Static Shock From Car

Genew

Guyz, me and melted kenne shocked a few times after stepping out of our car lehz. We have done up the grounding previously, suspecting it is the grounding. Anyone can confirm ?

Hi!

This is my first post... so excited!...

Anywayz, I've been troubled by static shock especially during times when scratch my head or browse my hair alot.

Nowadayz I have developed the habit of using my wallet to close the door. Dun think this is a good idea though... any cures?

Thanx

first thing first.....welcome to MCF.....& oso the Chevy Family.

hmmmmm.....for a start, u can try shaving ur head, see if its better. [lipsrsealed] hehee...juz jokin. [laugh]

huh??!! use wallet to close door? so serious ahh.....from inside or outside? [:p]

hiya,

if you kanna static shock, it could be from your getting out of the car, your body rubs against the seat (i suspect your's isn't leather) ..so static charges amount, of when you touch metal (such as the car body) the static discharges gives you the "shock". no cause of alarm [wave]

Yes u r right, wifey told me too that it's probably due to fabric seat. But alas, the original leather looked and feel so cheapo, so we thought we'll upgrade after the new car smell fades away, then wrap the seats with new leather and so the car will smell new again [scholar]

Static Experience:

Experienced Static from previous rides with leather seat or fabric seat. Thought is because of my office flooring change to carpet. Previous ride is also grounded by my self. Still happen occasionally.

No such experience with my current ride since mid Nov. Still don't know static comes from where...

Regards,

Actually I don't think its got anything to do with my grounding. My ride gives me a huge shock when I step out and close the door. I suspect its the clothes you wear or the material of the seat. Hence every movement actually charges electricity.

Guyz, me and melted kenne shocked a few times after stepping out of our car lehz. We have done up the grounding previously, suspecting it is the grounding. Anyone can confirm ?

i also kena static shock always and i have since developed the habit to close the door with the door handle, which is not metal, so that it won't shock me [sweatdrop]

try using you key to touch the metal frame of the door on your way out or getting an earthing kit that connects the chassis of your car to the ground. These should help lots.

I kenna the same thing all the time from metal door handles, supermart trolleys, etc. Usually discarge the static by touching the back of my hand to the metal parts first (bigger surface area than fingertips so less painful). Wearing cotton clothing helps.

It's got to do with your clothes. Try wearing a woollen sweater and you'll know what I mean. [:p]

Anyway, although don't really apply here, humidity also plays a part. Dry weather creates friction between air and dust particles, thus static electricity. That's why in countries where the air is dry, eg, US and Australia, you'll be shocked even more. [;)]

Edited by Slinky

Good news ppl!

Bought an Ioniser from Giant and guess what? No more static!

The cover advertised on how u'll feel better and stuff but no mentioning of clearing the static.

But I thought since static is caused by frictioning of protons so by equating them out, static should disappear... [sunny]