Changing to bigger muffler piece legal?

Sturtles

My exhaust pipe exit below my bumper looks tiny... Is it legal to cut off the whole piece and weld a nicer cosmetic pipe straight to the muffler box?

Or can I cut till leaving a short pipe, then bolt the bigger pipe to it for legalities sake?

weld? nope not legal at all, u can add a stainless steel muffler over, stamford tyres used to have a nos of momo muffler cut selling below cost.

weld is = fine.

Yo bro, thanks for the reply... so far, I think you're always the first person who answer my queries [:)]

Thats what i thought so too.. Issit legal if i cut the original exit length so it won't prtorude so much and bolt a nicer looking one at the end?

Btw, is the stamford you referring to the one at lokyang or changi? I may pop over to the one at lokyang later.... :)

i dun think they ever gg to notice if u cut it though, u must realize that the ends actually tapers down a little, so as to prevent rainwater from entering.

but if u r gg to do a nice muffler which can b removed (logic anything outside the car does not belongs to u), u hv to figure out how to 'weld' the stuff. i suppose a spot weld at the top of the pipe is more den enuff to hold it in place.

the stamford shops r jurong main office n i think i've seen them at lengkok bahru/ hougang SPC branch. can't recall.

Just came back from lokyang... dun have any nice looking mufflers there.

Do you think going down to man's or jeepchee is a good idea?

i doubt they hv anything much in lokyang.

definitely seen it at hougang SPC n jurong, but why dun u give them a call. if they hv it, i could help with my stamford card that gives a 10% off shelf (unless it is special price) and there is another stupid letter fr them tat say further 5% off. i'm sure plenty of guys hv them.

dude u shud try fongkim @ ubi they got a lot tailpipes. went there last week n they got dis original remus tailpipe veri2 chio man tempted to fix plus a lot of other design of pipes all chio2 [sly]

Thanks bro, I just did it at FK for 70 dollars, which i think its pretty ok price.

FK's variety is huge!

Had it done in 20 minutes. Took the brandless "super dynamics" the remus ones cost 180 with install.

Had mine welded.. still thinking if its lta legal... the fk people just said no problem. sure pass one... hahaha sounds like a marketing phrase

Those big diametwer bent ones i think they have. :)

Just don't let them cut until the muffler like they did mine. I think its illegal cuz touch muffler liao