Reliability of Peugeot 307

Jems

Hi all, i like the shape and ride of the peugeot 307 and intend to buy one. However i read on reviews in UK that this car is a lemon, and breaks down easily. Is this true? Any owners to verify, thanks.

those were the early batches...most new batches of whatever makes will have some glitches that needs to be ironed out.

mine's just 3 month's old...so far so good.

enjoying a comfortable ride with reasonable handling. [thumbsup]

Hi all, i like the shape and ride of the peugeot 307 and intend to buy one. However i read on reviews in UK that this car is a lemon, and breaks down easily. Is this true? Any owners to verify, thanks.

Sorry but I beg to differ, Peugeots are not lemons as widely belived in the local context. I had a Peugeot 306, which is much inferior in built quality to the newer range of peugeots like the 206 and 307 and yet the car never fails me, not even the day when I reluctantly drove it to the scrape yard !

Yes, I have small problems here and there with my 306 but again Peugoet's quality has improved by leap and bounds since the 306's and 205's. The 307 is much better built and I am sure it is very close to japanese quality.

Maintenance cost and spare parts prices are also comparable to japanese cars and in some cases it could even be cheaper than jap cars if you know where to get the parts.

I considered the 307 before buying my current ride but the agent reluctance to bring in the manual model swayed the decision towards my current ride. The price at that time was 84,000, which I consider to expensive for a 1.6l hatch. The prices have since fallen to more realistic levels.

BTW, I am driving a japanese car now and is regretting it, it will never handle like a pug. no cars will handle like a pug

[:)][:)]

This article will be able to shed some light on the reliability of the 307.

http://www.forbes.com/home/feeds/afx/2005/...afx2092405.html

If you would like to find out more about the reputation of Peugeot in Europe and to get unadulterated facts and the circumstances of the self-combustible 307, please PM me. I do not want to reveal too much details here. [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Koolaba

i thought italian cars have a reputation til i read abt french cars. still, one has to look at things in perspective and context. the situation may be different in europe where drivers cover longer distances. the only way to judge a car's reliability is certainly not to look at its record for 1, 2 or even 3 years. but to look at cars maybe at least 5 years or more. next, if u go to a local forum page on a french car, theres several pages of issues but stil ppl wana drive them. so i think more imptly, is that issues can be sorted out. but i dun deny the 'peace of mind' in japs but along with this peace comes a sense of boredom. so its up to u whether which is more impt. if u wan absolute fuss free motoring, avoid conti brands.

Just thought i share some insights, i don't own a Peugeot, but has always admired one. A friend of mine drives a 307SW, but after just 37K plus, he had to change his auto gearbox, it left him without a car for almost a week, good thing it was still under warranty, if not he would have forked out a bundle to repair it. He drove it only slightly past 2 years.

FYI.

Through prolonged long distance driving in Europe, the cars cover more mileage within a shorter time span. Assuming the relaiblity of the car is of question, the problems will surface earlier. This gives us a better indication which makes are built to last and which are not.

Consumers purchase a particular brand of car based on many reasons. Some weigh their options on fuel efficiency, some on the design, some on the driving dynamics of the car. From my observation, French cars are able to win buyers because they are trendy, fashionable and offer good driving dynamics.

In the case of the Peugeot 307 which self-ignites, the fundamental problem lies with the robustness and reliability of the electronics used in the car. I am speaking this based on my experience with a company researching and developing automotive power devices and applications for most of the reknowned European makes (excluding French and Italian), some Japanese makes. To be very frank, this is not the first incident that Peugeot has been involved. There are other incidents which revolve around automotive electronics which Peugeot has been plagued with.

I beg to differ that only Japanese makes provide absolute fuss-free motoring. Skoda is one fine example of a continental make which provides fuss-free motoring. This fact is backed by the statistics in the following link.

http://www.reliabilityindex.co.uk/top10.html?apc=311

I Like Peugeot Cars, 206, 307SW, 407, 607. To me they look sleek and make fashion statement from time to time it was first released. I almost wanted a 307SW. But like you, I read quite a number of European quality/reliability/satisfaction surveys. I'm quite sad that 307 consistently ranks among the bottom. As the chinese saying goes "Wu feng bu qi lang" (without wind there is no storm)

While we know European may have certain biase against certain makes and they have different preferences, this is not the case. I mean, this car was the auto journalist favourite that it won COTY - car of the year, certainly nobody in europe is biased against that car.

It certainly warrant a more serious considerations if reliability is main concern.

i own a 307 n have been habing problems with it 6 mths into ownership till now nearly 3 years down, my ride still have problems which AF have not rectified since it was under warranty till now...

Edited by Astroboy

306 is reliable does not mean 307 is. they are different cars. 306 was hugely popular in Europe. It is also much simpler in design compare to the current one which has a lot of electronics. And electronics when faulty can be the most difficult to troubleshoot and rectify.

the most reliable thing is this

kw-ph-type.jpg

does wonders!, dont break down, excellent fuel economy, meets existing euro4(singapore) and euro5(uk) specifications, as well as all future euro standards ,

no need worry abt HID, racing, ppl scratch it, carpark fatimah samans and so on

hey wait a min..if the chain break or tyre punk chek how..fug ...still not reliable

like that ah...use ur own 2 leg and walk lor

but if one day fall down end up in crutches.....

might as well stay home be couch potato....

get morale of story?

[dizzy]

faint,what r u trying to say?

In car forum, the most bo liao people is when a person ask for opinion for a particular car, this bo liao pple will say "the most reliable thing is bicycle,public transport etc"

This type of bo liao pple shldnt come car forum, tio bo? Should go mrt or bus or bicycle forum [laugh]

i am refering to Furrynadz [lipsrsealed]