Linus Clutched February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Any oil is good. Do you know that your Honda engine is spec'd to run 20wt oil? Since you bought the oil already. Use the 15W40 for your 1k change. Then use the 10W30 for the next change (I think it is 5k). Then finally for the 10k oil change, get yourself a 20wt oil. Most easily available is Royal Purple 5W20. Check out Zakuii from this forum. He is using the 5W20. Redz uses the RP 10W30 because he frequently travels up the NSH. Choose your oil carefully for the application you use your car for. Please note that using 15W40 will make your Honda consume a lot of gas. You will have poor FC. Expect it. What Honda are you driving? well said!! yeah ..i'm on 10W30. even after almost reaching 10k usage, i still able to maintain my 11-12km/l om my 1.7L stream . i tot the FC will drop as the mileage is close to 10k....but, hey...it's good. dun feel sluggish too. wanted to try 5W20....but bought 10W30 for my next 30k km servicing sometime this or next week. bro.. ur FC so good ah. think i will switch to city auto for my next svc.. which is 70k. can bring own oil there. then hopefully, my FC can go better than 14... achieve in my stock 14 inch rims n tyres.. now 15 liao. like FC gonna suffer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 ah, genie, genie.... my 323 also wanna change oil leh... now on shell helix ultra on per 10k service. the wt shld be 10W30... wat do u think i shld change ah ? i thot of getting better FC, tho i quite freq NSH... but i dun think i hit 4k RPM at constant periods. i heard from normally aspirated got this brand call chemlube. he said this oil can last for 20k if can take the risk ? wats ur comments on this oil ? coz i think 323 needs 3 litres for changing... seems like this chemlube one not bad... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Sure can last but can your oil filter last until 20k ornot? By 10k, might be clogged already. Tell you what lah, use the 10W30 for 15-16k. That is 10k miles. Very shiok already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Talking about oils, do you know where i could get BP visco 7000? Cheaply of course.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 [LEV for Honda stands for Low End VTEC..... No offence....just a joke only. [/reply] Hey! you want to start a war here??!!!! arghhhhh......... honda bros, time for smoke out!!!......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 hmmm.. then perhaps can invest in chemlube liao.. 3 litres abt $40+.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 bro, what oil you using now? you like it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 BP Visco 7000 is ACEA A3 rated 0W40. See if Forklift brings it in. Maybe can get for 78. The Astra H needs 40wt A3 oil issit? Can use 30wt ornot? If can, use Castrol SLX-A3 0W30. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Not in L but in qt. Chemlube is in qt bottles. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Forklift? What/where is that? It sells for about $85 at Autobacs, so was wondering if i can get it cheaper. Looking for a 0W-40 oil anyway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Forklift Enterprises. Use the search. Address is somewhere in the archives. Do you know that BP owns Castrol and the BP Visco 7000 can be otherwise known as Castrol SLX-A3 0W40 . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Hmm ok. Never heard of that coy.. Yah, i know BP owns Castrol but didnt know its the same as the Castrol SLX Would keep a lookout then...thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 i see, i see.. thanks for clarifying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 (edited) If you like to believe in Malaysia Boleh! I suggest you check out the Petronas Syntium 5000 SM 0W40. See here: http://www.mymesra.com.my/...p;pg=128&ac=2363 API rated SM, ILSAC GF4 but MB 229.1 only. Not cheap at RM198/4L. Edited February 22, 2005 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 So i have to go across the causeway to get it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Yep. Go to your nearest Petronas station. Remember, Syntium 5000 SM 0W40. No other oil in Petronas line of lubes is 0W40. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Probably stick to castrol/bp for the moment.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redz Clutched February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Any oil is good. Do you know that your Honda engine is spec'd to run 20wt oil? Since you bought the oil already. Use the 15W40 for your 1k change. Then use the 10W30 for the next change (I think it is 5k). Then finally for the 10k oil change, get yourself a 20wt oil. Most easily available is Royal Purple 5W20. Check out Zakuii from this forum. He is using the 5W20. Redz uses the RP 10W30 because he frequently travels up the NSH. Choose your oil carefully for the application you use your car for. Please note that using 15W40 will make your Honda consume a lot of gas. You will have poor FC. Expect it. What Honda are you driving? well said!! yeah ..i'm on 10W30. even after almost reaching 10k usage, i still able to maintain my 11-12km/l om my 1.7L stream . i tot the FC will drop as the mileage is close to 10k....but, hey...it's good. dun feel sluggish too. wanted to try 5W20....but bought 10W30 for my next 30k km servicing sometime this or next week. bro.. ur FC so good ah. think i will switch to city auto for my next svc.. which is 70k. can bring own oil there. then hopefully, my FC can go better than 14... achieve in my stock 14 inch rims n tyres.. now 15 liao. like FC gonna suffer. light footed nia... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...