VENTUS V8 RS - H424

Safetyfirst

hello safety first,

i know u made this post slightly over a year ago, however, i was jus doing a search on ventus v8, and came across this post. i have had experience with the ventus v8, and i believe after seeing 4 pple whom are close to me change to ventus v8, i can give some feedback

the 4 persons mentioned are my dad, my friend, and 2 other latioclub members.

Dad - Renault Scenic 195/60r15. After changing, much quieter. was previously on Aspec DB

HONDA EK4 - orginally using BF Goodrich 205/45r16. Upon changing to ventus v8, ride immediately felt comfortable, MUCH quieter and pick up improved a tat due to its light weightedness.

Latio - originally using 185/65r15 stock toyo tires. changed to 195/60r15 ventus v8. Once again, no problems in dry and wet grip (my friend is not a hell driver). ride is definitely more comfortable and much quieter.

now the ultimate test. Latio Sedan. Originally using stock 15" rims, 195/60r15 GR80s. Changed to 17" rims, using 215/45r17 ventus v8. OMG!!!! the noise was the same as the 15" GR80s! its only very slightly noisier at higher speeds of 80 and above. but still quiet. My fren's ride compared to my 205/45r17 precedas is way so much better! in terms of road noise, comfort and bumpiness. my precedas lose hands down in almost all aspects!

and! important thing here! precedas are really damn heavy!! my friend's acceleration actually improved after changing the rims and tires! wah sian....

if anyone here don believe me, its ok, its up to u, but ive made a post in the Latio Club forum organising a meet up at Hankook cos i wanna change my tires on the 1st of April.

Hope this helps

Hi Safetyfirst,

I do agree with Carmodz cos I've been using H424 since last year Oct'05. Previously on Aspec dB. I find H424 (size 195/50R15) a rather quiet tyre, not much difference from Aspec dB, even till now (approaching 8,000 km).thumbsup.gif

Grip wise was also good, no matter wet or dry, still performs very well.nod.gif

However, when going over deeper pools of water at higher speed, it tends to skim over the water, thereby giving a strange sensation.sweatdrop.gif Nevertheless it still travels straight, and so far never went off-course.smile.gif

Overall judgement, I'll buy it again provided its selling at the same price which I got it.tongue.giflaugh.gif

Hi Bro,

Need some advise:-

How much lighter are the tires?

A normal tyre weighs about 22lbs.

Previously, price for a 215/45/17 -> S$168

What is the price now & the place to get?

Are the sidewall hard or soft?

hi there,

i did not literally weigh the tires but by mere carrying, it did feel light. I have sent a request to Hankook requesting them to weigh the tires. when i know, u'll know.

however, u said a normal tire weighs 22lbs, my question is, is this a standard benchmark? and for what size?

and when u said previously a 17" tire cost $168, may i know which tire u are referring to? needless to say, different tires and brands all carry a diff price tag.

i will post the net price b4 discount, its $175. but u can be assured of a discount, will be much lower than this price. Maybe u can PM MCF forummer Robertoon to enquire more.

heehee, actually i have say that many of the thread patterns or design is similar. rs-2 similar with ad07, csc2 similar with their S1 Evo, FK451 (kunho, nankang also got similar) etc etc

but i guess whats important is the quality and performance. if its similar but performs well also, and most importantly more cost effective, then i think its worth it:>

correct

but tyre performance is make up of many factors

1) thread design

2) quality of rubber and internal materials

3) type of materials used in rubber

4) and so on

contipremium got nearly 8 lookalikes in the mkt, but do they match up to the original?

u take its kumho and hankook copycats and try lor [laugh]

at most 70%...

end of day i think most ppl just buy cheapest [laugh]

Do they match up to the original?

hee, i also donno. im sure they wont want to spoil their own brand name by producing half baked tires. If Hamann can partner Hankook as the choice of tires for Hamann, i think this means alot liao.

let's say ur right, (be it hankook, kumho or nankang etc)it has only 70% performance of everything contipremium can offer, then i think the realistic thing to ask will be given singapore's traffic and road conditions, is 70% of what contipremium max performance an overkill already?

well, no matter what brand, im sure they have gone thru some kind of testing n certification. personally, i prefer the ventus v8 over my precedas, n its way much more cost effective too! [inlove]

Michelin has shares in Hankook so I'd say Hankook must have some standard lah ! Incidentally, Ford Europe and VW have standardized their cars with Hankook tyres liao. So how bad can it be ?

http://www.eucosof.de/cgi-bin/ihantaeu/rea...umber=42&nnew=2

http://www.hankooktireusa.com/press_view.asp?ID=27

We can see Korean phones are getting more popular now. Korean tyres will also become just as popular. It's just a matter of time.

Any company that can copy from others and improve upon it is definitely worth investigating.

Edited by Darth_mel

HAHA, well said!! missed that avatar of urs siah! bloody goofy and funny!:>

anyway, u were previously on k104 right? shiok or not the grip? but noisy right?

Still using K104 now.

Get used to the noise liao lah but now noisier cos lowered my suspension. [:p]

Grip is good and there is quite a bit of thread left. Hard to find a reason to change.

Edited by Darth_mel

I kinda think that they are priced reasonably ... important thing is that they deliver ... had ventus k104 in my last ride and they were great on both wet and dry ... noise was also reasonable ...

Hi bro,

Thanks for the reply.

however, u said a normal tire weighs 22lbs, my question is, is this a standard benchmark? and for what size?

--->size is 215/45/17. sp sport maxx, bridgestone G3 etc... at 22lbs

and when u said previously a 17" tire cost $168, may i know which tire u are referring to? needless to say, different tires and brands all carry a diff price tag.

--->Previously, when I check out Hankook V8.

Any best recommendation?

i will weigh the tires on 1st April at Hankook itself.

best recommendation? well, wat are u after? performance or comfort? v8 to me is a very good mix. could improve on the grip factor though. but for everyday driving, its more than enough

load index of 91, speed index of W. my precedas is 89V

Dear moomoojeff,

I'm at hankook and have just weighed the Ventus V8 tires [laugh]

205/45r17 weighs in at 7kg (15.4lbs) [crazy]

215/45r17 weighs in at 8kg (17.6lbs) [sly]

This is a good gauge on how much lighter the tire is compared to the 2 tires you've cited (which weighs 22lbs). In terms of unsprung weight, the savings of 2kg per tire will enhance pick up & FC [inlove] ....hope this info helps.

btw, jus to share with u my experience, i tried the bend [PIE(JUR) exiting to toh guan road, exit 30] at 90kmh with a latio sedan using 215/45r17 Ventus V8 [drivingcar] The grip was good [thumbsup] No screeching sound, no signs of understeering, felt very confident in taking the corner at higher speeds [inlove] Noise level was fairly quiet. ride was stable on dry Road conditions wif fair weather [sunny]

In my humble opinion and personal view, it beats my 205/45r17 Precedas hands down [bigcry] Given that im comparing my current 205 instead of 215s, i will use 205/45r17 Ventus V8 on 1st April 2006 to maintain consistency and thereafter revert with a detailed FR after testing the tires.

Any bros/sis here would like to join the LatioClub on the 1st, you are more than welcomed [wave] Meet up starts at 1300hr onwards @ Hankook Tyres. Im driving a White Latio Sports with 17" Enkei CPS2 Rims as shown in my avatar [flowerface]

Cheers!