cheap old track car is more feasible, but then again probably can go drag strips or abandoned aircraft runways Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear December 5, 2002 Share December 5, 2002 ...whoever told you MR2 is not RWD....ought to shot . MR2 is the designation for the Mid-engined (behind the seats) Rear wheel drive 2 seater. The engine is not in the front like other RWD.....those with engines in front are known as FR...front engined-rear wheel drive. There is No Mid Wheel Drive.... only MR. FF = like most Jap sedans....engine in front....front wheel drive. FR = eg. MX5, S15, S2000, RS/IS200, Ferrari 575......engine in front....rear wheel drive MR = eg. MRS, Ferrari 360, Lotus Elise......engine between front and rear axles...usually behind the front seats.....rear wheel drive RR = Porsche 911s..and old VW Beetle... engine is placed behind the rear axle (where the boot usually is) rear wheel drive of course AWD, 4WD, Quattro....are mostly front engined 4 wheel drive systems. There was a one-off Audi TT with 2 engines (1 front 1 rear) with 4WD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Herz22 1st Gear December 5, 2002 Share December 5, 2002 Now that clears up.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 6, 2002 Author Share December 6, 2002 are u serious abt what u have offered for me, go hunting for an AE86....not easy leh, but feel glad abt that....thanks mate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 6, 2002 Author Share December 6, 2002 how abt the whole lot of MCF organise a mini karting race between members....good way of having fun without risking getting summons by TPs leh, as well as exchanging ideas, chit chat, having fun together and have a good laugh at the end of the day...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 6, 2002 Author Share December 6, 2002 i did consider that b4.....but think think.....market very small for this car leh....somemore must PI.....very expensive leh......plus insurance.....crazy liao lah.....this car very very good....plus new car like that wack, heart abit pain also if i really buy .....money not enough lah..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 We're going up to JB for karting next week...Saturday....the organiser is Super 7... check out the other thread on karting in permas....... think it's in race stories. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...