Piggyback for VW 1.8T engine ?

Sheltie2306

Thanks for the suggestion [thumbsup]

I might consider it when my next servicing is due. Anyway I had seen some of those chip for sale in the VAG forum and its quite tempting.

Well, by all means DIY, for me personally I don't like to get my hands dirty... I'd rather pay to watch someone else dirty himself [;)]

Discount upgrades are applicable locally as well, if you know who to go to [;)]

3rd Gear

One chip in USA price at around 350USD. Here, it's more than S$1K. The agent here tell me it's corporate policy coz they have volume in the States. [thumbsdown] oh well ...

3rd Gear
[lipsrsealed] There is definitely a price discrepancy in US and here for most if not all brands. If u can find any agent selling for less than S$600 new, let me know. [:)]

So what brand are you talking about? [;)] I know DBR is about US600 with free upgrades

[;)]

Cheapest I know of is only Neuspeed [:p] The rest seem about average [;)]

Edited by Lightspeed

Many options for you, can try Revo trial and see if you like the added power...

If you decide to chip up, suggest you look around with the folks at the Vag forum, there should be some used chips going for under 500 bucks [;)]

U guys are realli helpful & steady...i always find it interesting that one guy ask a question, whole world starts to "CHIP" in n help ..get digress but the person who kick start the thread sikali boh chap liow..no offence..but I'm just finding it... [dizzy] i mean not jus this thread but on others as well.

anyway, REVO is BRUTAL!

3rd Gear

That's US DBR pricing right? If applicable in SG, PM me the dealer contact can? [thumbsup] Interested to try them out if they have trial. [laugh]

Passatworld is having a group buy in the States for stage 1 speedtuning chip for US$175 only. Normal price is still US$250 only. Imagine that. [sly] Others like Upsolute and wett can be gotten for USD300+ also there at Uncle Sam, with occasional promo that bring the price even lower.

3rd Gear

ya hor, it's supposed to be about piggyback, not customed chips. [laugh] But since no one seems to know anything abt piggyback for VW, we talk abt the next best alternative lor. [laugh]

There are a few guys using DBR... can ask around... they're lurking somewhere in here...

Some have dabbled in Wett and MTM as well [sly]

and another guy will most probably Upsolute his ride I guess... but it's all hush hush... I'm already speaking too much [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

3rd Gear

Actually din try alot lah. Researched alot though. But if got free trial, take lah... [:p]

Don't need to try so much .... just 1 will do [:p]

I'm quite happy with mine... so no pt trying others when it's gonna cost again and again with more or less the same level of performance [;)]

3rd Gear

Yap, agreed if u r happy with it, no pt trying around. Good for u. [thumbsup]

But chips r mass produced, the timing and fueling maps stored inside dont take into acct your mods and local envt, so sometimes chip doesn't perform as expected, then backside start to itch. [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Falc

This one asking for friend, can't answer that. Anyway, he had put in Upsolute chip, and seems very good.

No, this one asking for friend. By the way, my rex very innocent one [:)]

Kena road block at night, the TP don't even want to talk to me, just wave me off.