Catdontmeow Neutral Newbie March 13, 2005 Share March 13, 2005 hi, great to find lots of info in this forum. right now, i need advice/opinion between Nissan Sunny & Optra5 (hatchback). How's the spareparts for Chevrolet, izzit expensive and have to wait for quite some time? Optra5 is on the high side in terms of pricing but design wins over Sunny. pls kindly advice, thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacarith Neutral Newbie March 13, 2005 Share March 13, 2005 hallo...welcome to MCF... anyway was like u and torn between sunny and optra but i chose the sunny in the end...mainly due to objection by my dad...would have chosen optra if not bcos of him...but i must say the pts he brought up were quite valid lah... 1) nissan made in japan, optra in thailand -> resale value shd be higher for nissan 2) nissan well established, optra just came back to spore 2 yrs back -> spare parts easier to obtain for sunny 3) FC abt the same 4) price abt the same 5) interior wise optra superior...beige in color with 'wood grains'...thats if comparing to sunny ex 6) exterior wise...abt the same...but the facelift version of sunny may be a little bit better... anyway there are several other factors but i cant rem...heheh....all in all...if u plan to drive this present car for a few yrs then sell off think nissan would be a better bet...in the meantime can let chevy establish itself mah...rite? my 2 cents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerd_on_wheels Neutral Newbie March 13, 2005 Share March 13, 2005 Chevy has a roomy advantage :) Best is drive both car and let your feeling decide for you. ITs a long term affair with cars these days. For both car, the only resale I can see is paper value. Buy something you truely like, its like getting a wife. Personnally, I prefer the look and feel of optra5. But nissan is more proven on the road, are you risk taker ? There is a reason for soo many japanese car on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 If you want continental car feel and handling, go for Optra. If price is a serious consideration, and you want the reliability of the good old Jap, go for Sunny. For me, I would choose Sunny based on price alone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycat Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 I testdrive a lot of cars (toyota Vios, Honda City, Proton Gen 2, and Diahatsu YRV) before settling on the Optra. I feel that as a driving experience, Optra feels comfortable, steady and safe. Others may have more power, or better interior, or better FC, or more features, but end of the day, I am driving the car, not admiring it. Yes, the car is made in Thialand, have poor FC, not much features, but makes me feel good when I am driving it. The better half and kids also like the comfortable ride, so end of the day, you have to decide which is more important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Room430 Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 Late last year I switched from Sunny to the Optra sedan! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 (edited) Made in Japan - Sunny Higher OMV - Sunny Better engine (CVTC, Nissan-speak for VVTi) - Sunny More solid and heavy doors / bonnet lid - Sunny More established dealer workshop support - Sunny p.s. I do not own/drive any Nissan car. Edited March 14, 2005 by Astrid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 go for the sunny if you prefer value over design. go for optra if you like design over value. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catdontmeow Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Author Share March 14, 2005 thanks bro, great info and advice given. think main concern will be the support/spare parts for Optra, heard that it's expensive. haiz tough choice, design will be Optra else Sunny (jap made).... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catdontmeow Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Author Share March 14, 2005 hi Room430, what's yr reason of changing to Optra. care to share yr opinion. thks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 have u inspect & test drived both cars? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 more solid doors on the sunny? Bro...have you tested both cars before? I tested both. To me, Sunny is an Uncle car. Many uncle loves it.....and that tells you a lot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Papercup Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 Before the current Optra, I was driving a Sunny SS. Strange that you say Sunny got a more solid and heavy door. I always find Sunny's doors to be more "flimsy" and close with a slight "plat" sound. The Optra's doors got a more solid feel to it and close with a very solid "thum" sound (just like those continental car). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Golfer Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 Hi, I like Sunny for practical reason like reliability. Cannot afford the time to visit workshop for upgrade, checks, polishing, etc. Washing also got no time thus has to use Tan Chong service centre to clean my car during 1k, 5k and 10k servicing. Very good job indeed for interior and exterior cleaning. Looking forward to free 2 yrs maintenance program or next 40,000km which ever comes first. My car cleaning is once a month or when I cannot tahan anymore. Engine wise, ok i.e >10km per litre. Using Shell 92 now. Last two fill up covers 600 km for 50.24 litres = 11.94 km/litre. Pattern is 50%HW/50% city with 2 different driving style. Maybe due to fully Synthetic oil which was used during 05 Mar 10k km servicing. Prior to this, they use mineral oil which my FC is 10.8 km/litre. Interior wise, ok. Comfortable and not noisy. A bit narrow as compared to the B14. Price wise. good. Got it in Nov with multiCD, fog light, fender light, sport rim, reverse sensor, leather, remote, alarm, V-cool at $63.3k @COE $23k Don't intend to upgrade, modify, beautify, wax, polish etc. A car is a tool and safety is more important then anything else. No problem car is a car for me. If optra get good review from MCFers for the next 1-2 years, I will consider if the price is right. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catdontmeow Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Author Share March 14, 2005 tested on the Sunny, wanted to test drive Optra but was too late, managed to talk to the SE. I felt that Optra doors r much solid n heavy compared to Sunny (own opinion). does airbag a issue to u all? Sunny-1 airbag Optra-2 airbag Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takanori Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 Ur dad prefer Sunny coz it's a Ah Pek or uncle car mah. Sunny is common since way I was born so older ppl tend to b more conservative n chose the more common 1. Sunny design, regardless interior or exterior, dun appeal me at all. Still remain antique styling. If u wanna style ur car, no matter how u do, still luk insporty or worst still, disgusting which I seen a few on the rd. Imagine u put STI Spoiler on sunny? Sori if I hurt sunny owner here, Juz my personal opinion. Current Nissan which I lyk is the latest Latio bah, nice interior n spacious but exterior still no my kind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 (edited) Let's put it this way, the sunny isn't design with rice in mind. so no matter how u in sg also cannot be sporty. If u need to portray the trendy, i drive a ricey car, image. then sunny is a no no. But if u heck care what others think of what car u drive and is looking for value. the plain sunny will be the choice. But i rather he choose a lancer over the optra. This is one of the nicest style I have seen. Bodykit w/o spoiler, cool rims and decal... [inline blackwidow.jpg] Edited March 14, 2005 by Osiris Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Room430 Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 My reasons for changing from my Sunny to Optra: a) Sunny no power (mine's a 1.6 auto), low end torque weak, very lethargic feeling b) Interior is cramp, especially the rear seats c) Suspension giving problems, don't wanna waste money changing the set. Besides, I don't quite like the suspension, too soft for my liking d) Cut cost cos bought mine when price of Sunny is much higher Optra is much roomier, my family loves it. I like the feel of the drive, very unlike typical jap cars. I like the looks too, both the inside and outside! Also, it's not like the Sunny where it's as numerous as the sand on the beach! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...