Raymond_lim Neutral Newbie January 1, 2005 Share January 1, 2005 (edited) anyone knows why when i wait for the yellow colour engine light it wont go off...it is suppose to disappear after 3 to 5 seconds..or it takes a very long time to disappear..anybody knows wat happen?? Edited January 1, 2005 by Raymond_lim ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched January 1, 2005 Share January 1, 2005 Raymond, will you please stop posting the same topics in multiple folders? You did it with your sticker solicitation and now this one. Kindly stop such multiple postings. If everyone follows your example, there would be total chaos. Please, just post in one folder and wait for the replies. Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie January 1, 2005 Share January 1, 2005 maybe ur engine oil is too low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 1, 2005 Share January 1, 2005 that's the check engine light. probably yr O2 sensors are faulty. did u do any mods to yr cat or oil yr k&n lately? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 1, 2005 Share January 1, 2005 mine also doesnt go off. besides O2 sensors, what other causes could there be? thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 2, 2005 Share January 2, 2005 there are many other possibilities. the onli way to know for certain is to hook up to a diagnostic machine but in most cases, the MAF sensors are the main culprit. the exhaust lambda sensors could oso be faulty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear January 2, 2005 Share January 2, 2005 Quote anyone knows why when i wait for the yellow colour engine light it wont go off...it is suppose to disappear after 3 to 5 seconds..or it takes a very long time to disappear..anybody knows wat happen?? raymond, what car are u driving?!?!?!? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Str2 Neutral Newbie January 2, 2005 Share January 2, 2005 Hi Raymond, U hv no choice but to go back to agent to determine the fault. No point trouble-shooting yrself cos time-consuming and wasting money. Also state yr car model and yr so forumers here can help if they know any outside workshop that has the equiptmt and correct software for yr car to run the tests (if u think agent will be expensive). Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymond_lim Neutral Newbie January 2, 2005 Author Share January 2, 2005 thanks alot everyone.i am driving yr 92 ESI..heard from someone from SHC tat my ECU might be faulty too..if it is,wats the price of getting and installing one?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Str2 Neutral Newbie January 2, 2005 Share January 2, 2005 The steps to take: a)take a diagnostic test at KM agent (zero cost) , only pay for whatever need replacement or fixing (hopefully as simple as a broken wire?) b)if ECU gone = more than a $1,000 brand new (second hand can be $500 to $600) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear January 2, 2005 Share January 2, 2005 If you can start and drive off, definalty yr onboard-cpu is ok. What the light is trying to tell you is that somewhere the sensor voltage is not as per default. For 92 Japanese make car, you can try to reset by disconnecting the battery terminal for 30 seconds or more and then reconnect and start - hopefully all is well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymond_lim Neutral Newbie January 3, 2005 Author Share January 3, 2005 had my car tow to the workshop today cos cant start anymore.ECU spoilt,change a 2nd hand one and cost mi about 300..sian man..dunno how long can it last Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 Hi There Raymond, Kindly refrain from posting the same topic in multiple folders. Else, it will be removed without notice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 Quote there are many other possibilities. the onli way to know for certain is to hook up to a diagnostic machine but in most cases, the MAF sensors are the main culprit. the exhaust lambda sensors could oso be faulty. thanks.. i suppose most workshops would have this machine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 unfortunately no. look for a nissan specialist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 okie thanks again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 (edited) no worries. actually, nowadays can buy an OBD upload for PDA (abt $600+). it can help pinpoint the fault and reset the CEL plus read a host of other data. having said that, it's onli helps to tell u where the problem is coming from. u still need a competent mech to find a solution to fix the problem itself. but b4 u go thru the trouble, try unhooking yr batt for abt 15-20mins and reconnect. it'll reset itself and the CEL will usually go off. and if it stays off, it could juz be an intermittent fault the ECU picked up and nothing to worry abt. but if it appears again shortly, confirm car need to see lokler. Edited January 6, 2005 by Soya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 wah so ex.. hehe think see my mech doctor better lah. if i disconnect the battery for 15-20mins, the ECU will be reset right? thanks.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...