Jayk Neutral Newbie March 22, 2005 Share March 22, 2005 (edited) Hello, I'm currently considering buying a car(My First Car), and need some help. I'm thinking about Honda Jazz/Fit but I am not too sure about its 1339cc engine. Does anyone know how much does the PI for the 1.5 Fit cost? Also, with the 1.5 Fit, is there any substantial increase in its fuel consumption? For this range of price, anyone has any other recommendations on other cars? I am in my 20s and my budget is for a S$75,000 car(aprox.) My main considerations are FC and looks.(Was ACTUALLY considering City, but didn't work out. The price simply does not make-up for the looks, or rather the lack of it.) I am contemplating about using the car for the full period of 10yrs(Thus, the importance in FC and looks?), hope I can resist the urge to change. Haha. Any comments would be greatly appreciated! Thank You in advance! Cheers! Edited March 22, 2005 by Jayk ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nickppt Neutral Newbie March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 mine a 1.4jazz... FC efficient for sure... nice compact car yet spacious inside. Not sure if 1.5Fit will have significant difference in eng power from 1.4jazz.. Call me bias but i think Jazz a pretty good car.. both in FC n looks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 Jazz/Fit with bodykit is chio . 1.5L Fit has Vtec and it is available only from the parallel importers but the power is Fuel consumption wise got to wait for some bros here who are owning Jazz to advise you. With your 75K budget, you can look at Civic too which is also quite fuel economical and chio with a bodykit One advice is that the insurance for Honda cars are not cheap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nickppt Neutral Newbie March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 Yeah... honda insurance is "kill pple set fire" kind... real real expensive.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 x10 Southpark The Dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayk Neutral Newbie March 23, 2005 Author Share March 23, 2005 Just curious. How much is the insurance for Fit 1.3? Anyone knows what is the insurance for 1.5 vtec? (Approximate) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 Depends on age and whether 1st ride, etc. My is $1.5k+ Southpark The Dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 Should be in the region of $2k. Best to to double check with other insurance co. My friend bought a WRX and the insurance (bundle with the car) is @ $1800 for 0% NCD and 25yrs. The following he was quoted in excess of $3k and was told that the $1.8k is a one off offer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nickppt Neutral Newbie March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 Dude... urs is 1.5K after the insu rebate of 1.5 or before rebate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 Nick, B4 lah....really got pple $1.5k AFTER the $1.5k rebate.... x 1000 I only top up $70 with change... Southpark The Dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zombie Neutral Newbie March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 fit1.5 cost abt 10K more than the 1.3Fit/Jazz. Is insurance a consideration as well? It may be abv 2K for fit1.5 if you don't have NCD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched March 23, 2005 Share March 23, 2005 Jazz got 1.4? i dun know why they consider the 1339cc as 1.4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nickppt Neutral Newbie March 24, 2005 Share March 24, 2005 thot quite standard industry practice... they always round up one... some 1.6 also onli 1500++ cc but term as 1.6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
English5b Neutral Newbie March 24, 2005 Share March 24, 2005 Hi, Do test driver Jazz for a longer time before making decision. I feel that Jazz is a good choice, except the following. If you are a tall person (1.8m or more), do check if the seat is comfortable for driving. I couldn't find a position that is comfortable for me, after driving a while, I felt my thigh is tiring. I guess maybe Jazz has a short nose, the leg room at the driving seat is swallower compared to other cars. Next is the stiff suspension. I drove Sunny and Corolla for the past few years. When I tried Jazz, I can feel the ride comfort is poor compare to Corolla/Sunny. You can feel a lot of little "bump" driving on expressway, which I didn't notice at all in a Corolla/Sunny. Do check if the ride comfort suit you and your family. Get someone to sit at the rear seats when you test drive it. Well it is always said the ride comfort is sacrificed for better handling. I didn't test it much because in day to day driving, there is no need for me to fast cornering etc. The next small annoyance is mirror view. The two head rests and the rear seat actualy block a lot of your mirror view. I believe that is the reason why KM remove the head rest from their test cars. Do test drive it with head rests to get a feel of it. The A pillar is much thicker than normal cars. You may need some time to get used to it. The Jazz's CVT auto-gear is a bit different also from normal auto gearbox also. I felt that sometime there is more engine braking. I am not sure when it come, I drove on D mode and slowing down for traffic light and suddenly engine braking starts and slows the car down more. A lot of review mention that the electric power steering gives poor "steering feel". However, I find it ok for me. I don't feel much difference, except this: when you make a big turn (eg 90 degree turn) at slow speed, after the turn, the steering wheel doesn't straighten back, you need to manual turn it back. This only happen at slow speed when I drive in car park, at higher speed it feel the same as other cars. This is some annoyance that I felt. Other than that, Jazz is a great car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched March 24, 2005 Share March 24, 2005 i know... what i mean is 1339cc should be classify as 1.3 rather than 1.4 eg. 1108cc to be 1.1 1298cc to be 1.3 1341cc to be 1.3 1468cc to be 1.5 1587cc to be 1.6 round off the nearest.......... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...