Stevegring Neutral Newbie February 14, 2005 Author Share February 14, 2005 U noe..I gathered from a Malaysian friend of mine that it will only cost me RM500 if I do it at the other side of the bridge leh. That means it is only abt S$220! Dun noe whether is it worth the trip there..I guess I will also get my absorbers done to make it more worth the trip. But scare of land . Must prepare big hammer for that. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 Well... in my opinion... u can get alot of things done cheaper jus across the bridge :) but if u were to go there alone, likely u will get . SO better u go with someone else who is experienced over there If yr car belongs to older model.. maybe not so appealing to them and stand there to see that they do give u new stuff and not some re-con parts... (if u know how to see) I have never done car stuffs across the bridge b4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 Thank you for the info, so $50 ~ $60 for all four doors including labour costs? The last time I've changed my timing belt, the package included all those items you've mentioned plus engine cover gasket, a short pipe and hose at the water pump suction. Total 'damage' including labour costs comes to $340. Seems like their price about there. As for the shock absorber, Ive replaced all 4 pieces @ $330 (including labour cost). I think the price for front absorber is different from rear absorber, forgot which one is more expensive. Mine is KYB gas filled absorber. I'm not familiar with TYK brand, but I'd recommend gas filled absorber over oil filled absorber. Although its said that gas filled are stiffer (I didn't feel any major difference), but it should last longer than those oil filled ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 Just came back from Yew Tee Workshop. The door seal is abt $50 - $60. My notebook is not with me now. Will tell u the exact figures tonight. I asked the shop how much they are charging for the timing belt replacement. He quoted me $290, which includes the oil seal x 2, bearings x 2, timing belt, air con belt, fan belt and water pump..basically everything that is there. Do you think it is a good deal? Also, for the rear absorbers, one TYK gas filled absorber is abt $70. Good or bad? Pisces and Gantan, U guys may want to feedback on this.. ============================= The door seal is abt $50 per pc, right? If for 4 pcs, damm cheap. For the timing belt, price is OK but ask him to check your water pump at the same time & change if necessary as is all at the same place & u won't have to pay labour charges again when u change the water pump later as they have similar lifespan. With timing belt (plus the other stuff) & w/pump sud b about $300 plus for jap car, as what octopus said. Shocks, don't know TYK brand but safe bet is KYB (OEM) gas or oil shocks ( make sure it's from jap not MY). My car rear is abt $70 for rear & abt $65 for front excl labour which is about $25 per pc to install. So yours sud b slightly less +-. Change the rubber dampers if worn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevegring Neutral Newbie February 14, 2005 Author Share February 14, 2005 (edited) No lah.. How can it be ..Is only for one door seal. I think the rear KYB absorber cost after a bargain to $65. I dont know whether is it bcos my tyre is R14 type, therefore rear tyre tends to touch the top chasis..do u think so? Edited February 14, 2005 by Stevegring Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 every garment agency in singapore is the richest!!! so far, which garment agency says that they are in the red???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 U might find the prices cheaper there but the quality is not as good. Most parts made in MY is of lower quality. I go JB several times a week & don't get my car stuff done there at all. Did a servicing there b4 but saw those mechanics damm blur one, so never again. Same with the wheel alignment. Also not honest at all. I still prefer to pay just a little more here and get good workmanship & quality parts. Remember, your car is not cheap, so invest a little goes a long way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevegring Neutral Newbie February 14, 2005 Author Share February 14, 2005 My friend introduce a workshop there for its excellent workmanship and professionalism. I will make it a point that my MY friend goes with me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 Yup.. it is all the unecessary layers that makes owning a car so expensive lar... imagine the transfer fee alone is already abt $800+/-... damm.... they simply do some paper works and transfer the name only mah... where the need for $800 right?? Plus all the erp charges and all.... No wonder people say LTA is one of the richest agency in Singapore.. ========================= Singapore economy is like "Kueh Lapis". Got so many layers to go tru & every layer is $$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 For your car, 14" sud b OK??? Maybe u can try a slightly lower profile tire next time if it touch the wheel well just a little now. Or maybe the rubber damper needs to b changed when u change the shocks. Ask the mechanic to check for u. He sud b able to tell when looking at it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 OK good. Make sure your fren is there & u also see what & how they do the stuff. If they blur & all tools damaged or not working properly, I suggest forget the place. If u find them good, let me know as I don't mind trying if good. Price wise, it's a good saving, especially for older cars like ours which don't have high tech stuff which they sure sure cannot handle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 imagine the transfer fee alone is already abt $800+/-... damm.... they simply do some paper works and transfer the name only mah... where the need for $800 right?? Agreed !!! Somemore transfer fees is proportional to paper value !!! What logic is this?? They use different computers or need 2 people to handle if it's a Ferrari ??? Deserved to be Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 Jus wondering if there is thru any medium we can leverage on to make LTA disclose all these $$$ involving procedures.. make sure it is all transparent to the public.... Insurance for different kind of car is reasonable... but transfer fee???? OMG.... Really.. they deserve to be Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 (edited) Someone already wrote to the press in the forum coloum about this. No reasonable answer was given. As usual, the matter just died there. Sometimes we just don't realise that we r being overcharged unless it's highlighted as we r so used to just Pay And Pay. Same like when pple wrote in the forum about the increase on motor ins premiums although the ins big boys said it will come down after they implement the new system of accident reporting & inspection. No more sound after the gave some stupid reply that premiums increased bcos now other costs have gone up. WTF We live here like NATO. Edited February 14, 2005 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear February 15, 2005 Share February 15, 2005 No lah.. How can it be ..Is only for one door seal. I think the rear KYB absorber cost after a bargain to $65. I dont know whether is it bcos my tyre is R14 type, therefore rear tyre tends to touch the top chasis..do u think so? I'm on 15 inch and yet the tyres didn't touch the car chasis even on full load (record stands @ 6 adult people including me as driver). What's the tyre profile you're on? The correct wheel size for G6 on 14 inch should be 185/60/R14. Try pressing down the car's body at all 4 corner, and see if its easy to press down (compare with other car). Also when let go after pressing down, does it moves up and down a few times (3 ~ 4 times)? If easy to press down and it bounce a few times after letting go, probably the shock absorber need replacement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevegring Neutral Newbie February 15, 2005 Author Share February 15, 2005 (edited) Like that ah..Hmm..Mine is 185/65/R14. Dun mind teach me how to read this. I have forgotten how to read it. I tried pressing but it only goes up once. So I think it's still ok if I jus seat 4 person. Dun noe whether is it the tyre hitting the top or the mudplash hit the ground ? Though I saw some abrasion on the mudsplash end, I cannot confirmed whether it was the recent one or the previous owner's mishandling. The confirmed price for the door seal is $58. Edited February 15, 2005 by Stevegring Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevegring Neutral Newbie February 15, 2005 Author Share February 15, 2005 Feel like doing as soon as I can, if not for an event I am organising for my HQ this Friday. Sigh..I think I got to be light pedalled so that the timing belt will not snap abruptly. I will update you once I have finished the repair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 15, 2005 Share February 15, 2005 Try to check inside the engine bay near where the timing belt is. Do u see a sticker with the milage the timing belt was last changed. Most workshops now place a sticker, which comes with a new belt, inside so u know when it's due for a change. Just follow the recommended change interval stated in the owner's manual. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...