Optra Speedometer / Odometer

Cbtan

pardon my ignorance but what fuel indicator problem?? Seems like riddled with problems.....

anyone can tell me how to check for these problems?

Lucky me... I do don't have all those problems that you guys facing. And my FC is getting better & better. [thumbsup]

Wish you guys got all of the problems fix up soon. Cheers.

Looks like some top people in the organisation still have the colonial mentality and may have thought that by putting an Ang Mo incharge will easily fool all the complainants and untimately all problems will evaporate into the thin air. Ang Mo or Or Mo, the most important qualification as General Service Manager one must try to find solutions for most of the problems. A parts man trying to run the after sales service is a no no.

Edited by Yeobh

Hi Why dont you e-mail or write our problems to GM headquater at US ??? that will be better and ask for an answers for all our problem??? then with the replied e-mail i think SA will solve our problems?

You got the email address? So far I only complain to the SA GM once. Will wait and see how they handle my problems this time after they make appointment to rectify the problems. If problems still persist, I will invite the GM to test drive my car before we organise the meetup in SA show room to scare away their new potential customer [furious] and also every forum that talks about car. [thumbsdown]

Edited by Botak

Hi Sotong_kia,

Don't seem to have the problem, rpm up between 2K - 2.1K when start, drop quite repidly to about 1K, once engage to drive mode, it will down to about 900 before acceleration. I did not change oil type since the last reset.

The problem I had before reset and after changing to diff Ron type was that Rpm gone up to 2.5K when start while engine was hot, and 2K which is normal when engine was cold.

I do agree it should not caused by changing of oil type, but strange it did not cause any more problem as long as I did not change the oil type, will test later to confirm it again

Have they settle your problem?

Yesterday I made a switch from Mobile 8000 to Shell 92 first switching after I had my ECU reset since end NOV. I am very certain that the high RPM when start engine while it is warm is caused by changing of type of petrol. I had no problem all the while when I am on Mobile 8000 till I changed to Shell ron92 yesterday. The problem came back almost immediately after switching.

The last time I sent it in, they replaced the MTIA. (Took me a while to find out what MTIA means haha..)

That is about 3 weeks already. So far ok.

I seldom change petrol, but I will monitor that. I expect once the SPC promo is over, I might go back to Esso.

But I still use 95.

Haha... Tks 4 u all hinting dis prob, up til now I still nve go notice the odo. Mayb should go c how's mine. When my dad help me fetch my car from Ubi, he pump in Moblie 2000, the worst petrol. Will tat effect my engine? Den later I upgrade to 5000. But since I feel dis is a new car so I upgrade 2 8000. My odo got prob, when I put to 'N' it will stay at 1k unless I fully off the engine. Mine is auto.

motorised throttle idle actuator

I don't know exactly what it does, but the word sounds like it controls the throttle (accelerator) so that it can maintain engine idling.. like someone stepping the accelerator a wee-wee-little bit...

I had mine changed before when there is problem with my rpm idling... changed that till now no problem but still got the damn fuel gauage problem... [shakehead]

Ok. Bug them on the fuel gauge lah !

Like what I did to the idling..

Didn't sceam and shout and bang table, but politely and forcefully indicated that I have sent in many times, promises broken so many times, and that I am really fed up..

Ehh... But If recall, I got 0 when put 2 N. Aiya since u say dis , tink mine is alrite bah. I checked, mine odo nve shoot 2 2k when start engine. Juz move to 1k den stuck there.

Btw mine is not really Optra but optra^5, anyway is the same engine lolx.

[reply]

Ehh... But If recall, I got 0 when put 2 N. Aiya since u say dis , tink mine is alrite bah. I checked, mine odo nve shoot 2 2k when start engine. Juz move to 1k den stuck there.

Btw mine is not really Optra but optra^5, anyway is the same engine lolx.

When RPM is 0, means engine stop liao, my friend.

Wooo.. Optra 5.. You test drove both Optra and Optra 5 ?

How is the comparison ?