Is New BMW 320 overpriced?

Vblaster_w211

Yes, the E46 318 was going for a very low price before the launch of te new 3 series. Clearing stock then, but I guess maybe limited colors?

Heard the new 320 is about $150K, whereas the old 318 costs $120+ discounted...

Why compare new 320 with old 318? Because the engine is essentially the same 4 pot! The 2.2 smooth 6 is no longer available for 320 unlike the last gen. Got to go for 325 or 330 for smooth 6 action nowadays.

So basically $30K for new body and gadgets...hmmm.... [rolleyes]

the last batch is discounted as the production is killed. and they will try all ways to sell all the leftovers and allow the new cars to come in... inventory will be a headache if the old stock dont go... especially when the margin is so high...

yeah and how mature can you be to brand the E46 320 to be "Under-Powered" on factitious basis.

Next time do more research before coming here and make ludicrous comments about a car.

That is dirt cheap man. Could have bought it now with the CRV price a year ago. I bought my CRV at close to 120K [furious][furious][furious] . I could get the BMW now [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry] . It is my dream car man. sigh sigh sigh [crazy][crazy][crazy]

first, the displacement of the engine in the E46 318 is 1998cc, so I guess badging the new car as a 320 instead is more accurate than the previous classification...

next, i've tried the 2.2L I6 before and I can say that the 4 cyc 2.0L valvetronic compares very favourably with the former.

also, i haven't heard of any plans for an E90 318. the future valvetronic inline engine range will consist of the 4 cyc 2.0L and the 6 cyc 3.0L only; a "neutered" version of the 3.0L will soon replace the current 2.5L M54 engine(as opposed to designing a brand new valvetronic 2.5L engine). if anyone has heard otherwise, please share...

lastly, i wouldn't say that its over-priced, but i will say that it is expensive, and I think that's the way it should be. Call me a snob, but i don't want to pay for a premium brand only to drive into a HDB carpark and be greeted by more BMWs than toyotas... Only 1.5 years ago, there used to be only 4 or 5 E46s in the carpark i park at in NUS, now, numbers have swelled to almost 20 in that carpark alone, all thanks to the promo price...

i bought my e46 318 for $175K in 1999....and bought the e60 520 for $190k in 2004....cannot compare lah! just imagine the prices back in 1999.

Sigh.... guys... you know wad spell you all are under anot... the typical singaporean syndrome!!!! compare and compare and compare.... Relax relax!! dun get so heat up!!!

I believe BMW320i is a lover and supporter of BMW judging by your nick? [:)] and Brandon is a car lover like many of us...

Sincerely speaking i feel that you shouldn't say that kind of harsh words to Brandon. It's his choice of choosing and comtemplating between wad vehicle he's gonna get. Even if he decides not to get 1 in the end, it's still his choice and i believe we have to respect it for wadever reason he has.

The new E90 platform is nice, but sincerely speaking i believe the car was designed "for the sake of a new generation 3 series"

They should name the 3 series "Small", 5 series "Medium" and the 7 series "Large".

But the 1 series... on the other hand, is something hard not to notice one the road... which i wonder why it's not brought in.

Jon

lastly, i wouldn't say that its over-priced, but i will say that it is expensive, and I think that's the way it should be. Call me a snob, but i don't want to pay for a premium brand only to drive into a HDB carpark and be greeted by more BMWs than toyotas... Only 1.5 years ago, there used to be only 4 or 5 E46s in the carpark i park at in NUS, now, numbers have swelled to almost 20 in that carpark alone, all thanks to the promo price...

While I largely agree with you, I can't identify with the snob appeal, hence willing to pay sky high prices.

I would rather the markup be lower, and then we can buy "more car" for the same amount of money. "Snob" appeal, if we put it that way, is maintained by getting an AMG or E500 over the usual E200K then for the same amount of $, using Merc as an example.

Edited by Vblaster_w211

Well said, Jonnybravo. It's good to see differing views, but I thought for a while, the words were getting a bit harsh on both sides.

