Vtim 3rd Gear February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 Quote I was afraid you gona say that Do we consider muffler a wear and tear item, as in replace the plates/fibre every 3 yr? or replace the entire unit evry 5 yrs? I didn't replace the Remus muffler even though it's getting louder as my Alfa was about due to be scrap in 1 yrs time, so during the last inspection, I just inform the 'uncle' at the inspection center that I'm scrapping the car in 11mths time ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 would you want to buy a Remus than after 3 yrs 'mod' it again I'll do it on stock muffler, not on after market muffler Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 (edited) save money, mah. After 3 yrs, "operate" it & still feel the "rhemus" complex, lah. Stock one not shiok.... Edited February 11, 2005 by Normal_aspirated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 stock one cheaper to mod in the 1st place instead of buying after market ones you know me lar! with 4 now, every single cent counts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 Quote Speaking of experience of an NA Auto , in my case I lost more (low end) than what I gain (high end) using a higher flow after market muffler. However, my kakis on manual rides luv their higher flow. Red line syndrome? You will have much better satisfaction on a Manual tranny Okay if you feel improvement, even though only in high end. that is good. Supposing, instead of the mods, u drive with gusto and revving hard, in auto, slam to floor every opportunity to go, I think you realise the standard form is not far off from the simple mod. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jhoo Neutral Newbie February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 In a way, I couldn't agree more. I could easily got a ticket on the stock exhaust without knowing what speed I'm travelling. With the SS it just simply SOUNDS faster without the need of breaking the law. Ironical? So be it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 i was refering to the old rhemus one used by yer ol' Alfa, mah. should kept it and "operate" it for yer Focus, leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 whilst u may be contemplating this, u will also realize that the purpose of this cathylst convertor/ muffler is to reduce pollutants from car exhaust to enter into the environment. if u look into the rear of white cars which r "operated", more often than not, u will find a yellow stain indicating the presence of acrolein. http://www.scorecard.org/chemical-profiles...nce_id=107-02-8 http://www.epa.gov/ttn/atw/hlthef/acrolein.html you should be "made aware" that this is one of the substances which will be checked routinely in any case, SAF rules still apply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 Quote local can do for $130 - $150 any exhaust shop can price is quite fix an is asimple job just take out ur stock muffler and start to cut and take out those unwanted pipe and weld back a straight flow and weld back , for me to save time i just change to a straight flow exhaust muffler cheaper than the mod still i got my stock muffler at my garage . consider . so how much does a straight flow exhaust muffler cost? where can do? what are the effects of a straight flow exhaust muffler? paisay paisay... lot of question.. all at 1 time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 that one cannot lar! it's was a free flowing universal mid silencer that I use as a muffler Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superchevy 1st Gear February 12, 2005 Share February 12, 2005 straight flow is $120 hotbits sound level is about 80db which is still ok LTA standard is 85 and above fail. i do it at Man exhaust sin ming the effect not much difference only the sound is better unless u take out the cat converter . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched February 12, 2005 Share February 12, 2005 i have a bullet cat which i'm comtemplating whether or not to fix. will the sound be louder ? around how much increase in horsey will i get ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgguy Neutral Newbie March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 hi i drive gen2 i change header n muff operation they charge mi $2oo.header i bring myself so eemin go jb do more cheap sg wah lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esky Neutral Newbie March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 To get the best compromise, it's time to get an Apex'i Active Tail Silencer with variable backpressure! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 this reminds me of the Supertrapps exhaust system for my ex Harley-Davidson, The are all stainless steel construction, and are fully tunable for a power/sound by adding or removing diffuser discs that are inside the exhaust canisters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esky Neutral Newbie March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 Oh yeah, I remember seeing those products, but for cars: Removing discs decreases the exhaust opening and increases backpressure. This effectively decreases the powerband to create more low-end torque. It also decreases exhaust tone and enriches carburetion. Adding discs increases the exhaust outlet and decreases back pressure. This widens the powerband at the top end. It also increases exhaust tone and leans out carburetion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 yap, they also have it for cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jhoo Neutral Newbie March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 LTA fiendly? I'm havin a LTA approved muffler. Would reallly like to know how much and where to get them, got lobang? pm me, thanks. Good to get one if they are transferable to the next car.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...