I just ordered my new Chevy Aveo 4A...

Brock

Ahhuat,

I can't answer you since I have yet to get my car and drive to for some time. [rolleyes]

I was supposed to get my car today (Tuesday 28 Mar) but was told by my SE that it is better for me to collect it on Thursday 31 Mar instead. Reason being saving the cost on insurance and road tax.

It's been almost close to 3 weeks and I've been keeping myself busy not to think about my first new car...

I have just collected mine on sat and is savouring every moment of it.

I agree with you that the steering and pick up is heavy.

I understand that you must be feeling elated with your first car.. Me too. Esp the moment when your SE pass you the car key..

Haiz... the moment my SE passed me the car key..... i get reminded that the car loan is going to haunt me every month [:/]

Did ur SE calculate to u how it save on the cost on insurance & road tax (isnt the road tax free for 6 mths)??....unless ur birthday is b4 31st Mar & hit another CAT of the insurance premium or u got anther 10% NCB (tats y lower premium) or the government gonna reduce all road tax b4 31st Mar....if not how to save the cost within 3 days of time???

just curious

Edited by Bluewind79

i also getting that day. but given my se a bit lazy, maybe friday. how come will save insurance and road tax after this date ? Suppose to get eariler, but I change insurance to aig, premium is 1832 [:/] with 20% ncd. shiong.

U can manage to not think about your car, i think about it everyday when moments like, especially when i have to squeeze on the bus, especially I have to walk like 15 min to office, when I turn down friend jio at midnight for drink, when I want to go eat something good a bit far off on sunday afternoon, end up at my house hawkar center, when i go back late from work, when I waiting at the bus stop, there is this girl sitting in her boyfriend car, give the crowd at the busstop a look tat say, "ohh, how miserable, waiting for bus" AHHHHHH [furious]

Edited by Nerd_on_wheels

Bluewind79,

I've got no idea. According to my friends, they reckon it has to do with making the SE life easier a bit, no need to file twice for paperwork for Road Tax and Insurance, something like that. I'm a new car owner so I'm not too sure what's going on. Care to enlighten more?

Nerd_on_wheels,

Yeah...I get that feeling too. I just keep myself occupied with PC games loh... I really detest waiting time for buses and squeezing...buay tahan man. Don't even talk about MRTs...

wah ur se good.

my se opposite, rush me to register it before year end but my birthday is just slightly after year end....paid much more for the insurance

think ur SE is just delaying the delivery time.....since u r 1st time owning a car, u dun have any NCB....so there wont be any discount for ur insurance....& if ur birthday is not within these 2 days, u wont have any discount for ur insurance as well. btw, ur SE should check all this when u 1st bought the car and not wait till the moment to collect ur car then tell u.

for road tax, it should be free for the 1st 6 mths....so no diff in cost if u gonna register sooner or later as it will be valid for 6 mths when ur car is registered

...silver plus leather seats. Remote car alarm and reverse sensors. Should be collecting it by end of this month. Test drove it. Steering is a bit heavy and pick up was as reported, needs more power. Otherwise, my wifey pretty pleased with it.

Oh happy happy happy...my first car or should I say, my family's first car! smile.gif

Will upload some shots of my car when I get my hands on it.

welcome to the Clubs. (MCF Club/Chevy Club/Clubbing Club/JBPPWC Club/Kallang tcss Club)

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif 5 in 1....where to find?! HA!! laugh.gif

...silver plus leather seats. Remote car alarm and reverse sensors. Should be collecting it by end of this month. Test drove it. Steering is a bit heavy and pick up was as reported, needs more power. Otherwise, my wifey pretty pleased with it.

Oh happy happy happy...my first car or should I say, my family's first car! [:)]

Will upload some shots of my car when I get my hands on it.

Just to let all MCF-ers know that I've finally collected my Dove Silver Aveo 4D Auto + Leather seats yesterday (Thu 31 Mar). Man...was really nervous with my first ride. Got sandwiched between curb and towed double-deck bus! Thankfully brake in time or else left side crumpled!

Otherwise, the drive is really smooth. Even my fellow friends who drives Lexus, RX-8 and Jazz were pretty impressed with the Aveo's generous space, boot space and the quietness of the engine.

Many thanks to all who have contributed towards firming my decision to get the Aveo. Once I've floated back to Earth and decorated my car abit, I'll post some pics, interior and exterior.

BTW, my plate number is SFT 3xxx.

Bleu,

Will try to, provided I can convince my wife, daughter and my tons of marking of students worksheets and homework. Don't ever be a teacher... [thumbsdown]

yep......shd resign & become a Principal or PE Teacher better.... [nod]

Edited by Ah_veo