Carb Housing/Box...Whatever U call it???

Diesel

I'm not sure if anyone of u can understand what i'm trying to say in the next following lines, but i'll try my best : [sweatdrop]

I'm driving a 1.3L carb '92 corolla. i removed the stock air filter housing & fitted a short ram (stainless steel) pipe with KNN cone filter. The improvement in throttle response was great [thumbsup] but one major prob: The noise the carb makes when it's "sucking" in air was very loud... [shakehead]

I tried wrapping the pipe with Insuflex, but doesn't help a bit. [shakehead]

I have a frd driving the same car using cone filter too. Only diff was that his cone was fitted to a aluminium (I think) piping and then to a "box" mounted on top of the carb... the box according to him was custom-made. I drove his car and found his setup much quieter than mine.

I attribute the quietness of his carb to the custom-made "box" fitted on top of the carb... since then been trying to find such box but to no avail...

Any one had similar experiences like mine? [confused]

Any other suggestions i can use to reduce the noise??? I really hate to use back the stock air filter housing.... [sly]

i am keen to install short ram + KNN cone filter like yours..... also if your fren lobang can make similar box to cut down sucking noise, it will be great. Can you please advise on the lobang??

Sorry i aksed question instead of giving you answer.... pieseh pieseh ........ [:)]

Edited by Super7

"Sorry i aksed question instead of giving you answer.... pieseh pieseh ........ "

Hahahaha... that's what i tot so too!!! [laugh]

According to my frd, the box was done by the previous owner, so he's got no idea where to custom make one too [confused] .... also, he's not too keen about car mods too... [:|]

What car are u driving? If possible i can lend u the ram pipe & cone & let u have a feel? [;)]

I heard Jeep Chee does custom-made such boxes... haven't got the time to go down for a quote, but i'm quite certain it won't be cheap!!! [:p]

mine is the old school twin carburater Celica (73)..... my sardine can airbox which houses the stock air filter is not giving real good air flow into the carb........ will you be at your shop at Bendemeer say around 6-630pm today???..... i know which block (curved one right?) but number can't really remember......... if i come down, ok??

cheers

No prob [sunny]

Asia Elite Tools

Blk 34 Whampoa West

#01-19A Singapore 330034

(Near Boon Keng MRT)

Phone/Fax: 6293 8278

Gimme a buzz if u r lost... hee 96817657 (Andrew)

Sounds like induction noise. Nice what, why want to reduce? [sly] That 'box' your friend has sounds like a resonator. Maybe Man's Exhaust, Jeep Chee or Fong Kim can help.

Er..........have you found out a way to get more cool air into the engine compartment? If not, your K&N may turn out to be a 'lots-of-noise-but-no-action' thing! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Used to have before involving in an accident last month [:p] Crashed into a Rover in front... lights,bumper, compressor, power steering all PI-CHA [shakehead] NCB kaput [blush] ...

Went to Jeep Chee today, that fella told me dun waste time & money... can try to DIY... saw a few Civics there i guess they too busy to entertain "small jobs" like mine... [thumbsdown]

May go down Man Exhaust see if he has anything.

That box i think does act as a sort of resonator... at least can take away some induction noise when i step on the accelerator...

Spent a couple of hours trying to come up with something to tackle the prob myself... Got the sketch done, at least ppl knows what i'm talking abt when i approach them.

Also bought a box of Danish cookies (those round box).... [sly] Similar to what i want for the box... Diameter anout 7.5" by 2.5" thick....... find the material too soft.... DIY is quite possible i think.... but the material cannot be too soft leh... too hard i got probs cutting also ..... [shakehead]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

U refering to those Aluminium foil issit??? [laugh] Anyway, guess i'll be too lazy to DIY till after X'mas... [:p]