Torquelover Neutral Newbie February 3, 2005 Share February 3, 2005 Stupid me. I left my engine idling when I was waiting for my wife last night. Unaware that the engine is idling, I crank it again. A high pitch noise came from the engine, similar to the sound of metal scratching again each other. Wondering what harm I have done to my ride? Do I need to bring it in for a checkup? If there is anything wrong, how can I tell? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odin Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 Happen to me too. Many Times It apparently did not do any harm. No problems resulting from that for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 (edited) once a while is ok....but don't do it everytime...the situation is like those pull start engine...you pull to start...after start already...you pull again...what will happen ? The high pitch sound is probably from the starter...think since the engine is running at higher rpm...so i think the engine have force the starter to run too fast thus resulting in the sound....any expert want to clarify on this ??? Edited February 4, 2005 by Seaweed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DonDon 1st Gear February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 Bro, Ur car either veri veri new or super quite. Happened to me oso on initially getting my ride last year. Nothing happened since, but veri veri the heart pain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Torquelover Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Author Share February 4, 2005 I am driving a focus lah. Not that quiet. Anyway I was day dreaming lah. Woke up only upon hearing the high pitch sound. Major heart pain man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 yea.. happens to me too.. sad to say.. quite alot of times.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DonDon 1st Gear February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 Yeah, I know the feeling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 Stupid me. I left my engine idling when I was waiting for my wife last night. Unaware that the engine is idling, I crank it again. A high pitch noise came from the engine, similar to the sound of metal scratching again each other. Wondering what harm I have done to my ride? Do I need to bring it in for a checkup? If there is anything wrong, how can I tell? ====================== Don't worry about it. I don't think any serious damage done, only the sound quite scary. The starter will disengage when engine rumming so just the gears rubbed against each other. Don't worry, those gears damm solid one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 this kinda thing always happen when u dun realise the engine is idling. the starter motor has the overrunning clutch which will prevent the starter motor from overspeeding. the starter motor cannot run faster than the flywheel (err...i think its flywheel) eg. starter motor at 700rpm, flywheel at 1000rpm the starter motor will not go faster than the flywheel, therefore the overrunning clutch will protect the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 the starter motor has the overrunning clutch which will prevent the starter motor from overspeeding. the starter motor cannot run faster than the flywheel (err...i think its flywheel) =========================== The starter motor gear will engage with the gears on the flywheel when you turn the key to start the crank. Unless the mechanism is faulty, the starter motor sud disengage when the flywheel reaches a certain speed. This is to protect the starter motor from burning out. I read of a case where the starter motor was continusly engaged with the flywheel & the starter was damaged in a short while. So, if everything was as it sud b, no damage was done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taz415 Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 haha no worries bro, dun think anything wrong la. I did that couple of times, both in my instructor's car and my own i think. No biggie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 ahh yes yes...it protects the starter motor...haha... sorry my bad...not the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stingerquek Clutched February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 Wa,can't imagine wat colour your instructor's face turn to when you did it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged February 5, 2005 Share February 5, 2005 Stupid me. I left my engine idling when I was waiting for my wife last night. Unaware that the engine is idling, I crank it again. A high pitch noise came from the engine, similar to the sound of metal scratching again each other. Wondering what harm I have done to my ride? Do I need to bring it in for a checkup? If there is anything wrong, how can I tell? Should be OK if not done frequently. If it happens a lot, worst-case scenario is your flywheel gigi breaks off and you need to have the flywheel gear ring replaced (lots of labour involved). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahliew Neutral Newbie February 5, 2005 Share February 5, 2005 (edited) face green green mine too when i did it once on my ride Edited February 5, 2005 by Ahliew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stingerquek Clutched February 5, 2005 Share February 5, 2005 Expected his face turn green la He charged you $20~30/hr only and in return,you like want to buy his car like that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear February 5, 2005 Share February 5, 2005 Stupid me. I left my engine idling when I was waiting for my wife last night. Unaware that the engine is idling, I crank it again. A high pitch noise came from the engine, similar to the sound of metal scratching again each other. Wondering what harm I have done to my ride? Do I need to bring it in for a checkup? If there is anything wrong, how can I tell? shouldn't be a problem, just as long as you don't do it very often have you sign up at Ford Club Sg ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...