Sandblast

Galactus

Hi All,

i work in a shipyard... and after a while your car will get stuck with the small sand bits from the sandblasting no matter how well you cover it up.

Anyone have any idea how to get rid of this beside sending for professional grooming?

Not only the painwork feels rough, but the window glass also rough rough.... [:|]

Guess that's one of the disadvantages of working in an industrial area.

My friend who used to do sandblasting of ships hulls used to get those bits of metal filings stuck in his hair & sclap no matter how well he tried to cover up.

Try to have your car groomed with a clay bar to remove the roughness & well waxed.

Also try to cover your car with a good quality nylon sheet tied down below the bumper line.

Or just drive a beat-up old car so it dosen't matter anymore.

And to think I grumble when sometimes I have to park in the hot sun, under a tree with the leaves getting into the air vent in front of the windscreen. Gosh, now I realise how lucky I am. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

already tired cover up with car cover....but only minmised the injury lah...

still....the surface rough rough...

Btw, wat is claybar...and where can get? what used?

Try tying the plastic cover tightly around below the car to minimise the grit getting below the cover.

Claybar is something like a bar of plastercine.

U use it to rub over the paint & all those little bits of junk gets stuck in the claybar. U just keep rubbing & folding the bar over & over until it too old then throw away & get a new one.

Some threads on it in here & other forums.

Do a search for it to find out more.

Makes old & rough paint feel smooth again. Might just b what u r looking for.

Sorry can't recommend it as I never used it b4 cos my car is lao pok car, so no need claybar one. (Lucky me [sweatdrop] )

But I see one bro already recommend u one. Many bros here can help so just check out their posts for more info.

Cheers [:)]

already tired cover up with car cover....but only minmised the injury lah...

still....the surface rough rough...

Btw, wat is claybar...and where can get? what used?

Hey... i did try caly bar b4.... initially my friend told me of it and i dun believe...

He tried on my 9 yr old Daewoo which i give up washing as the surface also very rough...

it really smoothen the surface.... and u can see the dirt n scum on the clay bar which u can't see with naked eye

I used to work in a shipyard also n never cover my car at all. Therefore the whole car full of the grits stuck to the car surface.

I use claybar to remove all the grit except the windows. No matter how many times I claybar, although I feel its smooth but once u look from inside the car, u can see little little dots on the windows. Used the Autogylm window polish but still no use.

Anyone else got suggestion???

Just wondering,those car grooming workshop that do sand blast.

Can it eliminate a scratch? (scratch not so deep until can see bare metal.)

Buy car cover. Go to work. Take cover out from car and cover car up. Cheap and good. Maintain shine very long.

Park in nearest MSCP. Buy transitlink card, take bus to work [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Hi All,

i work in a shipyard... and after a while your car will get stuck with the small sand bits from the sandblasting no matter how well you cover it up.

Anyone have any idea how to get rid of this beside sending for professional grooming?

Not only the painwork feels rough, but the window glass also rough rough.... unimpressed.gif

I used to work near Pioneer Sector, even my specs kena while taking lunch!

It was too late for me to recover the damage, I waited for 2.5 yrs & saved up the grooming, when the project over, I resprayed the entire car!

Please be warn that for every grooming on sandblast, they actually removed a thin layer of your clear paint, soon your ride shine will be gone!

For my other luckier colleagues, they have invested in the "PREMIUM" car cover (S$180), their car was saved, i used a (RM$75) which was totally hopeless.

Still, if the damage is not so bad, try getting a VERY GOOD car cover, it does help and its proven.