Toyota Corolla 1.3XL

Stevegring

Gantan still not married leh. [cool]

Daughter is mine. [:)]

BTW, did u read my post about getting your dealer to recommend my car for respray at his painter??? Or u purposely act blur. [sleeping]

He get good name as being helpful & also he give more biz to the painter so next time he can get even better price from them. [laugh]

Don't know leh..I only hear some rubbing sound when I am doing a cornering under fully loaded condition. Any advice?

Hi. The rubbing sound probably came from the mud-guard touching the ground, either when cornering with heavy load or going over humps. Replacing the shock absorber would help, unless the humps are too high.

Edited by Octopus

Definitely due to faulty shock absorber cos i had this prob when fully loaded at rear and did a hump move over....straight away tires touched wheelbase of car...

After changing absorber @ 90 bucks each, now no prob liao

For my case, it too is shock absorber problem, but its the contact of mud-guard with the ground. Replaced all 4 absorber @ $330 including labour costs. During absorber replacement, realised that the rubber bushing at the front end of the absorber (the pair in front) are completely gone, probably due to excessive wear and tear. Old absorber were hydraulic oil type and the new ones are gas-filled.

Now full-load is OK, but occassionally those higher that usual humps can still cause the rubbing sound. unsure.gif

That 'workshop' is actually a spare parts shop in Yew Tee area. From outside it looks like a spare parts shop, but there are a few mechanics employed by the shop who can service the car on the spot. I'd guess its good in a way that mosts of the parts are readily available, but they do not have the facility to jack-up the whole car. I'm quite satisfy with their mechanics' workmanship. Last time I use to go to Stamford Tyres to do my regular servicing, but recently switch to this 'workshop' cos its cheaper.

Oh mine..I never know that gantan is so mature now. Got daughter liaoz..yet talk like youngster siah. nod.gif

Stevegring, think u have read wrongly, the person with a daughter is Piesces69, not me laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif I am still single, but not very young also already, basically still young at heart laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Edited by Gantan88

If we go together then how if we both want the same car??? Dealer sure happy & he make us bid against each other & sell to the highest bidder. laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

No lar, I doubt we will go for the same make and model hahaha laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif if dealer make us bid against each other then we boycott his shop laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif and he will pull us back and give a 30% discount smash.gifPosted ImagePosted Image

Pai seh Pai seh [:p] .Make u sound so old..Me reaching 30 soon next year..but got gf liaoz..Have to save up money for marriage. That's why buy old car. Can you imagine if I bought a new car, I got to suffer 7 - 10 yrs to pay back my instalment ah [sweatdrop]. I felt very ' bui da han' whenever my relatives and friends asked me why I never buy new car. Reason is simple. If I take a full loan, I will evenually pay abt 8k to 10k for my interest, although the interest is low @ 2.2%. [rifle]

I think mine is the mud splash that is the nearest to the ground. I went to check just now and saw some abrasion on the rear mud splash. I will have to go to my workshop and see whether if I need to replace all of them. Maybe I will just change the rear pair. I guess I can fix that myself as the rear is quite easy to change. [:)]

But if u wan to save money, u shouldnt have buy a car at all! Public transport in Sg is so convenient. B-M-W mah hahaha.. thumbsup.gif u haven include yr road tax and insurance yet.... road tax can reach a max of 150% of the normal car road tax....... maintainence... servicing... repair.... laugh.gif

Frankly speaking, ask yrself truely, do u really need a car? laugh.gif

I suppose u reply to the wrong person laugh.gif but anyway, the original rim size for most 1.3L to 1.6L cars are 14 inch isnt it? 13 inch are for 1.0L car like swift, picanto ..... nod.gif

U think I don't know meh.. [:p] But bo bian..my parents are getting old, so it's best to have a car to bring them around..especially during CNY. I also need to travel around from camp to camp. But $2.8K was really a dream come true for me. [inlove] So cheap..Last time when I bought a 19 years old toyota corolla DX. The depreciation was $4k+ leh.. [rifle]

Many years back, the car price is of coz different... 4k depreciation for a corolla dx is really very ex....imagine... 19 years old car... seems like the wheels gonna drop up anytime halfway while u r driving...

Yr parent didnt comment on you getting a car? Yesterday i casually mention to my mum i may be getting a car

and she go $($(#^$#@ unsure.gif i told her getting a car partly also because of her, age is catching up so if got a

car to bring them around when needed is better... but she told me NO NEED! save $$$ more impt!!!unsure.gif so

discouraging.... now thinking if i really should get one..... but i am still looking around.....pirate.gif

Edited by Gantan88