ATF Flush

Laser

19 L of SPIII must have cost you quite a lot. I think 10-12 L will be enough. I have read of a way to completely drain the ATF from the gear box (not the simple remove drain plug method). Forgotten where I read it from. More laborious and probably messy as well. But will save on ATF. Some others prefer to do partial drain at more regular intervals like 15k, then complete flush at higher mileage. I think Amsoil synthetic ATF can replace SPIII. But if your gear is CVT, better stick to recommended ATF.

You got a message.

Yup, I bring my own ATF, better call up first b4 visit can get quite pack at certain times.

IMHO to really get dirty tranny like mine to be clean using machine, you need at least twice or thrice the volume of the owner manual recommendation to get it clean. I am ok as long as it does it purpose and get the tranny clean lor and you see I can't change my ATF filter.

AMSoil, did some read up, seems to me they are almost compatible with everythings. [laugh][laugh] No offence, haven't came across any negatives feedback on AMSoil though. But I Kia Sie so I use what the manual recommend. [sweatdrop]

If you read up some earlier post and other forum link post by genie47, you will realize that Korean car seems to use Mitsubushi auto tranny designs, so only SPIII can be use. If I am not wrong Proton using Mitsubishi tranny design also use SPIII only. Newer Proton may use different tranny design so best is to check the owner manual or manufactuer tech support website. I drive a Hyundai and check mine, SPIII only. The best compatible around should Mitsubitshi Diaqueen SPIII and it is more expensive then the Hydundai Fuilds I got. Hear Proton also have own SPIII Fluids which is blue in colour.

Have been to seminar conduct by KIA and Shell for new car owner. I ask Shell why there isn't any SPIII compatible from Shell. Reason was SPIII formula is propietary from Mitsubitshi, it was not release to other petrol companies, so no compatible around. So I find AMSoil abit risky to use.

I got my ATF change for 200++ though not synthetic, still cheaper than the quote from Hyundai think 900++ and you won't know how they change the fluids as you can't see what they do in the workshop. Some mechanics said it is safer to just drains and fill,, machine pressure may hurt the rings and seals stuff. I prefer to give machine a try and see how it is.

Don't have a CVT engine so don't know what they use. Should stick to what the manufactuer recommend to be on the safe side. Cheers

Komocco charging 900+ for ATF flush? Very funny. They actually used Mobil ATF at one stage. I don't know what they use now.

Edited by Carstyle

Glad to hear u happy with katc. I used to pay $50 for labour. Seems their charges have increased. [:/]

My corona also cannot change filter [confused] . Maybe it's the wire mesh type.

I was quite happy to see the colour of the dirty atf slowly change to bright red. Felt like blood transfusion of an old man to slowly become a young man again. [laugh]

I used about 18 lit of fully synthetic RP atf(dexron III)to get the colour in the 2 tubes about the same. Was much smoother when shifting although I feel the Mobil mineral atf was even better. Never used mobil synthetic due to the cost of abt $16/lit.

I don't really listen to the mechs & follow the recommendations of the owners manual.

The local mechs have an interest to get u to change more often. They make more $$$.

I used to deal with albert but i think he left them. He gave me very good service.

I prefer to flush as opposed to drain & fill as u get almost 100% atf change. If u drain u get about 50% change. That means u have 50% of old worn out atf still inside.

The next drain u still have 25% of the very old atf from the first drain still inside which is not too good, I feel.

Try an experiment. Fill a glass tank with water & put black ink in. Drain half & top up with water. Still black. Do it again. See haw many times u need to drain half b4 the water is clear again. You will b surprised.

Also no matter how many times u drain, u will still have a protion of very very old atf still inside. I dont feel comfortable with that.

The decision is yours. Cost vs an autobox with 100% fresh, clean atf.

I got my ATF change for 200++ though not synthetic, still cheaper than the quote from Hyundai think 900++ and you won't know how they change the fluids as you can't see what they do in the workshop. Some mechanics said it is safer to just drains and fill,, machine pressure may hurt the rings and seals stuff. I prefer to give machine a try and see how it is.

============================

$900 for a flush seems like an obscene amount of money to pay. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I also paid about $200 to have my atf flushed with synthetic dexron III.

My old atf is always pink/red whenever I change it at 20k interval and strainer at 60k ( mileage now >110k). Sounds strange to me that the colour for your old atf is not pink.

I do have a atf cooler and keep an eye on the atf temp in case it overheats.

I did my flush at KATC at 20K and was not to happy with teir service. Apart from being slaughtered at $12 per litre for Castrol mineral ATF (outside bought at $7.50), they did not do any cycling of my auto box. It was just a 100% full drain & fill using their machine and I used 10 litres of ATF.

