Raymond_lim Neutral Newbie December 16, 2004 Share December 16, 2004 Anyone knows tat there is such thing call vtec controller.It is use to control the opening of the vtec at different RPM and u dun have to change the chip.i think u can adjust the vtec from the minterior of ur car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 16, 2004 Share December 16, 2004 The Apexi VAFC is a VTEC controller too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear December 17, 2004 Share December 17, 2004 Unless you have change your cams...the best VTEC cut off point is the factory setting. Fooling around with your VTEC cutoff point will not gain you any extra bhp. The factory setting is the best in term of compromise between power and top speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marusho Clutched December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 Agreed. Also depends on which engine you are on.. if you are on the older B16 series with 3 cam settings, the VAFC might be a good thing. If on the current D16/17 series, with just 2 cam settings, and a very sensitive ECU, might not be worth the cost. I think for ES Civics, most SHC forumers suggest SAFC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear December 22, 2004 Share December 22, 2004 B16 got 3 cam setting ??? B16A and B16B engines got DOHC....single point VTEC cutoff only. You might be confuse with the 3 stage VTEC on the EK3. EK4 SiR VTEC cut in at 5500rpm. EK3 VTi So call 1st stage 12 valve operation. 2800rpm below. 2nd stage 16 valve operation 2800rpm-5000rpm 3rd stage 16 valve PLUS hi cam 5500rpm-7000redline Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marusho Clutched December 22, 2004 Share December 22, 2004 Think you got me there Unfortunately for ES there is only 12v and 16v modes with the D16/17 series. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thepukster Neutral Newbie December 22, 2004 Share December 22, 2004 (edited) The SAFC is of little use for the ES5 due to the close-loop system. I personally have tried it, the settings will return to normal after 2 months or so. Edited December 22, 2004 by Thepukster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear December 22, 2004 Share December 22, 2004 Anyone knows tat there is such thing call vtec controller.It is use to control the opening of the vtec at different RPM and u dun have to change the chip.i think u can adjust the vtec from the minterior of ur car. RSpec VTEC controller. Useful for the EG and EK series mostly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymond_lim Neutral Newbie December 22, 2004 Author Share December 22, 2004 my is the year 92 ESI..so which can of cam it has and izzit useful to install the vtec controller Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymond_lim Neutral Newbie December 22, 2004 Author Share December 22, 2004 there are vafc,safc and rspec controller...which is better for ESI and how much it cost to install Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zombie Neutral Newbie December 22, 2004 Share December 22, 2004 vafc about 520 safc about 480 w/o installation and tuning. Go to SHC to take a look. There is a post by 1 of the gurus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverycivic Neutral Newbie April 29, 2005 Share April 29, 2005 bro, are you still SAFC ? Did u get Daniz to retune, thought of getting the VAFC2, u thing worth it ? Tks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 29, 2005 Share April 29, 2005 me also gng to get the vafc 2.... compare to the older version,the tuning for the Vafc 2 is more fine.... n also when the vtec engage,the light willl change colour...green-red or red-green... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie May 4, 2005 Share May 4, 2005 (edited) You have to try driving the car in open loop and see the difference. Usually, it is tuned in open loop, and then allow close loop to adjust itself to normal. After that, you need to do minor retune to maximize open loop, while keeping your close loop drivable. The idea is to improve open loop (full throttle), while keeping close loop fuel efficient. Edited May 4, 2005 by Zrun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverycivic Neutral Newbie May 6, 2005 Share May 6, 2005 Do you have any gain figure for VAFC2 ? some1 mentioned that the gain is only 1~2 whp, if true, with $500 for this compare to ~$800 for unichip dyno tune at Viswork that could get me about 10% gain, I might be going for the unichip instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Randall Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 (edited) Getting unichip or vafc2...which more worth it..it think...it depends on the tuner....been tuning my vafc2..i can say the gain is there..i dont noe unichip..but it can tune ignition timing...something that vafc2 cant.. U cant see settings for unchip but if tune properly..the gains are more that VAFC Vafc on the other hand u can control the settings..but cant change ignition timing.Advancing igintion timing will give more horse but warn that over advance will cause knocking which is no gd for engine.If this happens, Factory ECU will retard the timing to prevent furthur damage... Vafc2 if properly tune, u will have better pickup,overtaking...i would not say better FC I have done up my I/H/E . Now tuning the VAFC..i found out that the gains can be felt better. I thing is that for Vtec engines, when hit vtec..u add fuel and u will see more power man/../shiok... however when crusing, keep the mixture lean..when u drop gear, the vafc2 will add fuel ( u must tune it first lah),with more air , up ur rpm goes... VAFC adjust correction factor with reference to throttle opening vs correction factor vs high and low cam.. With this parameters, u can fine tune ur mixture.. Hope this helps... Edited May 8, 2005 by Randall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverycivic Neutral Newbie May 9, 2005 Share May 9, 2005 Thanks for sharing. Cheers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...