Pisces69 6th Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 I noticed they recommend to replace spark plugs at 160,000km. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 Recommendations might differ due to location and road infrastructure. 80k might be too late. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 Hyundai apes Mitsubishi so it is a Diaqueen. Some Mitsubishi owners know this and deliberately choose Hyundai to save themselves from exhorbitant Diaqueen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 Yeah. I think u r right. We just take it as a guide only. My handbook says to change ATF when the colour is not pink anymore or if u see it contaminated (metal filings). I guess I wil do a drain & fill at the next (50K km) service & do a complete flush at 60-70K km service. Spark plugs I can change every 20K km if I use the Jap made NGK's. Other plugs I change every 10K km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 I drove a 1989 Hyundai Excel 1.5 auto & it required Dexron? That's why I wonder how come as if the autobox came from Mitsubishi, it sud b using Diaqueen??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Upguy1 Clutched February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 dont anyhow flush....the pressure changes related to pumping and sucking out fluid can potentially damage the seals inside.... do regular drain and fill..and if possible change the ATF filter/gasket if available.. i dont think the car manual states to flush atf right?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 Maybe that time different? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 Maybe that model Hyundai was using an Aisin autobox. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 Might as well don't waste and bring forward the complete flush at 50k. Where do you intend to perform the complete flush? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 Good question. I still haven't found a good place to do it. Last time I did it at KATC but the shop in Woodlands closed & the pple no more there already. I can go to their main ws but not sure if they r good or not. Drain N fill I can do at my old ws. Anyway I still got abt 3qts of RP ATF which I can use up during the drain & fill. After that the next time I wil flush with Toyota Type IV ATF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsman 1st Gear February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 Quote Ditto with engine oil however there is this ongong discussion on how fast depending on the viscosity. Hello....any advise for this Package @ STAMFORD TYRE. My Aveo5 Auto done 78000km & last AFT & Brake Fuild change @ 45000km. The LTA 3rd Year Inspection due this April 2008. It look reasonable @ Loyang Branch. Any comment / Tips to share ? Major Service Package - $228.00 or $278.00 Caltex Formula 3 or Havoline Flush and Bleed Brake fluid Service 4 Wheel Brakes Renew Auto Transmission Fluid Flush and Renew Radiator Coolant Renew Power Steering Fluid Engine Flush or Engine Treatment Renew Spark Plug (standard) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 Wanna got "tikam" on the ATF flushing together??? I'm way overdue for it already..... still haven't got round to deciding whether to do at KATC in SIn Ming or the Stamford Tyres outlet in Tuas..... I've already checked on the Totota T-IV and price is not too ex... probably need 3 tins for a flush..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 wat is tikam.... anyway i jus called RV... they charging 80 for labour with own oils. everything also ganna inflation .... wah no money... 12 litres x $14 --- for oils labour - $80 ... . hai.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 Tikam = try our luck lah..... I used RV before 1.5 years ago. I paid $70 for labour back then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 Try calling Stamford Tires, i have heard from my customers that they are charge around $40-50 bucks for ATF machine flush. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 Quote dont anyhow flush....the pressure changes related to pumping and sucking out fluid can potentially damage the seals inside.... do regular drain and fill..and if possible change the ATF filter/gasket if available.. i dont think the car manual states to flush atf right?? thanks bro for the advice. will change the ATF every 20K for now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 I Called ST liao... they quote mi 130 for ATF flushing... told mi if i need to bring my own mecon V ATF.. he say 4 litres enuff liao... ! my box total is abt 8-9 litres leh... their flush is like drain and top up kinda .. not full flush. :( which i prefer a full flush tot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 What can be achieved by doing a full flush vs a drain/fill for the atf? Sounds like an overkill to me for performing a full flush. Forget about all those things that you want to hear about what is good about a full flush, does it really bring the expected benefits? Have you compared with people who have done drain/fill and yet achieved the same objectives that you wanted? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...