Visit to Scrapyard

Bleuzone

Thats quite true, however I have been to scrapyards and they welcome visitors to look around. in fact the customer service was quite good! reminded me abit of NTUC where everything is arranged according to parts. But for first timers I suggest u go there with a specific part that you are looking for.

bro...would there be any gearbox to be sold there???....or is it just cosmetic stuff????

Edited by Cyrix

bro...realli....then its cash n carry???....do u think can find a EK4 stock gearbox dere??? wonder how much it cost???...any bros gng scrap yard again????

Hi all,

I'm thinking of making a trip down to the scrapyard to look for parts tomorrow (wed) late morning. Anyone wanna come along too? I've never been to a scrapyard before also, so wondering if there are any experienced ppl who can share some 'SOP'. Dun wanna look blur and kena cheated [sweatdrop]

Those who wanna go along PM me yr contact so I can make arrangements ya! [:)]

=========================

If u got e tel nos, u can even call them in advance to check if they have e parts u want & e price.

So far, i find all of them very helpful. BUT u must know what u want. Don't waste their time with unclear questions on e phone.

I pick up quite alot of parts from them as the price difference compared to a new part is unbelieveable for most parts.

They normally have parts for cars older than 3 years as this is when most Japanese will scrap their cars b4 thier inspection ( like our viacom inspection).

Nowadays they also carry alot of Merc & conti parts as well.

Hi bro, can I know which one did you went to? Seng Tat or Soon Hup?

Wow. [shocked] This thread is 2 years old.

I've been to Seng Tat & a few others which I can't remember the names now.

I checked tru the yellow pages under scrap yards & called those listed to check if they got parts for my car. Took less then an hour to get all the info. [thumbsup]

Some only do for taxi parts & some do lorries only. Best is to call & check 1st then go to those who have the parts u need. Otherwise u waste a lot of time going from one to another. Phone call is easier.

Thanks bro. Yep, managed to dig up this thread after doing a search. Dun wanna start a new thread asking the same thing lah.

These stuff not so lah. Mainly parts from normal cars from japan.

But u can try & call them to check. Sometimes they just might have. Now they got many parts from out local cars that have been scrapped hor.

Looking for the door rubber lining for my Jazz, current one torn liao.

I looked up yellowpages for 'scrapyard' but no such section oready. [:/]

Tink I will go straight to Seng Tat and Soon Hup 2molo since I'm doing a delivery there.

Edited by Fcw75

Maybe u can try under other sections. Auto/motor spare parts & such.

Last time I got many contacts tru the Yellow Pages but can't remember under which section. Checking the phone book & calling is easier then going around looking in your car.

I don't know if they gonna sell the rubber door lining only. Maybe it has to come together with the door, but no harm trying though.

Edited by Pisces69

Went to Seng Tat before bought my current window visor for $40 not the best condition but still happy with it. Wonder do they have clear headlights for my EG Civic.