Maded Neutral Newbie March 13, 2005 Share March 13, 2005 no worries ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahlim Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 Hi, Can PM the "professional" tuner name? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sheltie2306 Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Author Share March 14, 2005 No lah .. everyone needs to make a living, let him survive or die naturally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Autocraze Neutral Newbie March 17, 2005 Share March 17, 2005 No, it's not It's a full management ecu, with fuel, iginition and boost control. It's needs a laptop, wideband O2 sensor and knock sensor to tune. I second tat ... and a good tuner will know ur existing hardware limitations and recommend u better hardwares for greater performance... it's not as simple as fitting a boost controller and wack hard all the way... ..ultimately, I'll recommend a tuner tat has the driver's safety in mind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear March 18, 2005 Share March 18, 2005 Wah..... speaking from experience eh...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Autocraze Neutral Newbie March 18, 2005 Share March 18, 2005 u hor.. very bad... .. heard of 02 pcs blown engine liao without proper hardwares upgrade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie March 18, 2005 Share March 18, 2005 whose engine ah?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Autocraze Neutral Newbie March 18, 2005 Share March 18, 2005 confirmed not mine.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flex Neutral Newbie March 20, 2005 Share March 20, 2005 bro, do you tune microtech MT4 ECU? pls reply, thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sheltie2306 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2005 Author Share March 20, 2005 Sorry, I don't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie March 20, 2005 Share March 20, 2005 What after market ecu do you have? Some of them can only tune by authorise dealer, because they control the distribution of interfacing software. Anyway, for NA cars, I suggest you drop the idea. The $ per bhp is simply not worth it. The original ecu is already very well optimized. The after market ecu can squeeze out the most another 10%, which is hardly noticeable. Tuning devices that can only be tuned by authorised dealer should be avoided IMO. On the plus side, they give extra security that only those who are authorized can tune the device, but it is not rocket science. These dealers have the tendency to keep information from their clients, such as what is being tuned and have strategies in keeping their product non-transferrable. I think tuning for NA cars is very relevant to those who like to hold down the accelerator pad like drinking water. Especially if you have mods, you can really squeeze extra 5-10hp out of it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 21, 2005 Share March 21, 2005 What after market ecu do you have? Some of them can only tune by authorise dealer, because they control the distribution of interfacing software. Anyway, for NA cars, I suggest you drop the idea. The $ per bhp is simply not worth it. The original ecu is already very well optimized. The after market ecu can squeeze out the most another 10%, which is hardly noticeable. piggy back can squeeze out another 10%-15% from the safety margin from a Impreza TS or not? :) at the cost of 1k round about? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear March 21, 2005 Share March 21, 2005 Wah.... lidat very expensive leh..... ~ $100 per bhp..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie March 25, 2005 Share March 25, 2005 If you have Intake/header/exhaust/exhaust porting mods, using AF and ignition tuning can help squeeze 10-15 hp/tq. 1bhp per $100. Look at it in another way. You spent $1k on your mods to go from eg. 130bhp to 140bhp. Plus tuning, you raise it to 150bhp. The difference here is quite big. The torque increase is something that you'll really feel the difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cychiam Neutral Newbie March 26, 2005 Share March 26, 2005 I am doing for hobby only, not for $$. In fact, ecu tuning is a "generic" thing. The feature and interface of each aftermarket ecu product are different but the principle are all the same. It's just the matter of reading the manual and understand how to operate it. It's the correct understanding of the fundamental of engine tuning that's important. Hi.. I am interested to learn more on tuning piggybacks and ECU, can advise where to start off? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie March 26, 2005 Share March 26, 2005 Hi, I've recently installed E-Manage. I'm still waiting to buy a wide band O2 sensor, so I cannot tune my AF yet. I plan to log AF and just do some WOT runs to redline and then try to keep AF ratio at good level. However, what are the steps to tune ignition timing? Possible to do this on the streets? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear March 26, 2005 Share March 26, 2005 (edited) However, what are the steps to tune ignition timing? Possible to do this on the streets? That is the problem with these ECU intercepts. Ignition timing is cannot be controlled by them. Edited March 26, 2005 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched March 26, 2005 Share March 26, 2005 However, what are the steps to tune ignition timing? Possible to do this on the streets? That is the problem with these ECU intercepts. Ignition timing is cannot be controlled by them.[/reply]........any ECU hacker out there can help?????? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...