Cbtan Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 Hi Bro... I collected my optra last sunday. This morning, while driving to work, found that the speedometer (the meter display with km/h) did not response well. Noticed also it can't go down to "0" when the car completely stop. It will remained at certain speed even though I slow down the car, the pointer will move down only after awhile. Anyone encounter such problem? The SE told me not a serious problem. Have made appointment to service the car for 1000km service 2 weeks later. Will try to rectify this problem then. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopikao Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 Didn't encounter this before.. except the rpm.. By the way, my friend who also collected his optra on Sun had the fuel guage problem... Dunno what the SA doing man.. getting worst.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cbtan Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Author Share December 21, 2004 Hi Bro Overall, very satisfy with the car and my SE. However, didn't expect this problem can happen to a new car. Also, me very "suay", accidently dented the rear bumper (not obvious though). Do you think this can be fixed during the 1st service as well at SA service centre? Or, need to go somewhere else to get it fix. Read other posting on this matter, seemed that autopoint at amk is good at this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sxrolet 1st Gear December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 U got your RPM problem fixed yet? me oso got RPM problem, was solved by re-setting ECU last month by SA. But now its back, seems to me there was no permanent solution. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 Oh, what RPM problem ? I had mine, when I start engine, the RPM jump to 2k.. go down very slowly.. Especially so when engine is warm. Morning not that bad, but still noticable. Went to reset 2 times already.. now back.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevyoptrag Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 (edited) Hi Bros, I am very new in this forum and have been reading topics that pertaining to Optra. I have my Optra about 2 mths back and had the symptom actually like what you have descriped, that was when "start engine, the RPM jump to 2k.. go down very slowly.. Especially so when engine is warm" Went back for reset once. Notice that it is normal for the RPM to jump to 2K when start but should come down slowly, also realises that the problem occured only when I had switch fro Ron 95 to Ron 98. Similar to you after you had changed from Ron 92 to Ron 95. Not sure was this has any relation to the high RPM when start. Edited December 21, 2004 by Chevyoptrag Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopikao Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 Mine fixed.. Changed the rpm MITA??? Cos mine more serious.. flacutation at idling can cause the car to dies off.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DonDon 1st Gear December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 I know the Dec 26th Meetup (Sunday) will be at Kallang, but does any interested to just show-up at SA on morning of Dec 24th (no appt) and start listing each of this issues? Yeap, boss declare off-day on Dec 24th 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. DonDon 9. 10. . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopikao Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 Working leh.... half day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sxrolet 1st Gear December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 me oso working on 24th leh, tomolo sending in for RPM prob again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 must stressED to SA. say Y this Y that. 2nd Time etc..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie December 22, 2004 Share December 22, 2004 Hello Chevryoptrag, When I first got the car, and after every "reset" of the ECU, when I start engine, regardless of cold or warm, it should be "Engine goes to 1.5krpm or 2krpm, and drops IMMEDIATELY to 1krpm or 900rpm". Immediately, to me, is less than 2 seconds. Actually, I do not think the petrol change from 92 to 95 has anything to do with it, cos the change happened for at least 5 tankful before the first time it appears. After than, no change in petrol grade. Oh, another test to see if your problem is the same as mine : (1) After you drive to office, Put auto-gear to [P], Pull handbrake, off Engine. Wait for about 10 seconds. (2) Start engine. Engine RPM will now be 2krpm, and maintain for 1 or 2 seconds, then drop to 1.5krpm, for another 2 seconds, than drop to 1krpm. (3) Press Accelerator until Tachometer move to 2-2.2krpm, let go accelerator. My RPM will MAINTAIN at 2krpm for another 3 to 5 seconds before dropping slowly ! Normal engine, it should start dropping down very fast to idling 1krpm within 1 or 2 seconds. Sounds like got ghost step on my accelerator , even after I let go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie December 22, 2004 Share December 22, 2004 I book appt Next Wed to send it in. 29th I think. this is the 3rd time I send in tell. Told Gilson I want it SOLVED. NO MORE ! Change whatever needs to be changed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sxrolet 1st Gear December 23, 2004 Share December 23, 2004 sent car in wrt the RPM prob this morning, ask advisor why 2nd time liao, got standard answer: they will check and give me a stone face (a lady). wah lau how to complain... saw another Optra juz delivered 1 mth, and have fuel indicator prob..really screw up Think all this repeating minor quality issues really spoil the experience of owning an Optra, hope GM can see our feedback. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cbtan Neutral Newbie December 23, 2004 Author Share December 23, 2004 Cool down man! I got really frustrated too with the problem on my speedometer. Just have to go back and fix it. I have booked appointment to fix it and hopefully, it won't come back again. This morning, I noticed also my rpm meter a bit "siaw siaw". move only when accelerate. If I stop pedal, eventhough the car is moving at a speed of 70km/h, the pointer will move back to 1rpm(car stopping condition). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Botak Neutral Newbie December 23, 2004 Share December 23, 2004 (edited) Hi all. I would suggest that those vehicle with problems that SA did not rectified after a few times servicing to organise a meetup at SA showroom every month 1 of the Sat afternoon. Park our vehicle in-front the showroom and put up notice "Problems car, help us rectify! StarAuto!". Call reporter in as well. Scare away their potential customer. See whether they will entertain our complain! ON boh? 1. Botak 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10 Edited December 23, 2004 by Botak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magix73 Neutral Newbie December 23, 2004 Share December 23, 2004 Good ideal!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie December 23, 2004 Share December 23, 2004 [reply] I got really frustrated too with the problem on my speedometer. Just have to go back and fix it. I have booked appointment to fix it and hopefully, it won't come back again. This morning, I noticed also my rpm meter a bit "siaw siaw". move only when accelerate. If I stop pedal, eventhough the car is moving at a speed of 70km/h, the pointer will move back to 1rpm(car stopping condition). Correct, if you release the pedal, it will drop to 1krpm.. and cruise at so-called "free gear". That is how auto does it.. Engine-brake effect not like manual.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...