LTA's stand on Front Upper Strut Brace

Phalanx

Anyone knows what's LTA's stand on this? Especially in light of their revised conditions on mods....

From LTA's onemotoring.com website: [/url]Suspension systems

(e.g. aftermarket springs, shock absorbers, strut bars, anti-roll bars, etc.)

The following requirements must be met when changing or modifying the suspension system:

a) Aftermarket suspension systems shall not adversely affect the steering characteristics and manoeuvrability of the vehicle.

b) The installation must be carried out by qualified personnel in accordance with the product manufacturer

LTA smart ah...did not state specifically their stand on strut braces. Sheesh...wondering whether I should just go ahead and order.

a) Aftermarket suspension systems shall not adversely affect the steering characteristics and manoeuvrability of the vehicle.

Like dat they win liao lor....upgraded suspension system dun have improvement (hence affect the steering charactersitics) then change for what leh ?? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Haha if you really wanna find out, they've a hotline just to answer queries now! sly.gif But IMHO, strut braces should be ok lah.

erm, adverse means something not good right? And improvement means something good? So drastic improvement should be something very good? So LTA should give ok right?thumbsup.gif haha not too sure also, but it's always safer to give them a call to make sure. nod.gif

Haha I got a friend working in LTA, everytime I ask him why this can, this cannot, he say it can be very good, but jsut "not approved'!thumbsdown.gif

Of all the agencies, I feel that LTA is still the most clueless and reactive (as opposed to pro-active) when it comes to rules. They'll maintain status quo as long as they can, until forced by global rules or senior politicians to change... [thumbsdown]

Anyone knows what's LTA's stand on this? Especially in light of their revised conditions on mods....

From what I know, Front Upper Strut Brace is OK.

Many cars with these parts pass the inspection.

If I happen to be a strut bar salesman....I come up with 101 reason why car should have strut bar....

Double standard lah.....why SiR has strutbar ?? Then Nissan Q45 Infinite also have....

If they are so so bothered by all these mods....bann all petrol engine car import lah....from now on....only hybrid allowed.....then new ruling would be using Duracell for your car is illegal mod...increase bhp !! [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Just to update, I received an attachment (letter) through email that states that the installation of the Front Upper Strut Brace is permissible provided that qualified personnel installs it.

So in other words, anybody with a drill and knows how to use it.... [thumbsup]