Andrewkb Neutral Newbie November 18, 2002 Share November 18, 2002 My current Stream had bonnet rubber lining all round.... so much so that it's relatively "tight" when the bonnet is closed. However, my previous Sunny doesn't have it... I realised that after a 10min 120km/h drive, I open the bonnet of my Sunny, the engine bay is COOL, e.g. battery, air box, etc ! Probably due to cold air going into the bonnet via the gaps between the bonnet and the chasis. However, the Stream, after the same 10min 120km/h drive, the engine is HOT !!! VERY VERY HOT all round ! Tempted to remove the rubber lining ... anyone did it before ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 18, 2002 Share November 18, 2002 Andrew, Me can't advice on this.. Impreza don't have lining too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie November 18, 2002 Author Share November 18, 2002 So, safe to remove lah Anyway, Sunny dun come with it .. gotta buy seperately ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 18, 2002 Share November 18, 2002 The rubber lining is probably used for noise reduction (from wind) and also for water proofing.....check before U remove. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie November 18, 2002 Author Share November 18, 2002 Err ... if check with Kah Motor, they sure say dun remove one rite ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 18, 2002 Share November 18, 2002 Alamak check with Honda forum lah.....lemme understand again, it's the lining around the entire bonnet area circumference right? My brick had that and it's mainly for water proofing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 18, 2002 Share November 18, 2002 If I am not wrong, your stream engine is tune lean for power as well as economy....so heat is natural....dun worry about it lah.....as for the rubber, it helps to prevent water from going into the engine bay....for your sunny....maybe the under bonnet has those shapes that prevents water from getting in ?? Hence they dun need the rubber ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie November 18, 2002 Share November 18, 2002 Tempted to remove the rubber lining ... anyone did it before ? Must take alook whether car body got alley for the lining, some just paste on car body w/o screw. Take alook for reference http://www.fordmondeo.org/mods_doorguard.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie November 18, 2002 Author Share November 18, 2002 No no .. not the door, it's under the bonnet ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...