Toyota Corolla 1.3XL

Stevegring

Now... to me.. about all dealers are the same.... no matter where they are from.. katong... jalan sultan... ubi.....

they simply wan to make a living by quoting buyers ridiculous prices to fill up their pockets. Of course there are

still honest ones but those are really minority... frown.gif

I am only voicing out my opinion, not directing my comments on anyone... or anyone in particular...

Pls pardon me.... i am sure a lot of ppl out there share the same sentiment as me..... no

choice... an example is wat stevegring had said.. his experience at Jalan sultan.... and for goodness sake... even

a person who dun have good knowledge and experience in 2nd hand car market like me will know that selling at

12.8k is ridiculous.. will dealer sell at this price? crazy.gif

<> rifle.gifrifle.gifwhip.gifwhip.gif

Sorry bro. Don't mean to scare u but just want u to b more careful. They had lotsa time to perfect their tricks.

For them, it's survival. Life or death for them if they CMI, they bankrupt.

Maybe u just have to do more checking on the selling price for the model you're looking for. Ask them for the cash price (no loan) if u wanna buy.

Then more easy to compare prices.

Then look around for the best deal for a loan you are comfortable with.

FYI, it's always easier to take the loan from the dealer who sells u the car but still compare it with what u can get elsewhere. If the difference is too much, u decide the price of convenience.

It's quite difficult to go into detail here, but quote intrest of 2% pa. can be effective rate of abt 5% pa. If u add all the extras they charge, u might be actually paying close to 8% pa. easily. Sometimes even more.

So not so cheap after all considering banks only give u abt 1% interest for your savings.

Looks like u got a good deal on your car.

Depreciation of $2.8K/year is good.

Maybe u can recommend this dealer to Gantan88?

BTW, how's the condition of you car? For that price U can still "do it up" like new paint (if not done by dealer), change sports rims/tires, V-Kool, shocks & such if they are worn & still have enough for a short holiday in MY. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

The car sud b able to last the 6 years without much problems & u can drive in comfort & safety too.

Yup, $2.8l/yr is good man... Stevegring has already told me his dealer already, at commonwealth one laugh.gif

Still doing my calculation before going down. If i am really buying, probably will take a 5 years loan... at an

'effective' interest rate dead.gif of say 4.25% i shld be able to breakeven by the 3.5 to 4th year of driving.... man..

that is long... blush.gif and road tax should be 140% of the normal amount already isnt it? as car is in its 4th year....

Yah man. give the car a new dress for the new year laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif, and give it some accessories to match the new dress too nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif the car if going to follow u thru 6 years, worth it isnt it? thumbsup.gif

Stevegring can u post yr G6 here so that we can see? so far i can only recognise a G7... the pic posted earlier is too small ah haha Posted Image

Remember to check the car carefully. Preferabally start when engine is cold to note any problems when u first start car ( go early in morning).

Most important is : Engine, Autobox, body, interior/power windows, shocks, tires/rims & accessories.

Also don't forget to check for water leaks (body & engine), oil leaks, accident damage,rust, general condition ( how the car was looked after by previous owners), chassis & engine serial nos., outstanding summons in SG & MY,power windows, hi-fi,A/C,steering, handling, noise levels, spare tire, tools, owners handbook, meters & dials working properly.

Good luck & maybe post here when u get your "new" ride.

Cheers & good luck.

hello there, i didnt know there will be sum1 driving e same car as mi... i tot i'm e oni 1 wif a 91 rolla...my coe expiring in 2011 oso...

i change my wheels, dampers, a/c compressor le...

as 4 octopus u got it at 34k during aug......wah mine bought at dec03 28k...tats a huge diff huh...

i do my own servicing usng the oil genie recommended...delo 400...well i plan to use a lighter oil after my 3x 5000...better FC i hope...but my pickup still sucks...haiz...

Hi Vin2212,

What's your comment on Delo 400? I assume you get it in Malayasia as its not available in Singapore? Any reason why you choose Delo 400 instead of Delvac MX (available locally)? Thanks.

ya loh like wat genie say, its cheaper and i frequent JB oso mahz so no harm buying there lohz... anyway i changing my car le...book a sunny last week...waiting for arrival now...

No lah..not in commonwealth. It's in Lorong Kurau! Give me your email address and I will send you his details to you thru email, k? By the way, before I came to collect my car, he suggested to me to respray my whole car for only 200. It was 3 coating leh..not bad right. I can show you my car's photo in the mail.

Huh? dizzy.gif oops .. must be another lobang, got mixed up... crazy.gif my email is [email protected] nod.gif

Spraying for 200? How isit possible? The dealer did it at abt 800 ... how can it be so cheap? rolleyes.gif and wat u mean by 3 coating?

And yes, show me yr car photo laugh.gif

Wow... no easy job sweatdrop.gif must find someone to go with me liao... sweatdrop.gif

maybe going down to ubi wif colleague on Friday to racky racky first nod.gif thanks pisces69, yr advice will be helpful.

thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Wow. Respray whole car same colour ( I presume?) for only $200.

I think dealers pay only $600 but they quote me $800 as they say $600 only for dealer.

I told them I only do for $600. Otherwise I use the $600 to bring my family for big seafood dinner 5 times. [laugh][laugh][laugh] .

Will check with the paint shop after CNY when he got no biz & all his men sit down play pac-kau.

I think he just might bring his price down then. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

You're welcome.

Now u know roughly what to look out for, time for your practical lessons to start.

Never show too keen. Ask few questions then when he quote price, lose interest and walk away. [laugh]

Learn to play games with them too.

If they desprate enough, time to bargain like mad. Make it clear u can walk away anytime.

Then show got some interest but not desprate. Bring classified with you & circle other cars to see.

When he see u got other cars in mind, he have to give a little, otherwise this big fish swim away.

But don't go for the TOO CHEAP cars as there might b something wrong with them, unless u very expert in checking for problems.

Three Four years back dealer quote me 1000, 800 is dealer price only.... thumbsdown.gif anyway i rather standby the money for future maintainence and repair rather than spend on new paint hahaha laugh.gif more worth while isnt it? can also pay for one year road tax leh laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Yup, agreed.

As my car got only 4 years to go, not so necessary to spray swee swee.

As long it runs well & looks ok after a wash & occasional wax, i'm satisfied.

I think the re-spray price has fallen due to lack of biz & more competition.

I asked a couple of paint shops and mostly $800 for same colour. When I ask for $600 dealer's price, they quite reluctant & ask me to bring my car down for them to check condition first.

If one day i really itchy & nothing better to do, i just might bring car down & bargain for $600 +-. [laugh]