UNHAPPY CHEVY OWNER PLEASE FALL IN!

Ferris

Hi all...

I would like to gather all Chevrolet owners to drop in their name, car model and remark for their unhappiness...

I'm meeting the General Manager of Starsauto on the coming Monday (31st January 2005, 2.30pm) to bang table!!!

I hope to receive support from here and get them to do something for the brothers & sisters here. I'm now even consider to sue them and make them lost their dealership if they are getting too much!!!

When we have a long list, media coverage will be the next cheaper alternative. They always love juicy stories.

1) Ferris - Viviant - Over heating, Fuel gauge malfunction, poor techincal knowledge, poor after sales services, etc.

Edited by Ferris

I'm now even consider to sue them and make them lost their dealership if they are getting too much!!!

If that really happened, then won't every chevy owner be rather mad at you cos now everyone is stuck with a car without a dealer? [sweatdrop]

But of cos, that is unlikely to happen. Calm down dude! [nod]

Well, for the price and the fact that its a Daewoo engine afterall, think there will inevitably be some problems like those .. but poor aftersales ... datz unforgivable [shakehead]

Err... its GM engine, produced by Holden, Aus. that is for optra.

I got few problems too..

1)speedometer, rpm (solved)

2)fuel gauage (unsolved)

3)fornt panel lose (solved)

4)spongy brakes (live with it)

5)Blown air-con blower fuse x 2 (solved)

6)Poor FC (hahaha.. how to solve)

All in all, i think Optra/Vivant still quite new in the market.. think bad QC before they roll it out.. but still waiting they acan slove every problem that comes up...

Still happy with the car.. except the FC

You may want to share with us your problem with SA.

As for other Chevy owners. You may want to list down your unhappiness, eg. poor after-sales service, frequent visit to workshops due to faulty parts (minor or major), etc.

Sometimes it's good to make the dealer realise that there are Chevy group around who will make a stand if thing goes wrong with SA. The dealer may be more careful and give better service for MCF members.

But to sue them or get the media involves is too extreme (from the limited info you give us). Ultra bad media coverage for bad SA services is okay, but if it involves car reliabilty issue is bad. Will affect whatever re-sale value there is to drop further (if that's still possible)

Edited by Silver_blade

To: Silver_blade

You are right.... going to the media is the last thing to do..

To: Ferris

Try to have a Win-win situation. If repairing is not the solution, get them to change it. but I understand the pain of going down to the workshop again and again. In such a situation, come out with a suggestion to ease your pain. example: Courtesy car etc.

Dear Ferris,

I am sorry that you are upset about your car.....

I must say i do not own Chevrolet and I do not work with Star auto, but rather I own a handme down a skoda car from my dad (For the record I am working as a offshore bank VP.)

Many time when I try to look at things in an another view and post my 2 cents view, I am sad to say so many times I ended up with people thinking that I work for CA. So I hope no 1 mis-take me working for star auto....b'cos of this posting I made. (you may check my past posting and you know what I mean.)

My dad got the Skoda car from the 1st dealer JTA motors. well its good car but small problems have and there, you know.... power window lifter, a/c not cold... noisy brakes, hard to start in the morrning.... stalling when driving....and the list go on and on..... but we choose to live and let live...... Take note the live and let live here do not mean we live with the problems but rather we work hand in hand with the dealer with the problems.... it was 1st JTA motors and then it is Czech auto now.....

Dear Ferris.... Cars in singapore only last for 10 years and we do not live forever..... banging table is 1 of the ways to gets things done but it is not the best way..... b'cos most of the time if some 1 scream at me.... my system just shut down or went offline..... er.... I pray the after sales GM of the Star auto is a man, b'cos most woman will do the shutdown thing I mentioned here if scream upon....

Going to the press is cool for them infact it's FOC news coverage for them..... Look at what happen in hong kong (DBS saga) and the "honest mistake" of singtel..... they all came out big in papers and life still go on for them....

It takes 2 hands to clap to get things done......If you try clap their hands by bringing them to the news or bang their table..... I think that hand you wanted to clap will be hidding in some pockets rather working hand in hand to solve your car problems. talk to the Aftersales GM ask him to see into the problem and help you with them, I think they will rather have you as a happy owner than angey 1.

Every 1 get up on the wrong side of the bed sometime... you had your and they had theirs.... I hope while you get what you want there be no "collateral damage" meaning no 1 is "being sacrifice".

Thank you and regards I wish you many years of dafe and happy motoring with starauto.

