Sturtles 6th Gear December 18, 2004 Share December 18, 2004 My exhaust pipe exit below my bumper looks tiny... Is it legal to cut off the whole piece and weld a nicer cosmetic pipe straight to the muffler box? Or can I cut till leaving a short pipe, then bolt the bigger pipe to it for legalities sake? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 19, 2004 Share December 19, 2004 weld? nope not legal at all, u can add a stainless steel muffler over, stamford tyres used to have a nos of momo muffler cut selling below cost. weld is = fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear December 19, 2004 Author Share December 19, 2004 Yo bro, thanks for the reply... so far, I think you're always the first person who answer my queries Thats what i thought so too.. Issit legal if i cut the original exit length so it won't prtorude so much and bolt a nicer looking one at the end? Btw, is the stamford you referring to the one at lokyang or changi? I may pop over to the one at lokyang later.... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 20, 2004 Share December 20, 2004 i dun think they ever gg to notice if u cut it though, u must realize that the ends actually tapers down a little, so as to prevent rainwater from entering. but if u r gg to do a nice muffler which can b removed (logic anything outside the car does not belongs to u), u hv to figure out how to 'weld' the stuff. i suppose a spot weld at the top of the pipe is more den enuff to hold it in place. the stamford shops r jurong main office n i think i've seen them at lengkok bahru/ hougang SPC branch. can't recall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear December 20, 2004 Author Share December 20, 2004 Just came back from lokyang... dun have any nice looking mufflers there. Do you think going down to man's or jeepchee is a good idea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 i doubt they hv anything much in lokyang. definitely seen it at hougang SPC n jurong, but why dun u give them a call. if they hv it, i could help with my stamford card that gives a 10% off shelf (unless it is special price) and there is another stupid letter fr them tat say further 5% off. i'm sure plenty of guys hv them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Misterray Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 dude u shud try fongkim @ ubi they got a lot tailpipes. went there last week n they got dis original remus tailpipe veri2 chio man tempted to fix plus a lot of other design of pipes all chio2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear December 22, 2004 Author Share December 22, 2004 yup. just popped down to FK today. Really lots of choices man. Thanks for the recommendation! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear December 22, 2004 Author Share December 22, 2004 Thanks bro, I just did it at FK for 70 dollars, which i think its pretty ok price. FK's variety is huge! Had it done in 20 minutes. Took the brandless "super dynamics" the remus ones cost 180 with install. Had mine welded.. still thinking if its lta legal... the fk people just said no problem. sure pass one... hahaha sounds like a marketing phrase Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftt Clutched December 22, 2004 Share December 22, 2004 hey man.. thinking of fixing one too.. u mind showing me a pic of your exhaust?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear December 23, 2004 Author Share December 23, 2004 No camera. Here's their website with some muffler tip designs. There's still a lot more http://www.fongkim.com/exhaust-systems.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear February 1, 2005 Share February 1, 2005 Does FK has exhaust tips that "straightens" a limp one like those found on Sunny/Vios/Civic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear February 2, 2005 Author Share February 2, 2005 Those big diametwer bent ones i think they have. :) Just don't let them cut until the muffler like they did mine. I think its illegal cuz touch muffler liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...