Soya Supersonic May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 Nice shine! Ya, if hv to do so many steps, Hand brand maybe can short circuit. But easy to use Machine brand or not? Heard it takes a bit of practice and skill, otherwise can kena swirl coz too much force on the paintwork. But having said that, MCF's grooming god still uses Hand brand and tink he poliks every week. Power! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 If you get the right Dual Action polisher machine and the right pad to go along, it's actually quite easy to handle and it will remove swirl instead of introducing more swirl to the car. In fact swirl can also be created by Hand brand if inferior quality applicator pad or cloth are used. Btw who's the grooming god you refering to ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superblackbird Neutral Newbie May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 Been thinking of getting the PC7424 or the Cyclo.But the Cyclo is a bit pricey though.Both are good machine but Cyclo will be more lasting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 Gen2 bro what machine brand u using? Available here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 Hey Bro Kaiserdome, I'm using a brand call Rupes, not so common and after buying a bit worry about after sale service. Btw it is available in Singapore. Superblackbird - One of our kaki ordered a PC from US with a step down transformer. We did a comparsion and in the end all the votes went to the Rupes. I can't really coment on cyclo because I have not tried it before. The Rupes will cost you around $400/- and the cyclo will be around $700/-, given a choice I would rather go for the Rupes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 What's a dual action polisher? MCF's infamous grooming god u dunno arh?? Die....u sure kena Assassinated liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 A DA machine polisher does not spin like a rotary instead they VIBRATE, so it makes handling very simple . And also don like that lay, still relatively new here so don know who's the grooming god, so please spare me the death sentence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 Cyclo too heavy bro...besides it does not have the variable speed like the Rupes do. I will search for the DeWalt first...if failed, then will go for the Rupes which is lighter than the DeWalt. Ordering the Porter-Cable plus the shipping cost, still cannot use our 240v...too much hassle leh. Rupes same size, same function but with a noisier motor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 icic...where can I get Rupes...very machine mood recently Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 Bro Kaiserdome send you a PM, pls check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 >> where can I get Rupes...very machine mood recently Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foursprings Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 The instructions on the orbital polisher states not to press the machine down, just let the machine lie naturally on top of the car and move it up and down side to side slowly. I bought the 30++ dollar orbital polisher from carrefour last montj just to try out. i was thinking if it doesn't work, its only 30 bucks down the drain. But to my surprise, twas fantastic and did the whole car in about 35 minutes. only thing is, its powered by the car batt and 15 minutes into it, i became a little worried and decided to start the engine... meaning, i had to breath exhaust. i then wired it to a 12v transformer (less than 10 bucks) and plugged it in to wall. So total less than 50 bucks (or 2 jugs for some) for you to try if you like it or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foursprings Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 forgot to mention about the downside... after buffing it nice and shiny, it was badly scratched by some pucking busted with green eyes at a MSCP in woodlands. had to fork out a few hundred to get it fixed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 Quote The instructions on the orbital polisher states not to press the machine down, just let the machine lie naturally on top of the car and move it up and down side to side slowly. Gen2 found out about it the hard way ...and btw Gen2, did you managed to get your bonnet swirls fixed up? I reckon #80 should do the trick? Quote after buffing it nice and shiny, it was badly scratched by some pucking busted with green eyes at a MSCP in woodlands. had to fork out a few hundred to get it fixed... such is life ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie June 2, 2005 Share June 2, 2005 Whether to apply pressure on the machine (orbital dual action machine) it all depands on what you want to achieve out of the process. If the purpose is to remove swirl or scratches, pressure have to be applied but must have the proper pads and polish to go along. However if applying or removing wax, than not much pressure will be needed. Polisher that are powered by car battery can only do the job to a certain extent because of the lack of power (as compare to a machine of 550 watt). So you are advice not to apply too much pressure otherwise you will see the machine stop moving or jerking . Silgt- did not do anything but add extra coat over it and the marks seems to get less noticeable already. It could be due to the previous coat was not removed properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie June 2, 2005 Share June 2, 2005 suggest a thorough cleaning with AIO (I think there are SG residue within those swirls) and use #80 to remove those swirls. Small job for you lah ...talk later @ you know where... Agree on getting a proper polisher/buffer to do a job (of course never never go cheap on pads!!!). Otherwise run a risk of inducing more swirls to the paint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie June 2, 2005 Share June 2, 2005 >> did not do anything but add extra coat over it and the marks seems to get less noticeable already. It could be due to the previous coat was not removed properly. One time pain better than long-term heartache mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie June 2, 2005 Share June 2, 2005 I don think so bro, product like SG and Z2pro are pure sealant without filler (unlike NXT has filler), in fact they will show more of the defects rather than hiding them. Anyway will monitor the progress and now I have 3 coats of SG on my hood since last Saturday . Most properly will top with a layer of carnauba wax tommorow. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...