Edited by Karen

thumbsup.gif Lengthy, but agree.

Like the walk a mile thingy, but not been exercising lately. lipsrsealed.gif (wify complain over & again)

Apparently, Aveo & Optra owners had constantly blown away with their hiccups as shown through the amount of interaction to their ride, but second to the FC, mostly quite satisfied.rolleyes.gif

Ferris happened to be the 3rd Vivant owner I did came across blowing it off the roof. The 1st was during my 1K service at SA svc ctr, that owner oso said wanted to sue and neber hear abt it since. 2nd was during my 5K, where a couple @ SA svc ctr had sh*t load of furious.gif abt their Vivant and nothing heard of thereafter.

Just turned the papers over the weekend and found oni Vivant for resale on the classified, no Aveo nor Optra.shocked.gif

Had the Vivant been left out of MCF? Wat is wrong with this model that had not truly been shared?confused.gif

I reckon Ferris & other Vivant owner get to share their pain and joy, then meet with SA to further this. gossip.gif

BTW, keep hands in pocket.wave.gif

bro,

good move from ur side but think have to cool down a bit, cause in the end problems have to be solve. not not to quarrel. [sweatdrop]

1) Ferris - Viviant - Over heating, Fuel gauge malfunction, poor techincal knowledge, poor after sales services, etc.

Zacer Black Aveo HB( reported at Ubi)

2)poor technical knowledge

Car alarm no Sound, Went 3TIMES include change the hole set of alarm!

warrantly expires 20k/1yr, [thumbsdown]

no choice go outside workshop, just change alarm horn, problem solved.spend $25 [bigcry]

Zacer, seek advise on Car Alarm on my ride. Optra Black (A).confused.gif

Please forgive my ignorance, but got alarm meh?shocked.gif How to test? Neber hear my car alarm B4 though.

Last time at SA svc ctr, manually opening the doors by using my original key (w/o pressing unlock button), the SA tech boys say that will not trigger the alarm leh.blush.gif Oni went force open door, then alarm sound.

Tech Boys: Ai try mei rolleyes.gif

DonDon: Siao issitfurious.gif(so until now alarm still virgin)

wat i mean is no sound only the signal lights keep blinking...

regardless press unlock button or trigger alarm. [furious]

press 2 button ( i oso try)

thats what i told the scv manager, 1 day my car kanna stolen oso dunno i ask him how? he [sweatdrop]

I remember one bro susgest this way to try.

1)wind down your windwo.

2)close all doors and lock car with remote.

3)open door frominside thru opened window.

Alarm should sound then..

I sympathise with you. My opinion is to "slow" talk with them but yet firm. I was one of those very 1st optra batch owners. I encountered numerouse problems and wasted much time going in and out of SA workshop. It is good to highlight to SA the power of cyber way.....news (good and bad) gets around pretty fast.

or try sitting in the car, engine off and arm the alarm system. If you manually unlock the door and open, siren will go off.

Also, arm alarm with one door open. After short delay siren should go off as well.

If you see hazard lights but no alarm, your siren may be faulty...

Orr just press the panic button lor! [laugh][laugh]

Dear DonDon

Thanks for the update on what happen. (and on keeping my hands in my own pocket.... [:p] )

All I wanted to say is every 1 is making a living so... what comes around.... goes around.... no car is problem free (even my oldman's car from hong seh)

well, what can I say.....?

I wish you many years of safe and happy motoring ahead

thumbsup.gif BTW, Happy Chinese New Year to all u beautiful people.sunny.gif

Thks to Zacer, Kopikao & Optra5154 to all the advice on alarm. Shld U c some guys locking himself in an Optra, U know who.laugh.gif

Kopikao, r U MATA? shocked.gif

Was at a hawker ctr recently, flooded with Ah-Lau having Kopi with newspaper in hand. One moment, the order taker shouted "KOPI KAO", c Ah-Lau & bookies flocking away. angel.gif

Kopi-boy kena F by boss.furious.gif

Now I know why remote control was improve for sunny.

[i also tested Optra-twice, not a bad car but too new in the mkt to own. Once Stabilize, good car to consider]

Previous Sunny before the FL remote has 2 buttons. Lock or Open.

Now, 4 buttons. Lock, Open, Trigger Alarm and flashing lights.

With the new Remote design, Alarm can also be tested.

I also realize if I did not close my door properly and remote lock my car, the alarm will sound. Hope this helps.

Regards,