AVI user comments welcomed

Nitrogenarian

Greetings to all. Would like to see some comments from AVI users. I was recommended AVI during my search for car audio stuff. However, non of my friends used that brand before. Therefore, I hope AVI users can come forward with their comments and feedback. Thank you thank you! [:)]

One of my friend installed AVI speakers in his car. Not sure which model he is using. But the sound from the speaker is good. Sound coming out from the speakers is very detail and clear [sunny][thumbsup][inlove]

I used the old model AVI LX (Direct) component set, very neutral & detail [thumbsup]. It does not have the fat mid bass that most other brand seem to have (give the impression of more bass) & its high is excellent (very airy & sparkle), again most other brand seem roll off in the highs.

If you appreciate high end type of sound (good tonality, neutral, clarity, transparency), AVI is a very good choice.

[;)]

Using the AVI in my ride.

IMHO....speaker not worth its salt.

Replace my Focal cos they RIP after 7 years of trahsing from me...went to installer and he highly recommend the AVI to replace my Focals....DAMN...bad mistake.

The defination for a speaker that cost around $500 a pair is not there. I could easily find speakers cheaper than that to out perform the AVI.

So LPPL...spend the money already cannot throw it away...now it has been reposition to the rear to act as a fill in speakers. I am back to Focal K2.....no comparsion at all.

think ur hearing std is very high.

If u prefer Focal, I think i are going for high clarity, less mid bass... am I right?

Greetings to all. Would like to see some comments from AVI users. I was recommended AVI during my search for car audio stuff. However, non of my friends used that brand before. Therefore, I hope AVI users can come forward with their comments and feedback. Thank you thank you! [:)]

did u audit this AVI at JM Audio, pricing around $500+-??? Search around, if ur budget is around that, there are many others brands around which are good also [nod][nod][nod]

>>If u prefer Focal, I think i are going for high clarity, less mid bass... am I right?

>>

Focals' i audit before, the mids are pretty impressive [thumbsup]

My standards are high or not very subjective. Just that IMHO, $500 range speaker are plenty....but for the price the AVI are asking for....its not worth it lor.

May I know who install your AVI?

Many times the installers just screwed up the sound, IMO many of the installers here do not know any sxxt about sound [furious] .

I agree with you that AVI is quite a nice speaker if u feed enough power to it......as in 250Wrms minimum as this is a very power hungry speaker.......heard it on the same car on the same amp but bridging and not bridging......sound totally different...very clear, controlled bass(not coloured).......but don't like the vocal if its on 2 way......as the tweeters not nice sounding to my ear......but going 3 way will be nice.........Focal K2P also a nice pair of speakers but I dun like the tweeters........I find them piercing...IMHO....but mid-bass is nice and not so power hungry as AVI

That handsome guy is Mr Ivan. [;)]

Can't remember what amp I was using when you heard it but he should be using a different amp & definately a different HU.

The main factor is the tweeter location. Mine was installed in my car original tweeter location which was firing upwards directly at the windscreen. As a result I get a lot of reflected waves in the high frequency. Ivan's tweeters are installed in a better position.

Its not the installer's fault...cos after 3 months of "wait for it to run in lah" I got fedup and told the installer to dump the damn speaker to the rear as fill in and give me my Focal back.

Some installer do push all the so call recommend stuff....if your installer is consist in using his hardwares, he knows what is good and not what carries a higher profit margin.

AVI are not power hungry...the only power hungry speakers that I have heard of so far is the Dynaudio....anything less than 150w RMS per channel, you can forget about that speaker. For the AVI to dump so much power is a waste of time...if I wanna pump 250RMS into a speaker...no need to think so much liao. DYNAUDIO !!

Dyns were wonderful & they are still quite good.

If you can cough out enough $ for them, the amps & short lifespan, they can really sing. [:)]

Dynaudio are not that expensive (cosidering their performance)..its the amp that drives the bugger cost a bomb !! (off course its just me that I will never entrust the duties of driving the dyns to a korean or taiwan amp)

Dyn can last a fair bit....my friend unit still going strong...5yrs liao.