Diamond2006 1st Gear January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 Hi bros, I am still running on Stock rim+tyres: 175/70/14. Thinking of changing to 195/55/15. I have my choice to use michelin preceda. Now with sunny 1.5A, should I change rim, from 14" to 15"? Is Kyowa a good choice? Have two main corcerns : Kyowa may not durable/or warp; afraid of my babe cannot take 195/55/15; Any advise/contributions??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 Hi, a +1 upgrade to 15" is just fine ......... how about 16" ?? he he he I am also looking @ kyowa rims, they are from Taiwan and ther are quite light Some forumers here also using Kyowa rims ........ To calculate which tyre size is appropriate ( Overall diameter +/- 10mm) go to http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html Go to pxx xxxg or H tyres to see see look look Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear January 27, 2005 Author Share January 27, 2005 16"....cannot. Either I get down push the car or I drive leftmost lane at all times.... Yeah thinking of going pxx xxxg see see look look too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nismo Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 Im using kyowa rims... hmm. can say its light and seems strong for a taiwan rim.. + they come in quite alot of choices... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taz415 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 Anyone got experiences with Kyowa? Can share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gbhfdl Neutral Newbie January 28, 2005 Share January 28, 2005 I'm also thinking of getting the Kyowa racing rims (16"). Understand the weight is around 6kg..pretty light compares to rims like SSW (not forged ones) that are around 7-8kg for 16" rim. Also interest to find out if durable? Can anyone tell me the official Kyowa website. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cityship2005 Neutral Newbie January 28, 2005 Share January 28, 2005 Mr friend also brought taiwan light weight wheels and the wheels crack after just 2month. Dun know what brand from taiwan. Now he change to other brand witht he material heavier for safety. Next time buy light weight wheels betetr check the alloy composition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear January 28, 2005 Author Share January 28, 2005 Any idea wat brand is that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 28, 2005 Share January 28, 2005 I ran over a pothole quite in front of the Caltex station at JB checkpoint with Kyowa Racing rim. Very loud bang heard. Damaged the front right rim. It was warped but I think the circumference is still good as the tire didn't leak air. Ran around in it for a week, then rotated the damaged rim to the back. Drove 300+ km to Kuala Rompin and lived. Came back to JB and had the rim repaired. Got it back and reinstalled. Tough critters these rims are. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear January 28, 2005 Share January 28, 2005 have tried quite a few rims (superleg, TE37, CE28NF replicas, etc) from both Kyowa and RM which r amongst the most popular taiwan brands here. no probs encountered except for once when 1 rim could not be balanced. the balancing was off by more than 70 and the rim was found to be warped (even though it was brand new) shop changed the rim and prob was solved. most cast rims will warp if u knock into a kerb or pothole. cracking is rather rare unless the impact is really great. in comparison, forged rims have a tendency to crack rather than warp upon impact Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear January 29, 2005 Author Share January 29, 2005 Great cannot wait anymore now..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear January 30, 2005 Share January 30, 2005 (edited) go for it. taiwan rims are value for money and the best is you can have your favourite jap brand design at a fraction of the price... slightly OT, have heard a few tyre shops complained that genuine CE28, TE37 and other expensive makes are not selling as well as b4 bcos replicas are so easily available. some replicas even come with Volk Racing sticker... Edited January 30, 2005 by Jamesgetz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetyfirst Clutched February 1, 2005 Share February 1, 2005 Where did U get the rim How much Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 1, 2005 Share February 1, 2005 go yahoo auction lah, got feller selling 2nd hand + firestone wheels, for $600 bucks. i think is cheap.. too bad cannot fit my car, otherwise i grab liaoz. it's beri pretty rim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetyfirst Clutched February 1, 2005 Share February 1, 2005 I am very particular with Tyres & Rims. Yr life depends on them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 1, 2005 Share February 1, 2005 aiya... when one's number is up, it is up lah. anyway, tat rim is 2 tone, if kena scratched, beri easy to see n difficult to cover up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear February 1, 2005 Author Share February 1, 2005 Got mine: kyowa 12spokes + preceda 195/55/15 last weekend... Damage: S$820/= Do you think it is a GOOD buy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 1, 2005 Share February 1, 2005 wow where u got it? how much for just the rim alone? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...