Gantan88 Clutched February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 Price should be able to neg ah, just that I am looking at G7, u all flood me with all the choices i blur liao, nearly tempted to buy other makes when xtraun show me the lancer and presea ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevegring Neutral Newbie February 10, 2005 Author Share February 10, 2005 HA ha . U got so many friends trying to get you a car. Really blurred liaoz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 so u r suggesting i go look for him? he will thing it is time for him to make a big killing haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevegring Neutral Newbie February 10, 2005 Author Share February 10, 2005 No lah..be cool man ! Do you have a car presently at hand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 No car at hand thinking whether i should take the plunge a not also depending on the price ... is looking at G7... if i cant find a G7 within my budget maybe i would go for a starlet liao got no choice.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 [reply ================= So are springs and shocks the same? Are u refering to the same thing? [/reply] ============================== Both r different but related to the suspension. Springs seldom change unless they become too soft like previous owner always load car full of pple so springs lose tension. Normally change after >10 years only. Shocks (shoch absorbers) will wear out in a few years normally. Need to change. Abt $300+ for all 4 on most jap cars. Can tell if they r worn when u go over bump & car keeps bouncing for quite abit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 [replyIF i buy it at 20k, i bet the very night he close my deal he will go JB happening liao [/reply] ================================= No need to go JB lah. With that kind of profit, he can have HAPPENING IN SG also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 Ha ! How much yr scrap value? IS yr car the 18444 coe?? The dealer willing to take in at 16k??? Thats good u know? ============================ At that time my COE renewed at $32K plus for 10 year coe. Scrap was about $11K. so add together was cost of $43K plus. He also give me 6 mths r.tax with car. After he do up for abt $2K, his profit still easy $4K +-. My "paper value" is just under $13K now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 so if shock defective, the car will feel bouncy when going over hump with ppl siting at the back right? if spring spoil then wats the symptom? also feel bouncy? will AA inspection able to check this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 Me looking at auto ride and from the pic, that corona cd interior looks terrible.. seeems like everything turn yellowish... ================================ Don't be too quick to dismiss this car. If u don't mind a manual, it looks like quite a good buy, Based on the price & photos only. Maybe get dealer to throw in a new paint job if it's faded. U must go & see & try. If engine & bodywork is good, no major mechanical problems, It's close to what u need, right? The seats are velvet material so the reflection of light makes it look faded. U must b more hardworking. There r many good bargains out there in the 2nd hand market as some dealers r quite desperate to sell. Don't expect to get a brand new car for this price. You will b looking till u retire leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 i guess that time u bought the car is the expensive period and the dealer must have gone happening, drinking and laughing the night through with the 4k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 If springs worn, they lose tension. Just like any kind of spring, very easy to compress. U get a very "soft" ride then. Easy to bottom out over bumps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 Yup I think he go Happy, happy with my $$$ after I buy. But what to do. At that time it was the market rate for coe car all was about $49K. Now is good time to buy if u do not need to trade in. 1st car buy so cheap, how to complain? Coe almost 1/2 of what mine was. I actually thinking of getting 2nd car for my daughter now as prices very low compared to few years back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 I had 2 manual cars before and i think i am going into auto car now... in the recent 2 years i have been driving auto cars (not mine of course) and it is really shiork Till now i still have my eyes on the G7 kind of face lift... and i believe it is impt to get a car which u like because I will be having it for the next 3 to 4 years or so. And yup, gotta to make more effort to go down and take a look, cant judge much from a pic and no lar, i wun be looking for a brand new car with this kind of price.. in fact.. if i am able to get one within my budget, i wun mind not having a new paint or wat.. but tyre mus be new cause it concern my safety Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 Then wat r u waiting for? Or are u waiting to tio toto and 4D and get a brand new car for yr daughter? I envy yr daughter got such a good father Maybe we can source for car together if u really wan to buy get a discount from them, and squeeze them da-da (dry dry) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevegring Neutral Newbie February 10, 2005 Author Share February 10, 2005 Oh mine..I never know that gantan is so mature now. Got daughter liaoz..yet talk like youngster siah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 I've been driving autos for more than 16 yrs now, & just so much easier. Especially in heavy traffic & city driving. But u gotta take care of the autobox, otherwise very ex to repair. Of course u gotta like the car u buy, otherwise everytime u want to go out, will take BMW. B=Bus, M=MRT, W=Walk. Hahaha. If u got the budget, it's good time to buy new, otherwise 2nd hand is also good as prices have fallen too. Tires r only 1 component of safety. There r many more, eg: brakes,steering, lghts, etc. But the most important is of course the :DRIVER. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 10, 2005 Share February 10, 2005 (edited) My daughter passed her driving a few months back, & practice driving whenever she get the time. I know that once she is "steady", the car won't be home much. I'm just getting prepared. Maybe get a good deal for her if I can find one, but let her take responsiblity & make some payments too. Then she learn the cost of owning a car in Sillypore. If I strike toto/4D big one, I get the new car for myself & let my daughter take the old car. . Otherwise if she take the new car, very soon it become older than the old car.(Everywhere dented & scratched) I'm still watching the prices as dealers r trying their best to buy cheap & sell expensive. Once they wake up & offer cars at a reasonable price, I might go in. If we go together then how if we both want the same car??? Dealer sure happy & he make us bid against each other & sell to the highest bidder. Edited February 10, 2005 by Pisces69 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...