Crank engine while idling

Torquelover

Yap, I am already a ford car club member. Just wondering what happen to the ford fourm. Seems like the URL is no longer valid. Wondering what happened?

haha happen to me once when i just got my ride. was waiting for wife also at night very quiet. windows were down but just couldn't hear the engine running so crank it again.

Jus saw an SFR 4XXX series Mazda 3 doing this too. Really feel heartpain for him. The father went to start his engine while his son was behind him. With the engine started, the father went to the rear of his car to dust his carpet. The 5 year old son then help him to re crank the engine. Then came the sound of 'EEEEEEE'. [bigcry]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

Stupid me. I left my engine idling when I was waiting for my wife last night. Unaware that the engine is idling, I crank it again. A high pitch noise came from the engine, similar to the sound of metal scratching again each other. shakehead.gif Wondering what harm I have done to my ride? Do I need to bring it in for a checkup? If there is anything wrong, how can I tell?

as wat the others said, shud not be a problem...

However, my ride does NOT permit me to crank again...must be some electronic blocker thingy....the key jus wun turn to Position 2 if engine is runningthumbsup.gif...Else siao liao...wifey always sure re-crank car againlaugh.giflaugh.gif

I just did that twice. Tot my car engine died liao. Den after cranking e second time unsuccessful den i realised.

Seriously will it damage aniting?

Dam heart pain leh...

I thought my engine died den i cranked.

BUt it didnt die. I dam heart pain. IS there ani device that can prevent us from cranking when engine is idling?

It is ok , in fact the starter pinion gear is designed to turn only one way as as driver. Once is being driven ( when the engine fire up), the gear will be "Kick" back to home position.