ATF Flush

Laser

Can't use RP not SPIII leh.

Checked out Schaeffer's 204SAT yet? They are an all makes ATF. SPIII, DexronIII, Honda ATF-Z1Mercon and Mercon V compatible. A bao shan bao hai ATF. laugh.gif

I hope Pennzoil/Quaker State will bring in theirs cheaply too.

It's different. The water temp rises more quickly than the atf temp, roughly about 3-4 minutes is enough to reach 90 C. Even when the needle shows at fully warmed up, it's only at 80 C.

It takes about 20-25 minutes of driving before I see the atf temp stabilising at about

77-80 degrees.

I'm using the Blitz R-VIT to get readings about the car from the OBD II port.

Maybe cos I change my atf at about 50 to 60K km intervals.

I also have an atf cooler installed, but I dont have means to monitor the atf temp.

I guess the only way I can check is to monitor the water temp. [:/]

It's different. The water temp rises more quickly than the atf temp, roughly about 3-4 minutes is enough to reach 90 C. Even when the needle shows at fully warmed up, it's only at 80 C.

It takes about 20-25 minutes of driving before I see the atf temp stabilising at about

77-80 degrees.

==============================================

What I meant was that since the atf gets cooled by the radiator then atf cooler, if atf gets very hot, my water temp sud go up slightly & I might notice it on the water temp gauge.

===============================

My car not so high tech leh.

Very basic & old car.Don't have so many monitoring devices inside.

My driving mostly done by the seat of my pants. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Greeting, appreciate if you can write up more on how Riverview do the flushing.

Interested to know how they do it.

eg.

Did they change the filter for you this round?

how was the machine connected to your ride?

What was the fluids type you use ? RP ?

How many litres you brought ? I assume you bring some and they supplied some.

How they handle your ride ?

Hmmm....if it good may try Riverview next flush.

I brought my own ATF screw on filter so they replaced it for me.

The machine was connected with the ATF output from car to the input of machine and vice-versa. The car was run in N and allowed to cycle for about 20 to 30 mins. The new ATF was loaded into the machine which shows the qty.

I used Shaeffer #204S-AT.

I brought 2 cartons (24 quarts) which 15 quarts was used for the flush.

Dunno what you mean by handle my ride...... but the checked for leaks after the flush.

KATC did run the engine in N when doing the flush..... just that they did not do any cycling to clean out whatever might be trapped in the auto box.

They just hooked it up to the machine and replaced the ATF. Most of the 2 hours or so was fiddling with the tubing to see which was the connection and to do the connections to the machine, then to fit back after the ATF was replaced. The actual time of the engine/machine doing the fluid replacement was less than 5 minutes.

Pennzoil/Quaker State Multi-Vehicle ATF

Schaeffer 204S-AT All Trans Supreme

Mai lah. My car still under warranty. Tech Spec paper all said confront to SPII & III. Personal perception, I don't like everything also can oils. [laugh] I am more convinced if Pennzoil produce SPIII blend oil only. eg. Like they produce ATF+3 type only fluid.

Dig some out of the Hyundai web.

Use of non-approved automatic transmission fluids:

Only Hyundai SPIII is approved for use in Hyundai vechicles beginning with 1996 model year. Use of aftermaket additives or other types of ATF, such as Chrysler/Mopar ATF-3, Dexron and Mercon, are not approved for use in Hyundai vehicles and affect driveability or damage the transaxle. Damages caused by a non-specified fluid is not cover by your new vehicle limited warranty.

Hyundai SPIII has a red colour when new; however, the ATF may change color to a dark brown after 10,000 to 25,000 miles in service. This change is normal for this type of ATF and does not indicate an internal transaxle condition.

Edited by Wesel

You should ask Komoco Motors about the kind of ATF they use for flushing. At one stage Mobil 220, not even synthetic (personal experience). What do they use now?

Ooohhhh..... 110K km already? U driving this car since new or u bought 2nd hand.

Maybe previous owner already did a flush?

Check your Owners Manual when u supposed to change the atf?

Follow their recommendations & do a flush as your atf sud b very very dirty by now.

Mine needs to change every 60K km But I get it flushed every 50K km.

Flushing removes most of the old atf & replaces with fresh atf.

The drain & fill will usually only get about half changed. This means that half of your atf is useless & the other half has to work twice as hard to do it's job.

BTW what car u driving?

hi bro..thks for ur reply..i bought this car 3yr ago but hv nt done any Atf..i think i will do it..btw hw much itb cost for each atf? thks

Wah..... never do anything for so long ah... [sweatdrop]

I would flush every 50K interval. But at every engine oil change of 10K, I would also do a drain & fill. I'm very Kiasu/Kiasi....

If u average 20K km/year, U sud have done abt 60K km. That means the previous owner may have done a atf change at abt 50 to 60 K km.

I had mine done at KATC with the best results. At that time I brought my own RP synthetic atf(18 Qts) & just paid them $50 for labour. I'm not sure what their conditions r now but 1 bro mentioned they now charge $60 for labour.

U can use their in-house atf, but I don't recommend it as they prob buy it at bargain basement prices & quality is suspect.

I had a flush done ( with their in-house atf) at Stamford tires once & the auto box got spoilt a few months later. I suspect their atf was the cause. The gear change got jerky immediately after the flush.

For cost, it depends on the cost & qty of atf. Labour is a fixed cost.

My RP synthetic Dexron III cost abt $9/Qt. Try to stick to the quality brands like mobil synthetic (which is ex) for a long lasting auto box.

Wow, didn't know KATC charge quite high for labour.

Stamford Tyres labour cheaper at $30 for flushing (BYO fluid).

Just sharing with everyone! Can look for Mohan @ Lok Yang Megamart or Yunos @ Loyang Megamart.

Cheers!