I thought the BMW 1 will be coming in later? I'm also wondering if C&C will be bringing in the new A and B for Mercs as well. Looks like end of year might be interesting for car enthusiasts. I also heard that the new Volkswagen Passat will be in early 2006 as well. Also, C Class might be in for a new design in 06/07. [thumbsup]

Heard the new 320 is about $150K, whereas the old 318 costs $120+ discounted...

Really? Must go down to Performance....then go down to IKEA for meatballs

Edited by Spikey

wasted....looking for a 318....320 is way out of budget. Currently looking at a 9/02 318 that is going for only $88k - the new 320 easily took off $10k from all the 2nd hand 318s

i believe its just a matter of BMW wanting to STREAMLINE their production & model range for the "new" 3-series - thereby offering only 3 engine configurations in their new line-up. Probably frm a marketing POV its also much more cost effective and indeed less of a fuss or confusion for "tech-unsavvy" consumers in tat sense.

Despite the 320 model being a four pot, i believe all the engine blocks on the new 320/325/330 are made frm lightweight magnesium alloys?

in any case, frm my perspective its clear tat 99% of consumers who purchase a BMW is mainly bcos of the brand image - IMHO no arguments abt it - case in point is tat i dun see brand new designs of LV handbags being launched at "affordable" prices... AND yet i see hoards of ladies & some gents queuing up for them like it costs 10cents... furthermore i do not think LV quality is far beyond other "cheaper" brands of handbags to justify the exhorbitant prices.

So the same applies to mid level LUXURY/PRESTIGE makes lik BMW.. AND i might add, we cannot fault BMW or any othr luxury brand for it... its ppl lik us & society on the whole who in the 1st place make them wat they are... [rolleyes][;)][gossip]

Top Gear (whom i believe is quite biased against BMW) while reviewing the BMW X3 summed it up nicely by implying tat BMW owners will buy ANY CAR tat BMW makes - no matter how bad it is... food for thought maybe?? [laugh]

P.S: REMEMBER EVERY marque has its CRAP model...and its SUCCESFUL model (think: A-Class, M-class, BMW compact etc)... so not targeting BMW in particular... but the brand image of owning one sure makes up for it - doesnt it?? [sweatdrop][sly][laugh]

Edited by Tron

you can check out BMW club, i think there a owner that know how to Parallel import the cars in , usually can save alot,

you getting higher specs cars at equal or even lower pricing...

Very nice write up. But I don't think this is applicable to me. I believe you would've thought that I was being bias toward BMWs through previous conversation but that isn't the case.

And no, people should not purchase a BMW for its brand. If thats the case, your probably looking to get laid. That, I have nothing to say... [rolleyes]

What I was concern though was the fact that someone claimed the E46 320 was underpowered considering its 2.2L I6 powerplant. It may not be powerful (170bhp/210Nm) as compared to the world of Performance car category but the performance is definitely on par with its size and category. Bottom line, its a "Family Sedan". I mean seriously ? If I were to make comparison with other makes in the "Family Sedan Category", everyone is gonna come in and complain about displacement differences, weight, etc. Hence I don't consider a family sedan that does 9.3 seconds from 0-100 as "Underpowered".

With regards to the E90 series, I believe most would had favoured the predecessor 320 for its I6 engine but changing to a 4 bangers for the E90s would've disappointed a few people including myself. Despite output reduction from 170 to 150bhp [:|] , BMW compensated the price with onboard equipment like GPS, active safety system etc to justify the price tag. As to whether the E90 320 is overpriced ? perhaps. But its a new model. [rolleyes] If really need be, I would treat the E90 320 as the E46 318 and E90 325 as the E46 320 based on price.

Besides, if one is not happy with the price, they can always seek alternatives from other makes. I mean seriously, if brand is what a person is looking for, why not purchase a ferrari emblem and stick it on a car ? [rolleyes]

And yes JC from Top gear is a clown. That fella brought a Jag Diesel to Nurburgring and complained about drivability and performance.

Edited by BMW320i

Off Topic a little...

hey did you guys know that Lexus comes with vibrating seats... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] hahahahaha.... imagine the extra "Comfort" you get when doing something "extra" behind [inlove] ... WAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAA.... Oops!!! sorry... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

They really do the Relentless Persuit of Perfection sia... hahahaha

Jon