Standard of a shining silver car?

Mhb9

I am driving a silver car. No matter how I polish/wax, it dun seem to be shining [sweatdrop] . Is it really difficult to shine a silver car than a dark colour car? If possible,what's the standard of a shining silver car?

Thanks in advance [:p]

nothing wrong about that lah. light colour cars are indeed not so easy to shine... it's not that the car is not shining, is just that the shine is not so obvious. nod.gif

yeah..the color is already bright..so how much u polish oso wun be brighter le...

all u hafta to do is to clear all water marks...clean the car...polish it to make the paint gloss..and it looks nice le [thumbsup]

however, profesional help can solve ur problem...but it onli last for a while....

the gloss of those polishing professional is the one doing the job....as soon as the gloss gets off...it becomes back to normal...

Edited by Ahdi

Hi Tien,

Hmm.... seem you need to send ur ride to GLARE.

I am driving a Silver car too. Previously, I was driving a red car and DIY my polishing and waxing. Well after 3 washes++, the shine gone!

After Glaring my current ride, even after 18 months (GLARE warranty for 18 months), the shine still good. Dun take my word for it, ask them to do a demo and see it for yourself.

If you're staying in the west, check out Airvershine pte ltd, a Glare franchisee which is located @ unity centre, tel 65151970.

bro, I am driving a silver car too. If you are talking about mirror shine like those in black car or dark coloured rides, then no matter

what polish/grooming you do also cannot be like that. It's simply not meant to be that way for silver cars. I glared my car liao also the same, shiny yes, but not mirror shine.

IMHO for metallic / white / light colored cars, its hard to get that deep wet look.

U could instead try layering yr sealants and or waxes to get more protection and a shinier, more reflective surface.

Black can be deep n shine like crazy but hey its alot harder to maintain then silver. SO there u go!

Just my 2 cents.

thanks

yap..I mean.. mirror shine that shows reflection.

no wonder do 5 layers of wax also look like washing with car shampoo.. [sweatdrop]

thanks.. agree that silver is easy to maintain.. bo wash also look clean [thumbsup]

Btw, have u come across liquid sealant?

i dunno how liquid u mean by "liquid"

Tons of sealants around with different viscosity, and surface tension,

Some of the more common ones used by the guys here w good results are

1. Autoglym Extra Gloss

2. Klasse SG

3 Hi Glaze

4. Zaino Z2 pro (must be used with z1 or zfx)

Of the lot i believe Hi glaze is the cheapest. With Z2 pro being the most expensive (+ the need for z1 or zfx)

Some guys like a quality carnu wax as a LSP and deep wet look, but as mentioned, u can save on it since ur ride is silver. Having said that, u can still layer wax on top of yr sealant as a sacrificial layer, to make the sealant "more impregnable" hah!

I used to have a metallic car, and still piled on the wax religiously week after week. At 1 pt i had like 12 coats of carnu over my autoglym extra gloss.

That way ur sealant over yr clear coat will hardly be compromised by the elements.

Just my 2 cents worth.

"""I used to have a metallic car, and still piled on the wax religiously week after week. At 1 pt i had like 12 coats of carnu over my autoglym extra gloss.""""

[jawdrop] siong ah!

Will try out one of your recommendation, Klasse. Had read abt this product from Turbobrick's attachment.

good choice! I have tried Klasse too, still beads very well after 1 mth + with only 3 coats of SG.

Remember with Klasse, more is less and less is more! Dun over apply at any 1 sitting if not it'l be a pain to remove. U may wanna try the wipe on wipe off method too.

Run a search to get more info on it.

Also, If ure using SG as a standalone instead of w the AIO, remember to prep ur surface properly!

Good luck!