Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 Calling all Chevy drivers, Anyone felt the effect of the VGIS kicking in ? I thought it should kick in at speed of about 140km/h.. but never felt anything.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magix73 Neutral Newbie November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 What VGIS mean?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Capricorn Neutral Newbie November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 I thought VGIS is a environmental friendly technology..... Like low emission kind of stuff... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie November 26, 2004 Author Share November 26, 2004 VGIS - Variable Geometry Induction System My sales guy told me it will kick in at 140km/h and above. What VGIS does is it will change to a shorter air-intake path, thus becoming more fuel efficient at high speeds. Supposed to give more power too.. So I expected some sort of different noise or a different feel in torque when it changes. Apparently, either this is inaccurate, or I my ears simply too insensitive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Capricorn Neutral Newbie November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 Guess it kind of similar to VTEC or MIVEC. Guess manual version you can rev at 3rd gear and for auto version you need to engage "overdrive". You should hear a engine "roar"! =================================================================== VGIS - Variable Geometry Induction System My sales guy told me it will kick in at 140km/h and above. What VGIS does is it will change to a shorter air-intake path, thus becoming more fuel efficient at high speeds. Supposed to give more power too.. So I expected some sort of different noise or a different feel in torque when it changes. Apparently, either this is inaccurate, or I my ears simply too insensitive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie November 26, 2004 Author Share November 26, 2004 Overdrive is on.. everything is fully auto.. I dun hear or feel any sudden roar of difference.. Hmm. kenna cheated by GM.. must complain.. show me how it works.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 Ask Genie to demo lahz! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 Kicks in not at speed but at RPM. Like MIVEC or VTEC or VVT but far from it. I dunno when it kicks in. Some people say 4800RPM some people say 3800RPM. Doesn't pump in more fuel but switches to shorter intake runner at higher RPM for more direct air path. You must understand that a DOHC engine works better with very long intake runners at low RPM. Better air/fuel mix from the resonance. It is also this resonance that the system feels for to decide when to switch to take in more air. That is why you cannot mod the intake runners for a car designed with VIS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 VGIS = Vaginal Going In System..... Ooops! Variable Geometry Induction System. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeoman Neutral Newbie November 27, 2004 Share November 27, 2004 VGIS = Vaginal Going In System..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched November 27, 2004 Share November 27, 2004 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nismo Neutral Newbie November 27, 2004 Share November 27, 2004 so is vgis for power.. or better fuel consumption? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear November 27, 2004 Share November 27, 2004 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 27, 2004 Share November 27, 2004 The intake runner will be the short one when you hit above 3.8kRPM. More power but lousy FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nismo Neutral Newbie November 27, 2004 Share November 27, 2004 wow.. sounds cool.. i din know the VGIS works like a vtec....haha... now i haf to press more again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 28, 2004 Share November 28, 2004 No it is nowhere near VTEC or VVTi. These two confirm craps over VGIS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aveorean Neutral Newbie November 28, 2004 Share November 28, 2004 _____________________________________________________________________ No it is nowhere near VTEC or VVTi. These two confirm craps over VGIS _____________________________________________________________________ Wah Genie, yr english very chim leh, i dun understand this statement leh.. u mean VTEC and VVTi is craps or VGIS is better than these two? Sorry for my poor english.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 28, 2004 Share November 28, 2004 Yes. Crap means Sh1t. Bangsai. VTEC and VVTi bangsai all over VGIS. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...