Kaiserdome 1st Gear March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 Hi guys, me total noob in I.C.E. Been enjoying my new ride for 2 months, now tempted to get myself poisoned My stock HU does not play MP3, so I'm considering adding a 2nd HU which plays MP3 CDs. I also wish to upgrade my audio system i.e changing the front speakers, add subwoofer and amps. Not too sure since I'm not a audiophile, my expectations are simply better clarity and bass. My budget inclusive installation should not exceed 2k. Any recommendations? Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goodspeed Clutched March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 why do u want to buy another HU? anyway u have space for it?? the HU u using now is the stock one right? anyway they are useless... change a New HU and change Speakers... these will start u off.. the rest later then say try it. hmm my 2 cent knowledge tell me that Pionner HU is good, kenwood and pls dont buy SONY.... (it is my tot) anyone care to comment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear March 3, 2005 Author Share March 3, 2005 (edited) Thanks for the prompt reply bro. As a matter of fact my ride has an integrated panel of audio and aircon control. So without touching my stock setup, I thought I might get a 2nd HU to replace the cigarette lighter compartment. Any comments? Edited March 3, 2005 by Kaiserdome Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goodspeed Clutched March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 wowoo u driving exective car is it? sound expensive... well actually if u want mp3 there is a conventer(i hear) so that u can play mp3 on ur ipod onto the car system... abt the compartment at the cig lighter. i not very sure it will fit. must go shop to ask...end of the day is what u want..... they can add 2nd hu for u but then not i believe the only difference is that the HU can play MP3..... sound quality will increase when u change the speaker (which is stock) to a better one. by the way what car u drive??Phatom? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear March 4, 2005 Author Share March 4, 2005 (edited) teeeheee...me driving Mazda3 only nia...the much maligned underpowered I mean audio and audio control panel are together, not integrated...so if i remove the stock HU the panel will look fugly Edited March 4, 2005 by Kaiserdome Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 underpowered but chioest exterior n interior car among the 1600cc hoh ~ anyway some audio installers can fit in a 2nd HU below the cigraette compartment, or they can remove the stock 6 cd changer (not recommended, coz spoils the interior red dashboard look) and install a bracket to fit a new HU alternatively go back to MM, pay $500 for a single CD MP3 player... but you cannot trade in your old one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear March 4, 2005 Author Share March 4, 2005 Thanks for the tip bro. U r beachboy in MCS? Read that u just had a poisonous audio upgrade...hehe can audition? anyway $500 for a mp3 cd player a bit not worth it leh...besides no improvement in sound... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 u in MCS too? wat nick? can audition @ MCS meetups anytime, just dun laugh @ my ICE setup... me ICE noob Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear March 5, 2005 Author Share March 5, 2005 AhKwan in MCS...low profile one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear March 7, 2005 Author Share March 7, 2005 Any more recommendations bros? I'm a total noob so wanted to find out more before heading to SLS and SLT to check out...scare kena chop by ppl there. Btw any installer to recommend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear March 10, 2005 Share March 10, 2005 (edited) not sure whether I'm correct, I'll need to look at a Pre-amp to double confirm this but meanwhile. Your requirement, to have 2 HU at the same time. In order to share the same set of speakers/sub. And not sure whether is there is device that allows you to do so, but if you really wants to... can I suggest the following: Refer to the diagram. speaker.ppt Edited March 10, 2005 by Gadgeter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear March 10, 2005 Author Share March 10, 2005 Thanks for the info Kelvin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear March 10, 2005 Share March 10, 2005 I might be wrong. But you might want to print it out and check with those ICE installer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...