Eibach Prokit - Where to buy?

Diesel

Called up a couple of distributors for Tein, only 1 was kind enuff to entertain me, the rest service attitude quite bad [thumbsdown]

Next shipment of S-Tech(medium) coming in mid-Dec, for soft type (which i requested) have to order separately coz they only bring in the medium (due to demand & popularity i guess).

Anyone can enlighten me on the diff between the medium & soft? The soft one should be stiffer than stock right? According to the specs, the spring free length for medium is longer than the soft, how cum huh? [dizzy] I'm going for stiffer than stock without sacrificing too much comfort...

I'm using KYB shocks now, will it affect the life-span of my shocks should i get the soft type?

To compare stiffness of springs have to get the spring rates...hard to tell from the model or brand unless have prior experience [sweatdrop]

Are your KYBs aftermarket gas shocks or stock ones? [;)]

My KYB are after-market ones... KYB "Super" in Red & White box... The Tein supplier kept persuading me to get the medium type (out of convenience on his part when ordering perhaps?), saying the soft ones "cannot make it", have to drive like Ah Pek [laugh] I personally feel that the soft type is suffient for my liking, stiffer than stock, not too hard. I dun do hard cornerings, but prefers better handling-in terms of reduced bodyroll, no nose-dive when E-braking, rear dipping when accelerating hard... [crazy]

Will be paying them a visit tomorrow after work... to check out the springs personally... if confirm, also have to wait 3 weeks for the soft type, or till mid-Dec where their medium stock comes in....

How? Soft or Medium??? To be frank i'm slightly more inclined to the soft one... but this question of how come not many ppl use that (which is why they dun bring in the soft stock) puts me in dilemma... [:/]

For info i'm driving a '92 Ah Pek corolla 1.3M... [thumbsup]

Love it!!! [thumbsup] I think coz my stock springs had worn off, can feel the shocks in action more often... especially when going over humps, the ascend & descend is gradually, doesn't give me the "pop-up" feeling... but if going over humps over 40km/h.... then bottom out liao... [dizzy]

So now replacing springs have to choose carefully, dun wanna end up in teeth-chattering ride everyday!!! [laugh]

For the soft springs do they have lowering effects as well? If the spring rates are soft but not softer than stock then I say take them. You'll sacrifice the handling ability only slightly (probably at the limits rather) when U choose the soft over the mediums. I had Eibach springs with Bilstein shocks and those were really hard stuff. The bilsteins were hard plus the Eibachs (half the height of my stock springs which were already stiff), harder and harsher than MRT but when it comes to corner and slalom style driving [thumbsup]

So it boils down to your driving habits, do U luv taking your tires to traction limits? Screeeeeecccccchhhhhh [laugh]

The lowering is the same for all grades (15-26mm).

SOFT

Front: 3.2kgf/mm

Rear : 1.4-2.5kgf/mm

Spring Free Length : 236(F) 322®

MEDIUM

Front: 2.5-4.0kgf/mm

Rear : 1.4-3.1kgf/mm

Spring Free Length : 250(F) 311®

Just wondering how come the medium grade spring rate has a range for the front spring rate? [rolleyes] The soft grade spring rate falls just in between the range for the medium grade.

I'm a "soft" driver lah, no hard cornerings or slalom-style driving... Anyway, my tyres are also not performance type.. Aspec dB, comfort & quiet! [nod]

Edited by Diesel

I have yet got the quote from Hotwheels, they should be around the region of $400+-... Try www.hotwheels.com.sg for their contact. [thumbsup]

I heard konis are real stiff... so choose depending on ur driving likes [thumbsup]

I got my KYBs at abt 75/pc... i think now should be cheaper [;)]

Hear the same thing too. That's why I am keen to explore KYB.

Have you heard of KYB New SR (bright Blue)? I read in the Mit forum that this is very difficult to get in Singapore. Can you share where you got your KYB Super?

Thanks in advance.

There might be newer KYB models. How come difficult to get in singapore? issit the top-of-the-range shocks for KYB?

I got mine at OSK Trading in AMK Autopoint Level 5... unit no. forgot liao... but i knoe the Towkay name Ah Kiat, drives a maroon Corona CD... [thumbsup]