Toyota Corolla 1.3XL

Stevegring

Maybe you can tell her about the facts and figures of getting a car now. Preferably tell her that you are getting a car less than $20K and still can last for more than 6 yrs. In that way, she would not be so 'Sim tia' (heartbroken). My father was happy, as he can see his grandson (my sis's son) often with a car. My mum grumbles a bit. She asked me why I never look for my uncle, who is a car mechanic for help. She mentioned to a lot of people including my uncle and my uncle said that I should have bought a new car! Sianz [:|]. He's the boss of the car garage yet he himself bought 10 years old car. [shakehead]

My mum generation thinking: car expensive! take public transport! unsure.gif

U should have approoach yr uncle for help since he is mechanic! then u can get a less or rather much less

problematic car or near perfect car pirate.gif I have the same reason as u for not getting a new car.... nowsaday job

not stable... and a mechanic himself tends to buy a 10 years old car because he know inside out the car and he

can get a cheap and good deal... Last time i know a friend but lose contact liao.. he also a mechanic and he

drives a old civic 3 door, year 89 make i think .. those squarish type.... also modified, lower suspension and all...

can challenge any 1.6 on the road... thats the pattern of car mechanic lor.. buy cheap old car and modified

himself ...

Haiz..I myself was a mechanic as well, but only had a few years of experience repairing army vehicles. So I brought my ex-superior along to view cars..in the end. The vehicle turned out to be acceptable to me. Besides, my uncle is a busy man. How do get him out? He belongs to my mum's sis's husband. So, I am not really close to him.

Sorry sorry [sweatdrop] . Mistaken. He should be on holidays now. Is $600 ok for you?

=========================

No problem as i'm in no hurry.

Anytime after CNY also can.

How did u get to know this dealer?

Brother, have you change the window seal before? I found that the window seal at the interior is torn and causing some wind noise whenever I am driving at the highway. How much does it cost?

I think mine is the mud splash that is the nearest to the ground. I went to check just now and saw some abrasion on the rear mud splash. I will have to go to my workshop and see whether if I need to replace all of them. Maybe I will just change the rear pair. I guess I can fix that myself as the rear is quite easy to change. smile.gif

Is mud splash = mud-guard? That black piece of plastic attached to the wheel well, positioned behind the tyre to prevent sand and dirt from being splash onto the car body?

What's the normal size of the original rim? Maybe it's bcoz the sports rim is bigger, that's why got rubbing sound. rifle.gif

Actually the original tyre for Corolla G6 is 155/80/R13.(Saw this tyre specification on some website.....) This type of tyre no more available. So the next nearest size would be 175/70/R13, 185/60/R14 and 195/50/R15.

Edited by Octopus

Sorry, I have not change the window seal (weatherstrip) before. Mine still OK, and I maintain it using silicon spray to keep it moisturized. If you're interested, I can PM you the contact of the 'workshop' in Yew Tee area which I always go, and you can ask them for a quote?

OK lah. Since u say like that, sud b ok.

I will pm u if i going to look for another car.

laugh.gif Its jus one of the stupid suggestion... really i wonder how will the scenario will be like if we go look for car together... the dealer will probably eyes open big big and give us more freebies and price cuts coz closing 2 deals at one go is very rare nowdaday hahahabounce2.gif

laugh.gif

Pai seh Pai seh tongue.gif .Make u sound so old..Me reaching 30 soon next year..but got gf liaoz..Have to save up money for marriage. That's why buy old car. Can you imagine if I bought a new car, I got to suffer 7 - 10 yrs to pay back my instalment ah sweatdrop.gif. I felt very ' bui da han' whenever my relatives and friends asked me why I never buy new car. Reason is simple. If I take a full loan, I will evenually pay abt 8k to 10k for my interest, although the interest is low @ 2.2%. rifle.gif

fyi... i am near 30 soon too... but haven lar hahaha.....laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Maybe we can check Stevering's dealer one day.

Seems he got a pretty good deal on his corolla. [thumbsup]

Must check with him first if he got something u n i r looking for 1st.

Maybe he can get something worth looking at.