I just did mine again at 50K mark at Riverview. They did a cycling of about 20 to 30 min . i.e. they let the engine run in neutral while the machine is passing the ATF through the system to clean it up. They used some fresh ATF to do the cycling and in total, I used 15 quarts in all. (My Auto box takes 9.8 quarts). Labour was $70 as I brought my own ATF.

Can't use RP not SPIII leh. Hmmm. Noted your points. Heard alot of good feedback on Mobil 1 Synthetic ATF.

RP best bang for bucks, I guess. Actually I seen the engine oils abt 10 yrs back when it is still not so popular yet. One of the biker actually bring it to LAB and change it into his motorcycle, screaming it is cheapest synthetics oils and known to last. Actually wanna chg it into my trusty RXK, but then not so adventurous. [laugh][laugh]

Will try RP engine oils for my car next servicing to see how it perform. Anyone know where can buy the gold colour bottle Mobil 1 4L going at $50++ along Lor Ah Soo, please message me. Thanks.

Greeting, appreciate if you can write up more on how Riverview do the flushing.

Interested to know how they do it.

eg.

Did they change the filter for you this round?

how was the machine connected to your ride?

What was the fluids type you use ? RP ?

How many litres you brought ? I assume you bring some and they supplied some.

How they handle your ride ?

Hmmm....if it good may try Riverview next flush.

ok ok... think i better get prepared to flush at 60k

Hi, maybe you would like to consider Riverview as Bro Dwoon recommended, since he go to both places and compare liao. Do feedback pls.

My old atf is always pink/red whenever I change it at 20k interval and strainer at 60k ( mileage now >110k). Sounds strange to me that the colour for your old atf is not pink.

I do have a atf cooler and keep an eye on the atf temp in case it overheats.

====================================

Maybe cos I change my atf at about 50 to 60K km intervals.

I also have an atf cooler installed, but I dont have means to monitor the atf temp.

I guess the only way I can check is to monitor the water temp. [:/]

If u wanna try RP, you're a little too late as their prices have gone up.

I now looking for an alternative.

I managed to get a supply of 12 qts RP 10w40 recently from a contact from this forum at a lower price than what mr.bull sells it for but don't know if can still get it from this // importer next time round.

I'll prob use CLTR next time if it's on offer.

ya... can go watch crazy horse front row 4times.... beri obscene...

=======================

I think i wud b a crazy horse to pay $900 for an atf flush. [laugh]

I did my flush at KATC at 20K and was not to happy with teir service. Apart from being slaughtered at $12 per litre for Castrol mineral ATF (outside bought at $7.50), they did not do any cycling of my auto box. It was just a 100% full drain & fill using their machine and I used 10 litres of ATF.

I just did mine again at 50K mark at Riverview. They did a cycling of about 20 to 30 min . i.e. they let the engine run in neutral while the machine is passing the ATF through the system to clean it up. They used some fresh ATF to do the cycling and in total, I used 15 quarts in all. (My Auto box takes 9.8 quarts). Labour was $70 as I brought my own ATF.

============================

Maybe u sud consider bringing your own atf when u do the flush. I usually do that. The in house atf is usually bought at bargain basement prices.

Funny KATC didn't run the engine in "N" when doing the flush?

I did it at several places & they always have to run the engine in "N" while sucking out the old atf & pumping in the new stuff.

If the engine wasn't running, it wasn't a flush. Just a drain & fill that u got.

Maybe they just developed an alternative to doing a flush? [confused]

Can't use RP not SPIII leh. Hmmm. Noted your points. Heard alot of good feedback on Mobil 1 Synthetic ATF.

RP best bang for bucks, I guess. Actually I seen the engine oils abt 10 yrs back when it is still not so popular yet. One of the biker actually bring it to LAB and change it into his motorcycle, screaming it is cheapest synthetics oils and known to last. Actually wanna chg it into my trusty RXK, but then not so adventurous. [laugh][laugh]

Will try RP engine oils for my car next servicing to see how it perform. Anyone know where can buy the gold colour bottle Mobil 1 4L going at $50++ along Lor Ah Soo, please message me. Thanks.

===============================

I think Mobil Fully Synthetic atf is prob the best dexron II around but cost is high. It's made in usa.

I've been using RP for about 6 years now but heard the've been around here for quite some time.

I think they sold mainly to industrial consumers here in the beginning.

If u getting Mobil 1 gold 10w40 for $50, check & make sure it's not some imitation oil.

Only buy from a reputable supplier as your best guarantee it's for real.